Credits: 9,870
So I listening to Sparrow Congo Man tune
And I was wondering, was that tune banned? Or were any old calypsos banned?
* note to newbies...not it's not a Carnival 2K6 tune * |
Your Royal Sexiness
Credits: 127,384
Credits: 9,870
I mean, was it, or songs like it, ever banned
ah like chupidness
Credits: 13,808
ah nevah eat ah white meat yet!
Credits: 41,516
Sparrow performs that tune all over the place, I don't think it was banned at any point. The Soca/calypso pundits may know. I know a couple of Crazy's tunes were banned, "Paul yuh mudda come" was one of them.
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
Enjoyin de lime
Credits: 249
Credits: 1,706
don't think it was banned.
the last calypsoca tune i could rememba being a big hoopla was when Iwer came w/ "Bottom In De Road" in 98. i do rememba and still get told of the stories about Super's "Soca Baptist" getting banned. salty |
Don't Watch Me, Watch TV
Credits: 203
I love that tune. I have to find out from my father if that song was ever band. |
Credits: 81
no i dont tink it was evah banned before...but any minute now Vincy powa go come and clear dat up fuh us
Credits: 29,651
go ketch yuh crowd
Credits: 850
there was no need to ban congo man and a host of other songs as they were classic double entendre and ‘private’ to adults in 'polite company'
in your youth, back then, the image you saw was of ‘natives and the cooking pot’. in your late teens it dawned on you what ‘eating a white meat’ really meant only some recent songs have any degree of cleverness lick down me nani go right up in dey drive it carn go fuh cane / caroni close down etc candidates for restricted airing are simple ‘play on everyday words’ songs, understandable to a five year old and of no interest to the adult-minded (iwer), yuh mudda can’t paul yuh mudda come for cough ah cash it punning and double entendre are no longer as potent as everyone is so 'grown-up and direct' and don’t waste time talking about threading needle then and now, only if a song was deemed party political or slanderous - dem bald-head go ban it. http://www.trinicenter.com/winford/2004/Jan/
Credits: 1,706
yeah i agree w/ neva-c.
politicians quicker 2 ban a tune w/ a political edginess than a smutty calypso it seems over the last 15-20 years. i also agree in terms of lack of wittiness in double-entendre's. some calypsoca tunes over last 5 years have been just str8 smut. perfect example: Billy D'Kid horrible huck-choo-spit remake of Penguin's 'Soft Man' in 2005. the topic of remakes is a whole next issue, but in this song it's just a great example of smut calypso.....or soca in this case. tasteless and just a bad bad bad bad remake. salty p.s. i actually like a few songs Billy did, but this was just unbeeweeveabull. |