Old 03-06-2005, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Poor Peoples Voice

Credits: 206
seems like Reggea Quiet!

Seems like nobody nah study Reggea. Is there any good tunes out from anyone? Seem like everybody ah listen to reggaeton (with the exception of gasolina) .......perfect opportunity for soca to creep!
Old 03-07-2005, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,838
geez am i the only one in the whole world that hasn't heard that damn song gasolina??? what the hell!......let me go download it
Old 03-07-2005, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 24,363
sorry to disappoint you reggae making big moves.. soca still sleeping behind.. how i know.. i hearing hip hop heads singing sizzla and i wayne.. i mean fellas that doh kno the difference between warlord and shabba ranks..
Old 03-07-2005, 01:03 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 6,441
whats the need

Just a question
Y does everthing soca do have to be connected with what reggae does?
Old 03-07-2005, 03:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Bad Gyal Ting

Location: A place yuh probably heard of called 'mind yuh fada head'!
Credits: 121
Question

I agree with saveoursoca because people need to understand that soca and reggae are on two different wavelengths. just because the both originate from the west indies doesn't mean they need to encompass each other. i think the problem is most media bases don't know the difference or least good quality music when it comes to soca and reggae and that is whats keeping us back. because if u believe it, i was listening to hot 97 here in NY and they actually introduced I-Wayne's tune as new soca. I said wat d ass is dis! oh gawd!
Old 03-07-2005, 04:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,110
Originally Posted by smoothextasy
I agree with saveoursoca because people need to understand that soca and reggae are on two different wavelengths. just because the both originate from the west indies doesn't mean they need to encompass each other. i think the problem is most media bases don't know the difference or least good quality music when it comes to soca and reggae and that is whats keeping us back. because if u believe it, i was listening to hot 97 here in NY and they actually introduced I-Wayne's tune as new soca. I said wat d ass is dis! oh gawd!
I-Wayne woulda bawl if he hear that...specially since he considers soca to be devil music
Old 03-07-2005, 06:01 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
Just a question
Y does everthing soca do have to be connected with what reggae does?

two different genres people
Old 03-07-2005, 10:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 2,820
Originally Posted by smoothextasy
Yeah right. They are far more likelt to make a mistake in the other direction.
Old 03-07-2005, 10:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
trini by bloodnotrelation

Credits: 151
sizzla come out wid some bigggg tunes for 2005 already, and iwayne nipping at his heels, nobody doh study reggae, u mad a wha? yo listen to the sizzla on the sleng teng riddim ressurection jus as a taste, and there are more sizzla coming true still.

*leaves post singing* "someone loves u baby..."
Old 03-07-2005, 11:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,320
you mean nobody on IMIX, cause nuff reggae albums bout 2 drop soon dat pleanty ppl are looking forward 2.
Old 03-07-2005, 01:07 PM   #11 (permalink)

He sound good but the only reason he gettin notice is because he is a hassidic.
Anyone else singing like that would be an ordinary Joe

But Jefe can u tell me how to put stuff like that on the mix I have some footage that I wan to put on
Old 03-07-2005, 01:10 PM   #12 (permalink)

our fault

Originally Posted by fiyah
Yeah right. They are far more likelt to make a mistake in the other direction.

Ur right but what is ur point?

Its our own fault if we would stay out of allyuh music bamsee then it wouldnt be a problem. But the first thing u hear out of a soca repoter or interviewer is do u think soca can surpass reggae and soforth.
I mean leave reggae music there it is established already and dont try to copy it because u will just be a branch off of it