Credits: 166
Rupee Opening doors
By Cordielle Street Sunday, January 23rd 2005 THIS is history in the making, even if it is my small history, said International recording artiste, Rupee. Not the first (technically) and surely not the last, the Bajan star who made his breakthrough by winning his country's illustrious, Richard Stoute Teen Talent Competition in 1993 has become soca's "Breakthrough King" clearing the way for yet another Caribbean music genre. The expression on his face, said that he has clearly heard the grumbling of a few Trinis who are none too happy that a "Bajan" was the one to make it "big" first. His brief stop in Trinidad two weeks ago was squeezed into a travel schedule that included a stint in Japan and Germany. He is now back in T&T. "At the end of the day we are one Caribbean. When I open the door, I open the door for my Caribbean brothers." With that said it is hard to imagine that a year has passed since Rupee was last here for Carnival, singing on school tours, signing autographs and sending fans mad. Well, much hasn't changed between now and then, international record deal or not. "I am here for 2005, I am most thankful for that. The deal with Atlantic has been going exceptionally well." While "Tempted to Touch" is not new to the Caribbean market, the crossover ragga soca has infected a new audience-a non-Caribbean based, international audience. The music video (Tempted to Touch) has been under heavy rotation on MTV, MTV2 and BET. After seven weeks on the (Top 100) Billboard dance/radio play chart, "Tempted to Touch" has reached a peak position of number four and is also one of the title songs along with "You Never Know" on the Pierce Brosnan, Salma Hayek movie After the Sunset. "There is actually a line in the movie where 'You Never Know' is playing and Pierce tells Salma "they are playing your favourite song". I was in the movie theatre watching it and all the people were like 'bwooy, bwooy, bwooy', that was great man," recalls Rupee with a smile. "Any aspiring musician and artiste always has aspirations and dreams of being on the big stage. You start off singing in front of the mirror with a hairbrush or comb...," began Rupee who mentally time-warped to his younger years coming back with this thought, "I have always been one that likes to experiment." "We should fuse our music so it can be more palatable for the international market," instructed the former Barbados Road March King who simultaneously dismissed any talk of selling out. "Atlantic has never come at us saying you have to change this and change that...Naturally we are aware that, that is a situation that can exist because it has happened before." Yet, it appears that Rupee has been given a bit of free reign when it comes to the production and presentation of his music. On his Atlantic debut album One on One familiar names like Chris Allman, Darron Grant (Underground Music Studios) and Peter Coppin all producers from the Caribbean, crop up among the credits. "I can't be selfish with my blessings, I definitely have to share it with the people who made me what I am," commented Rupee. Another move the artiste has undertaken and could be considered risky is the creation of his personal contingent of back-up musicians, the .COM band. According to Rupee this was one of his hardest fought battles with the Atlantic Record Company. When the big wigs remained unconvinced of the idea of live musicians, Rupee assembled the all Caribbean band and flew them to New York at his own expense. Their debut performance took place at the popular night-club "SOB" at an Atlantic hosted industry party. "It wasn't easy," Rupee recalled but the move paid off in the end. "The band is incredible. I think the mainstream American market has been stagnant for awhile and they are looking for a breath of fresh air...The .COM band is definitely a coming together of what I consider to be the best musicians in the Caribbean." "I have made a tremendous sacrifice and brought the band to Trinidad," continued Rupee. "Trinidad is a second home to me. I could have come back to Trinidad as a solo artiste doing 10 gigs a day; in it for just the money. Trinidad has been a part of my growing...there is no way I can turn my back on T&T. I wouldn't be where I am without Trinidad that is a fact." Throwing the dice yet again, Rupee hopes this "Caribbean tour" will score big with his core fan base although Atlantic is set on him dominating new markets like Japan. "Japan is kind of like a test market, where they try to get a buzz for the music. I think we are already over 100,000," volunteered Rupee. In Japan that's good as gold, literally. It only takes 100,000 sold albums to achieve gold record status in the Eastern country. Yet, Rupee and Kevin Lyttle are not the only artistes from the Caribbean that Atlantic is interested in. According to the recording star, the label's eyes are set on our twin-island nation. "There is definitely going to be a heavy presence here in Trinidad this year." Already the soca groove quartet, H20Phlo is being looked at by Atlantic said Rupee and he personally thinks the music being dished out by Destra, Kess and KMC to name a few is worth looking at. "It is hard for me to pinpoint. Trinidad is definitely paying attention to what the international trend is. I am hearing a lot of strong ragga soca," commented Rupee who has his own opinion for what will "hit" on the international level. "Number one a good song is key. Good Management. Produce an album. Record sales definitely play a significant role for record companies. But at the end of the day, you have to have that big song." According to Rupee his last album This Is Rupee sold 25,000 due to his own personal hustle, "selling CDs out of my (car) trunk." "I am not necessarily saying ragga soca is a must...but it plays an integral role. Soca is being looked at as an established international genre. But we have to be realistic too, music tastes shift; people's interest shift. The music is hot right now but we don't know what the future will hold." "Before signing I was very comfortable...financially I was well off. I had no problem being in that world. So if it doesn't happen we have nothing to worry about. Twenty to thirty years from now it could happen again. But we existed before anyone got signed." Rupee has appeared on stage alongside, Maroon 5, John Mayer, Lil Jon and the Eastside Boyz, Mario, Game, Nina Sky and the Terror Squad to name a few. Recently he performed at Madison Square Garden part of a Spanish Rap/Hip Hop concert which featured Fat Joe. |
#1 Rupee Supporter
Credits: 513
nice interview
Firewåta Løva
Credits: 63
source?
Credits: 140,973
Why am I not surprise? Moreover, the WRITER has AMNESIA/SELECTIVE memory/LACKS total RECALL when she said that Rupee is the FIRST to hit it BIG. There are more ERRORS the WRITER made, but I will leave it ALONE. By the way, make sure you guys buy the February issue of SISTER2SISTER. |
Credits: 2,709
You know who comin chargin in here just now to correct the statement.......has become soca's "Breakthrough King" clearing the way for yet another Caribbean music genre.
according to de jackass u talking bout rupee on de decline... when today alone pon Boston's hot97 he song PUNKED get bombs dropped and all... pump yuh breaks vincy |
Credits: 10,003
i thought it was gonna be the 2nd single |
chubby chub keep saying it gonna be big but yuh know boston.... we ain prehistoric like other places |
Royal
Credits: 24,344
"I have made a tremendous sacrifice and brought the band to Trinidad," continued Rupee. "Trinidad is a second home to me. I could have come back to Trinidad as a solo artiste doing 10 gigs a day; in it for just the money. Trinidad has been a part of my growing...there is no way I can turn my back on T&T. I wouldn't be where I am without Trinidad that is a fact." |