Old 09-12-2006, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 10,696
Seeing that soca is loaded with Jamaican-ism,

how long do you think it will take before it loses it's double entendre lyrics for dancehall reggae's rawness?
Old 09-12-2006, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Credits: 5,753
Originally Posted by BRIAN View Post
how long do you think it will take before it loses it's double entendre lyrics for dancehall reggae's rawness?
not long.... every genre of music is getting more explicit its just a reflection of society
Old 09-12-2006, 07:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 343
Originally Posted by BRIAN View Post
I dont think anytime soon, dont get me wrong some guys will take u to the edge of your seat but as far a being openly explicit nahh.. Explainer did it a few years ago when he had a track where cussed Straker, and a few other producers. it was pressed and releases to the public. They did not accept it and they had to go back to the studio and do a complete remix of the track.. A waste of money and time. in b'dos there was a song called Rawkus this year (check siggy), they also had an explicit version but it was played on the low..
Old 09-12-2006, 10:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monday, August 6th, 2007

Credits: 163
I hope never.

That's the blessing to soca music - young and old can enjoy it together. I can't play "Dutty Wine" or any reggae (outside a culture) around my child....but, soca get play nonstop around my quarters.
Old 09-12-2006, 10:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 343
Originally Posted by ElleElle View Post
I hope never.

That's the blessing to soca music - young and old can enjoy it together. I can't play "Dutty Wine" or any reggae (outside a culture) around my child....but, soca get play nonstop around my quarters.
That's unfortunate
Old 09-12-2006, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 891
Whats wrong with Dutty wine.....
There is an edited version thats perfectly acceptable, I may be just biased cause dat is one of de only dancehall tracks i would really sit down and play.

But the thing about soca is that children woudl sing the song and it woudl be acceptable, cause of the double entendre, but there are still soem parents that will give the children some licks fuh singing some songs.

i remember a good couple that i used to sing as a child, and it only dawn on me years later "waaaaiiiiiiitttt..... oh hoooooo "
Old 09-13-2006, 12:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Alpha Male

Credits: 13,353
I hope never.

Hey there alots of clean dancehall songs....you just sound like you dont know dancehall well.
Old 09-13-2006, 12:50 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 42,242
Originally Posted by ~Ragga~ View Post
Hey there alots of clean dancehall songs....you just sound like you dont know dancehall well.
Fe real ! Buy any Stone Love mix and you won't hear slackness.

I hope Soca doesn't change I like the creativity in Soca/Calypso used to get the point accross
Old 09-13-2006, 04:36 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 5,463
I hope never.

Yes Indeed