Old 11-20-2008, 09:39 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,845
SKINNY FABULOUS and FIREMAN HOOPER RIVALRY

Old 11-20-2008, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 20,799
Exclamation

yeh i heard all about that still...

it was always gonna be a big problem because it was about getting exposure and status!

well VINCY MAS next year gonna be even HOTTER than ever now!!!

jus a matter of time.

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 11-20-2008, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Soca Psycho

Credits: 4,737
This some bull let the man have his peace. I bet if a trip to TNT soca monarch wasn't involve there wouldn't be any issues. Just let the man have due and let him represt St. Vincent without any problems. I hope envy is not crawling his ass with all this success Skinny is get since winning Soca monarch.
Old 11-20-2008, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 20,799
Originally Posted by bklynpsycho View Post
This some bull let the man have his peace. I bet if a trip to TNT soca monarch wasn't involve there wouldn't be any issues. Just let the man have due and let him represt St. Vincent without any problems. I hope envy is not crawling his ass with all this success Skinny is get since winning Soca monarch.
even so u can feel his fraustration and see BOTH SIDES of the situation..

Fire been winning it for years with his island fans n more behind him and as soon as it means more than SVG to be represented in one sense on a global scale he looses so i feel his pain..

As for Skinny.. well he like others have been doing and putting in work over the years too and it was jus his year with that BIG TUNE!!! dat tune is like an impact of PRESSURE BOOM when u hear it .. its CRAZY VIBE!!!!!!

ya know what i'm sayin!!!!!!

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 11-20-2008, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Digga D View Post

Fire been winning it for years with his island fans n more behind him and as soon as it means more than SVG to be represented in one sense on a global scale he looses so i feel his pain..

As for Skinny.. well he like others have been doing and putting in work over the years too and it was jus his year with that BIG TUNE!!! dat tune is like an impact of PRESSURE BOOM when u hear it .. its CRAZY VIBE!!!!!!

Yeah MAN, the INTRO to that SONG is just HYPE and CRAZY, MUSICALLY and VOCALLY.
Old 11-20-2008, 12:53 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 687
Originally Posted by Digga D View Post

It's funny you say that.

I told my friend the other day that in terms of a small island song making it big in Toronto, "Head Bad" is this year's "Pressure Boom." Or "Pressure Boom" is last year's "Head Bad." Either way you see it, nicely done.
Old 11-20-2008, 03:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
IN DE AIR

Credits: 86,827
i liked skinny's response, he was very cautious with his words and it is clear that he is not the aggressor here. fireman needs to sit his badminded ass down and be quiet; because, he got clean bowled by a legitamate ball, so the umpires decision was on point.
talking bout "nuff respect to skinny, although the judges were on his side" chupzz...that was soo unprofessional.
Old 11-20-2008, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by wadadli 2 the rescue View Post
i liked skinny's response, he was very cautious with his words and it is clear that he is not the aggressor here. fireman needs to sit his badminded ass down and be quiet; because, he got clean bowled by a legitamate ball, so the umpires decision was on point.
talking bout "nuff respect to skinny, although the judges were on his side" chupzz...that was soo unprofessional.

How U ah BADMIND FIREMAN so?

Anyhow, as FIREMAN said, "WHO E HUT E HUT"

FIREMAN had de CROWD doh.
Old 11-20-2008, 06:18 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 7,234
I like hooper better. Skinny is boring.
Carnival: carne valle: farewell flesh means it is time to be myself in all my godly glory. I am a man created in God's image, making me beautiful. We get half naked in the bright sun, soak up some vitamin D and jump to a rythm because as human beings, rythms entrance us; they harken to our mothers' rhythmic heartbeat in the womb. Its a natural, healthy experience.
Old 11-20-2008, 07:27 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Kjaja07 View Post
I like hooper better. Skinny is boring.
FIREMAN is NATURALLY more CHARISMATIC but that is because he has more EXPERIENCE than SKINNY when it comes to PERFORMING on STAGE. But I am sure SKINNY has CLOSED the GAP with the MANY SHOWS he has done outside of SVG.

FIREMAN has a LEGION of FANS from JUMP so one has to EXPECT that the CROWD was going to be with him. It is this FACT why I give SKINNY the EDGE because his PERFORMANCE was TUFF and he had the CROWD going too.

Moreover, SKINNY'S chune is/was SIMPLY BETTER in a BROADER sense. MUSICALLY, it is just WICKED....FANTASTIC job by PRODUCER KUBIYASHI....it has a BROAD based appeal, and the INTRO is WICKED too. Therefore, SOCA LOVERS regionally and ABROAD would EASIER IDENTIFY with that song over FIREMAN'S.

VINCIES TRADITIONALLY tend to LOVE songs like that of FIREMAN HOOPER because of the CATCH PHRASES. For example, a VINCY might be having a heated argument wid someone and he or she might say SOMETHING that should have been KEPT behind CLOSED doors. But even when people R saying that he or she shouldn't say those THINGS, the VINCY would NATURALLY use the CATCH PHRASE from FIREMAN HOOPER'S song by saying "WHO E HUT E HUT" and PEOPLE would naturally GRAVITATE to it. You might hear someone say something like: buoyyy, dat gyel dey nuh E Z enuh...she throw WUD pon de ODDER gyel. Well, "WHO E HUT E HUT".

MUDDERWUK!!

That example is a NATURAL ASPECT, in certain quarters, of VINCY CULTURE. So yes, a song like FIREMAN'S will NATURALLY grab the ATTENTION of the GENERAL PUBLIC in VINCYLAND, but it might not HOLD the same CURRENCY regionally and/or beyond.

Anyhow, since ah put up 2 videos by FIREMAN HOOPER, it is only fair to do the same for SKINNY FABULOUS.

SOCA MONARCH in VINCYLAND

STUDIO VERSION (INTRO is just WICKED and HYPED)

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 11-20-2008 at 07:59 PM..
Old 11-20-2008, 07:34 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 153,639
take ur lost and go and chile leeward nuh.
Old 11-20-2008, 07:57 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Dr Insane View Post
take ur lost and go and chile leeward nuh.
Old 11-20-2008, 11:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
RasGunta

Credits: 1,149
All that small talk ain't necessary music is built on competitiveness and rivalry so Skinny just need to rinse some tune at Hooper and make it a lyrics thing if Hooper don't shut is mouth.
Old 11-21-2008, 01:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Cherokee

Credits: 5,620
I agree with the person that said if a trip to Trinidad wasn't involved there wouldn't be any drama.

This is a good example of what I call the International Trinidad Soca Monarch Trap.

A money man come in to every Country, waving he buss purse around saying come to Trinidad you can be King or Queen of Soca. All this non professional attempt of helping Soca causes too much fight and madness between some artists who desperate to win.

Grenada experienced a similar thing this year. The same man come on TV stating he care about music and wants all Island's to take part in Trinidad Soca Monarch. Since he say that its been war with some artists on who winning and they seem so desperate to win.

I am still in shock with what went on this year in Grenada and I glad its out in the open and everyone knows what happened, it is disgraceful.

A Soca Monarch win should be judge on the criteria stated not by because Mr 'Beep' spends he money on the artist.

Making it in Trinidad is an ultimate dream to many artists but a win should be a true win.

All artists shouldn't allow themselves to get caught up in who going to Trinidad. And just concentrate on the music itself they go make it to TNT the right way you aint got to sell yourself out.

Skinny and Fireman should show unity just to keep the peace not that there is any war but just to show that they bigger than any madness.

I will always say some parts of Soca in the wrong hands....
Old 11-21-2008, 01:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,266
Originally Posted by Cherokee View Post
I agree with the person that said if a trip to Trinidad wasn't involved there wouldn't be any drama.

This is a good example of what I call the International Trinidad Soca Monarch Trap.

A money man come in to every Country, waving he buss purse around saying come to Trinidad you can be King or Queen of Soca. All this non professional attempt of helping Soca causes too much fight and madness between some artists who desperate to win.

Grenada experienced a similar thing this year. The same man come on TV stating he care about music and wants all Island's to take part in Trinidad Soca Monarch. Since he say that its been war with some artists on who winning and they seem so desperate to win.

I am still in shock with what went on this year in Grenada and I glad its out in the open and everyone knows what happened, it is disgraceful.

A Soca Monarch win should be judge on the criteria stated not by because Mr 'Beep' spends he money on the artist.

Making it in Trinidad is an ultimate dream to many artists but a win should be a true win.

All artists shouldn't allow themselves to get caught up in who going to Trinidad. And just concentrate on the music itself they go make it to TNT the right way you aint got to sell yourself out.

Skinny and Fireman should show unity just to keep the peace not that there is any war but just to show that they bigger than any madness.

I will always say some parts of Soca in the wrong hands....
Allyuh should've give him ah buss head, and tell him NO THANKS!