Old 08-11-2003, 12:41 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,693
Red face Singing Francine

had an article in the Advocate yesterday about her disappointment with the young female artistes. According to her opinion, she thinks they are not represententing themselves in a respectful manner.

I totally disagree, all respect due!

Men in the calpyso and soca industry have been singing slackness for years... why women held to a different standard? What does she expect for them? to wrap up in robes and sing Amazing Grace?

i can't think of any female soca artiste who is totally slack and wutless..

I would like to know who she referring to
Old 08-11-2003, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
TaChe

Credits: 285
Re: Singing Francine

Originally posted by trinibaje
had an article in the Advocate yesterday about her disappointment with the young female artistes. According to her opinion, she thinks they are not represententing themselves in a respectful manner.

I totally disagree, all respect due!

Men in the calpyso and soca industry have been singing slackness for years... why women held to a different standard? What does she expect for them? to wrap up in robes and sing Amazing Grace?

i can't think of any female soca artiste who is totally slack and wutless..

I would like to know who she referring to

Hi Trinibaje , was she speaking physically or just lyrically?
Old 08-11-2003, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,693
both but i think she was more refering to stage performace
Old 08-12-2003, 03:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 6,228
She musbe was refering to Denise Belfon!? Leh deh leave my saucey alone eh!
Old 08-12-2003, 10:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
TaChe

Credits: 285
Originally posted by tehressa
She musbe was refering to Denise Belfon!? Leh deh leave my saucey alone eh!

I don't really care which Soca artist she was referring to , in my opinion, every artist develops there own style , one that they are comfortable with , one the works for there audience,
Nobody critises Singing Francine, and if they did i think that she would let them know how long she has been doing this , and this is what works for her,
So i will say the same to her , Our female artist have gone through enough to make a mark and to get any kind of respect in the soca industry , i am sure each of them can improve in some way , but leave them, they representing us all over the world and they are doing a hell of a job. She had her time No let them enjoy there's , times have changed and things have changed What she may look down on others will uplift.
Peace.
Old 08-17-2003, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,473
HUHMMMMMMMMMMMMM!

I WAS GOING TO POST BUT I AM LOST FOR WORDS!