Old 04-27-2007, 12:33 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,915
Rupee fans

Nice to see he's planning on being more involved with Cropover this year. Looks like there will be a lot of music this summer

Rupee coming thrice for Crop-Over
Published on: 4/27/07.

EXPECT RUPEE TO HAVE a greater presence in Crop-Over this year. He's still with Atlantic Records and Van Gibbs is no longer his manager.

The man himself cleared up these questions that have been asked every time his name is called, speaking to GROOVE last week in an exclusive interview.

"The last month, I've been recording with Crop-Over as my primary focus. What's been happening over the last two years is that I've been outside performing, touring, performing with Atlantic and I haven't really had a real serious chance to participate in Crop-Over.

"That's not a bad thing because it shows that I'm busy and I'm still promoting Barbados at the end of the day. I'm going to make every effort to have a heavy presence this year," he said, adding he still had bookings during the festival.

Rupee said he would be releasing at least three songs for the season and will be recording with various studios and producers, including Chris Allman, Peter Coppin, Daron Grant, KB Sharp, The Red Boyz and Elisius Joseph.

"I'm no longer with Van Gibbs; so I'm spreading my wings again. I'm under new management," he said, adding he could not reveal who the new management team would be as it was not yet confirmed.

"This new situation is working out well for me. I'm still with Atlantic Records. I understand how this business is, and you have to have patience. With the label, even if I were to get dropped, it's not a big deal. That's how the business is. But I can honestly say that I am still fully with the label."

He dispelled any rumours he had been dropped from Atlantic and said he was continuing work on an album for the label.

Re-energising

"People have the right to think what they want, and voice their opinions. I totally respect that and have no animosity toward them. I'm re-energising the project. I'm placing a heavy emphasis on the Caribbean and I'm going to create a groundswell here and then spread my wings, touching base with the original bridges," he said.

Rupee authored the ICC Cricket World Cup theme song which was sung with Faye-Ann Lyons and Shaggy, and first performed at the opening ceremony in Jamaica, where he took the opportunity to do some recordings.

"Things have been so hectic for me performing for the ICC CWC!

"That whole experience for me has been phenomenal, and things have been going great," Rupee said, adding he was hoping to have his own section with Kadooment band Baje International which he has been bringing for the last two years.

by Andrea KING
Old 04-27-2007, 12:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Credits: 4,737
this is good news. lets hope he still got it in him.
Old 04-27-2007, 01:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wuk Up Novice

Credits: 1,201
Old 04-28-2007, 10:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Steel City Man

Credits: 519
Excellent. I'm looking forward to listening to his new work.
Old 04-28-2007, 11:02 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 153,686
Old 04-28-2007, 11:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 252
Let the games begin. cant wait hear the new material.
Old 04-29-2007, 09:02 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 16,240
Good piece.
Old 04-29-2007, 11:46 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 8,560
well alright
Old 04-29-2007, 12:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Sweeter Sauce

Credits: 917
CROP OVER GO BE CRAZY ... I'm glad Rupee'll be back ... AH CYAN WAIT
Old 04-29-2007, 01:06 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 6,569
It will be great to get some Rupee music again. Im a rupee fan

But like all de rest when de "west" burns them they start to bawl how soca music is the best and I will be focusing on we music again.

I still think meh favorite rupee is Ice cream
Old 04-29-2007, 01:13 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 10,004
Originally Posted by saveoursoca View Post
It will be great to get some Rupee music again. Im a rupee fan

But like all de rest when de "west" burns them they start to bawl how soca music is the best and I will be focusing on we music again.

I still think meh favorite rupee is Ice cream
cosign.