Old 11-23-2005, 07:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
I am a Soooooooca Warrior

Credits: 417
Soca at the 2006 Grammy's

Well you all should know by now that we (caribbean people) are getting a category in the 2006 Grammy's....a Soca category..........about damn time...........but my thing is the nominations..........wo are they going to put in there? I hope no sh*tty people.........cause i will be vex............but my spirit telling me the first artist to get an award meaning next year.........will unfortunately.......yes i said it..............be Kevin Lyttle........yea i like his little turn me on tune........which came out 50 million years ago..........but that is to show you how the american people are not up on de music..........they only first here dat song last year.........and they love it. Being the Tobagonian that i am i want to c Machel Montano win it...........cause he is by far a better artist than kevin lyttle, he performs better, dance better, look better, sing better everyting better dan that vincy boy (sorry if i sound ignorant with that comment, but i dont like how the americans only liking kevin lyttle and there r way better artist out there).
So my question to you Islandmix is: 1. Who do you think will/should be nominated in the Soca category? 2. Who do you think will/should win? & 3. Should they have a separate male and female category.......or one general category........let me get allyuh feedback.
Old 11-23-2005, 07:59 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 81
Well no need to attack de man nationality...leave de vincy boy alone...it aint his fault he got the recognition of american music lovers before machel ...him do de wuk so he might get it...we will all have our own opinionas as to who we tink is bettah dan others but what we need to really look at is de big picture...it is another category dat we as West inidan can use to get our talent recognized by de mass media...so if kevin win wid he tune, well so be it...anodah time for machel den....Kevin just had a look, a sound and much bettah mangement team dan some carib artists...but let us not forget mr.Rupee...so it is up to other caribbean artists to seek de connections to make it happen...anyway a dont care who win...ah jus real glad to see dat we soca ting gettin recognized...simple as dat!!!!!!
Old 11-23-2005, 09:20 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 140,948
Originally Posted by triniwoman2003
Well you all should know by now that we (caribbean people) are getting a category in the 2006 Grammy's....a Soca category..........about damn time...........but my thing is the nominations..........wo are they going to put in there? I hope no sh*tty people.........cause i will be vex............but my spirit telling me the first artist to get an award meaning next year.........will unfortunately.......yes i said it..............be Kevin Lyttle........yea i like his little turn me on tune........which came out 50 million years ago..........but that is to show you how the american people are not up on de music..........they only first here dat song last year.........and they love it. Being the Tobagonian that i am i want to c Machel Montano win it...........cause he is by far a better artist than kevin lyttle, he performs better, dance better, look better, sing better everyting better dan that vincy boy (sorry if i sound ignorant with that comment, but i dont like how the americans only liking kevin lyttle and there r way better artist out there).
So my question to you Islandmix is: 1. Who do you think will/should be nominated in the Soca category? 2. Who do you think will/should win? & 3. Should they have a separate male and female category.......or one general category........let me get allyuh feedback.
@thread.

I will DEAL with your CASE, lata.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 11-23-2005 at 09:26 AM..
Old 11-23-2005, 09:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 128,000
oh no not again.......
Old 11-23-2005, 10:18 AM   #5 (permalink)

Ok, I will be CIVIL, thus ELIMINATING most of de BACCHANAL from my FINGERS.

Well, I am SORRY to disappoint some of you guys, but GRAMMYS are not given for WHINING, stage PERFORMANCE, and because you “LIKE” a certain artist or that artist is your “FAVORITE”.

That being the CASE, we can AUTOMATICALLY ELIMINATE CERTAIN artists from this CATEGORY.

The Grammy will come down to 4 artists, Kevin Lyttle, Rupee, Jamesy P, and KMC. And the WINNER will be, JUSTLY so, Kevin Lyttle. But I am going to make a DARK HORSE prediction. I will say that Bomani is going to SURPRISE a lot of people. Watch out for this ARTIST in 2006.

If you SERIOUSLY want to CONTEND for a GRAMMY, you will have to MAKE MUSIC that is APPEALING to a mass market, not just NICHE market.

So we can ELIMINATE the entire JUMP and WAVE songs from SERIOUSLY challenging for a GRAMMY.

I am sure that the DOUBTERS are now seeing the LIGHT when I STATED that Kevin Lyttle like songs is the ones that will be up for SERIOUS consideration in the MAINSTREAM.

I remembered when I was getting NUFF opposition from PRACTICALLY everyone when I made that STATEMENT, but as you’re now seeing, I was right on the MONEY.

PS: Machel is a BETTER SINGER than Kevin LYttle??? Muhahahahaha.....truly HILARIOUS.
Old 11-23-2005, 10:19 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 5,901
Machel is not even in the running as he has no mainstream songs.

I thought that we went over this topic before:

The only nominees are likely to be - Rupee, Jamsie P, Kevin Little (am I missing anyone), oh yeah, KMC.

And thats it.
Old 11-23-2005, 12:14 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,912
Please poster...do yourself a favor. There is a search option for all the forums. Click it, type in Grammy and soca...and you will get plenty of threads to occupy your time.
Old 11-23-2005, 12:45 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 2,477
Why all dis bickerin? I know at times VP can be a likkle abnoxious ( and sometimes he needs to be...VP don go ova board now) but why dis useless dribble on KL. He as a soca artist broke d ice for everyone else and continues to do so. I will always give him credit for doing that.

And if anything it should demonstrate those other islands who been in the so-call game longer needs to get their act together..KL showed atleast it can be done! Big up to the Vincy Massive...you large (ie your marketing people doing their shate right!)

We have alot of good music out there but the back-stabbin and cuttin-throats impede soca progress...unfortunately or should I say fortunately.
Old 11-23-2005, 01:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Get-On-er*

Credits: 2,746
Kevin Lyttle had his time to shine. He did what he had to do to make it and get taken seriously. But now, since I highly doubt "Home For Carnival" will be the song he's nominated for, I think either KMC or Jamesy P should win.
Old 11-23-2005, 01:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Will work for Sushi

Credits: 3,703
ah wonder way KL do some ah arlyo boy
Old 11-23-2005, 01:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Spitfire

Credits: 244
Originally Posted by Jinjer
ah wonder way KL do some ah arlyo boy
word
Old 11-23-2005, 01:25 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 88,210
Kevin Little...

You know most Americans don't even know KL is a Soca artist!!!. They will think its reggae. I suspect Rupee will probably walk away with the Grammy. I don want to start a next argument but I will attribute part of his success to complexion.

I fear Soca hitting the mainstream and would rather not seeing it in the Grammys. I feel it would stay pure a little longer. Once the non-islanders start getting into it, yuh will have little white suburbanites in Iowa looking to make soca-music.
Old 11-23-2005, 01:37 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Swervin
You know most Americans don't even know KL is a Soca artist!!!. They will think its reggae. I suspect Rupee will probably walk away with the Grammy. I don want to start a next argument but I will attribute part of his success to complexion.

I fear Soca hitting the mainstream and would rather not seeing it in the Grammys. I feel it would stay pure a little longer. Once the non-islanders start getting into it, yuh will have little white suburbanites in Iowa looking to make soca-music.
Your POST is soooooooooooooooooooooooooo RETARDED.

Why would AMERICANS think Kevin is a REGGAE artist but not Rupee???

If it comes down to both, based on their success in the mainstream, and based on the popularity/success of their song, then this is not even a CONTEST....a SLAM DUNK for Kevin Lyttle.

But I would agree with you about the COMPLEXION factor, but he is not going to beat Kevin based on that.
Old 11-23-2005, 01:48 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 88,210
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
Your POST is soooooooooooooooooooooooooo RETARDED.

Why would AMERICANS think Kevin is a REGGAE artist but not Rupee???

If it comes down to both, based on their success in the mainstream, and based on the popularity/success of their song, then this is not even a CONTEST....a SLAM DUNK for Kevin Lyttle.

But I would agree with you about the COMPLEXION factor, but he is not going to beat Kevin based on that.
Lol.....anything outside of the standard jump and wave, they probably think is reggae..so I stand corrected. Maybe I missed all the extra little pieces on Kevin Little on MTV an VH1, but ah see a few on Rupee, where they talk about his family history, etc. I "suspect" Rupee has more US appeal. Not to take anything away from KL.
Old 11-23-2005, 01:52 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Swervin
Lol.....anything outside of the standard jump and wave, they probably think is reggae..so I stand corrected. Maybe I missed all the extra little pieces on Kevin Little on MTV an VH1, but ah see a few on Rupee, where they talk about his family history, etc. I "suspect" Rupee has more US appeal. Not to take anything away from KL.
@your post

You know what, I go LEAVE it alone.