Old 10-18-2009, 03:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
a wham 2 dem?

Credits: 75,341
Originally Posted by JAM CREW productions View Post
ohhh hush you ass where you hear bouyon in this???

do you really know wha bouyon is???
leeward island music have roots in bouyon, i never said it sound like bouyon

BK's chune of de week- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJa2ikkyiTs

alliancefilife.com
Old 10-18-2009, 04:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Credits: 30,104
Originally Posted by bouyon king View Post
leeward island music have roots in bouyon, i never said it sound like bouyon
how it have roots in bouyon? when bouyon was made? wck made bouyon wck was form in 1989.....leeward islands been into drum machine since 1982....so how does it have roots in bouyon.....bouyon may have some sort of roots in leeward island music but bouyon more of cadence flavour now if you say leeward islands music have a little bit of cadence flavour then i respect that

I love Sweet Original Creative Audio (SOCA)
Old 10-18-2009, 04:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Credits: 16,501
yeah the dx ramba thats the V.I signature sample
So that would be the type of drums I'm hearing in the riddim?? I'm just trying to understand the characteristics cause it sounds like something Bajans would produce too.
Old 10-18-2009, 04:23 PM   #19 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Originally Posted by tikreyol View Post
So that would be the type of drums I'm hearing in the riddim?? I'm just trying to understand the characteristics cause it sounds like something Bajans would produce too.
its samples if u hear a drum its a snare u hearing but the sample u hearing out forward is call the DX RAMBA it something like a conga but electronic.... like what the rappers used to use back in the days of hip hop but the virgin islands made it their signature sample....almost all v.i bands have that sample to make a riddim turn over but the drum machines like rx7 ry30 rx5 and the DX series would have them

Old 10-18-2009, 04:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Qualified Mixologist

Credits: 27,192
V.I have it locked down to that type of sample..it is the rolling sound u hear.. most V.I tunes use this sort of sample making it their trademark.. Bouyon use this sumtimes not all times.. we more use rolling iron, pan,french accordion, Conch Shell and banjo samples.. the voice samples "hey", "get funkey" and "comon"along with the choir sample that thing that sayin "Yaw"if u can pin point it that is..these are moderate samples used in all small island riddimz since we all mostly use the Akai MPC.. Bouyon uses it alot as well but we tend to mix and use live instruments in the mix giving it a nice blend.. .. So TnT blend it up with the small island style that is a nice thing. More unification making de music stronger

Last edited by Bataka; 10-20-2009 at 11:15 AM..
Old 10-18-2009, 04:34 PM   #21 (permalink)
Qualified Mixologist

its samples if u hear a drum its a snare u hearing but the sample u hearing out forward is call the DX RAMBA it something like a conga but electronic.... like what the rappers used to use back in the days of hip hop but the virgin islands made it their signature sample....almost all v.i bands have that sample to make a riddim turn over but the drum machines like rx7 ry30 rx5 and the DX series would have them

i still have all my old rx7 samples
Old 10-18-2009, 04:40 PM   #22 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Originally Posted by Bataka View Post

i still have all my old rx7 samples
me too lol i have every single drum machine made loaded up from the tr 505 to the mpc

Old 10-18-2009, 04:44 PM   #23 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Thanks alot for the explanation. You hit the nail right on the head. It sounded very similar like congas something very african but with an electronic sound to it. Very interesting characteristic to their music. I gotta check out more VI muzik.
Old 10-18-2009, 04:49 PM   #24 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Originally Posted by Bataka View Post
V.I have it locked down to that type of sample..it is the rolling sound u hear.. most V.I tunes use this sort of sample making it their trademark.. Bouyon use this sumtimes not all times.. we more use rolling iron, pan,french accordion, Conch Shell and banjo samples.. the voice samples "hey", "get funkey" and "comon"along with the chorus sample that thing that sayin "Yaw"if u can pin point it that is..these are moderate samples used in all small island riddimz since we all mostly use the Akai MPC.. Bouyon uses it alot as well but we tend to mix and use live instruments in the mix giving it a nice blend.. .. So TnT blend it up with the small island style that is a nice thing. More unification making de music stronger
Thanks for your explanatino too thats what probably made bouyonking make that statement. And yes I have heard some TnT Soca that has been sounding like that along with JA music now. Its great. All riddims that come out the Caribbean are wicked and a true reflection of our African roots. They have that thumbing beat that is real infectious. I'm ready for Kanaval now for real
Old 10-18-2009, 04:56 PM   #25 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Thanks alot for the explanation. You hit the nail right on the head. It sounded very similar like congas something very african but with an electronic sound to it. Very interesting characteristic to their music. I gotta check out more VI muzik.
yeah i have that sample loaded up on my studio software which i make beats

Old 10-18-2009, 05:38 PM   #26 (permalink)
Qualified Mixologist

Thanks for your explanatino too thats what probably made bouyonking make that statement. And yes I have heard some TnT Soca that has been sounding like that along with JA music now. Its great. All riddims that come out the Caribbean are wicked and a true reflection of our African roots. They have that thumbing beat that is real infectious. I'm ready for Kanaval now for real
Yeah cause of that DX Ramba along wid sum other samples
Old 10-19-2009, 12:38 PM   #27 (permalink)

Credits: 370
that rolling sound is actually is a sound from St.Kitts Nevis bands use all we did was jus roll it .
Old 10-19-2009, 02:40 PM   #28 (permalink)

Credits: 1,476
mega 77 u right...
Old 10-19-2009, 08:26 PM   #29 (permalink)

Credits: 594
yow small islands stand up this riddim all ours shurwayne sounding crazy on it!!!
Old 10-20-2009, 10:57 AM   #30 (permalink)

Credits: 370
i also hear the choir in it as well .its a nice & simple beat .