Old 06-09-2009, 08:10 PM   #31 (permalink)
let's focus on living

Credits: 5,532
May he rest in peace didnt know he was that sick.
Old 06-09-2009, 08:14 PM   #32 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 3,922

Originally Posted by Naughtyshawtie View Post

Old 06-09-2009, 08:26 PM   #33 (permalink)

Credits: 28,074
where it say he dead?

► "91.9 Morning Show" w/ Isha Wells, Brother B, & Mad Indian. Weekdays, 9a-12p. http://www.soca919.com/play.asx

► http://www.myspace.com/trinidaduniversity
Old 06-09-2009, 09:01 PM   #34 (permalink)

Credits: 1,122
bye shok... you enriched our lives with your music. we were all so blessed for having known you. know you will continue making great music in the beyond
Old 06-09-2009, 09:55 PM   #35 (permalink)

Credits: 152,672
Rip
Old 06-09-2009, 09:56 PM   #36 (permalink)

Credits: 266,265
thanks.......rip
Old 06-09-2009, 10:24 PM   #37 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 35,109
Rest in peace. You will be missed. I did not like this shock Shel Shok
``
President Barack Obama!!!!
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.
Old 06-09-2009, 10:57 PM   #38 (permalink)
The Original Diva

Credits: 2,698
RIP Shox i'm at a lost for words
Old 06-09-2009, 11:06 PM   #39 (permalink)
yuh zeet, yuh zeet

Credits: 69,103
Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
Rest in peace. You will be missed. I did not like this shock Shel Shok

BK's chune of de week- www.youtube.com/watch?v=jeFWqwacOUg&

alliancefilife.com
Old 06-10-2009, 02:27 AM   #40 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 15,580
Music producer ‘Shel Shok’ is dead

Published: 10 Jun 2009

Michelle Loubon
Three days shy of his 40th birthday, arranger Sheldon Benjamin, fondly known as “Shel Shok,” succumbed to a type of cancer (non-Hodgkins lymphoma) at 2.25 pm yesterday. He had been battling the disease for a few months and died at Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, Mt Hope.

On Sunday, friends had organised a fund-raiser at Club Zen in Port-of-Spain to aid with medical expenses for the cancer-stricken music producer. Among those who had spent time with Benjamin and his parents June and Lennox in his final moments were Elizabeth Montano, mother and manager of soca artiste Machel Montano. Montano said: “We are happy most of us were able to share the last moments with him. Machel, Patrice, people from our band and Destra’s band. Destra’s manager Brian Morris was there. A lot of dancers were there. The good thing is he had people who cared for him during his last moments.”

About Shel Shok
Among those who had worked with Benjamin were General Grant, Machel, Destra Garcia and Allison Hinds. He started with Kiskadee Karavan. His talent as a producer became widespread knowledge after he produced Montano’s Big Truck—a Road March winner. He has produced other hits like Xtatic’s Come Dig It, General Grant’s Soca Billboard and Third Base’s High.

He also earned a nomination for Best Producer at T&T Music Awards earlier this year with Grant’s Dulahin. As his success soared, he worked with other artistes like LA Crew and Vision Band. He travelled extensively in the US, too. In a previous interview, Benjamin said, “To keep me truly happy, you must be able to cook a really good macaroni pie. I love that to death.”

Music producer ‘Shel Shok’ is dead | The Trinidad Guardian
Old 06-10-2009, 02:31 AM   #41 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 15,580
'ShelShok' loses cancer battle
Wayne Bowman wbowman@trinidadexpress.com

Music producer Sheldon "ShelShok" Benjamin succumbed to Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma yesterday after a valiant battle against a form of cancer which attacks the lymph nodes.

Benjamin was at his Valsayn home under the care of his mother, when around mid-afternoon he began to slip away, not responding to attempts to revive him.

It was thought that he had died then, but when the ambulance arrived the attendants found a pulse and Benjamin was rushed to the nearby Mt Hope Hospital but he eventually passed away.

Benjamin was considered one of the region's most prolific and visionary music producers having entered the arena in 1992 when he produced songs for most of the artistes signed to the Keskidee Karavan label of the Caribbean Sound Basin.

Benjamin was largely responsible for making artistes such as General Grant, Kindred, Black Mayl and Homefront household names in that era. Later on he would go on to produce hit singles for Machel Montano, 3Canal, Rocky, Bunji Garlin, Allison Hinds, Ataklan, Destra and many other local, regional and international acts.

When he became too ill to continue working, Benjamin had produced at least a whopping 307 songs, most being hits that still command respect on radio stations and dancehalls today. It was only Sunday his colleagues in the entertainment industry hosted the "Lifeline" concert at the Zen nightclub with the aim of helping with his medical expenses. Reacting to the news, the staff of the Copyright Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago (COTT) have extended condolences to the family Benjamin.

Its president Lutalo Masimba (Brother Resistance) had this to say-"ShelShok's sudden passing will leave a vacuum which will be very hard to fill. His passing represents a great loss to the new generation of music producers." Benjamin was instrumental in pushing forward that wave of rapso performers from Kindred of the Keskidee experience to the evolution of 3Canal. Funeral arrangements are still to be finalised.
Trinidad News, Trinidad Newspaper, Trinidad Sports, Trinidad politics, Trinidad and Tobago, Tobago News, Trinidad classifieds, Trinidad TV, Sports, Business
Old 06-10-2009, 03:25 AM   #42 (permalink)
Learning soca music

Credits: 2,428
God bless this man's soul for now he may rest. His legacy is that he made music that made the world happy. May he rest in peace.

For his family, friends, and fellow fans, hold ya head up high.
Old 06-10-2009, 10:31 AM   #43 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Credits: 29,581
rest in peace brother now you with the legends up in the heavens.... make some more music up there the grand master ras shorty and the rest of them....you all keep it alive up there in the heavens....until we come to see you all play there too...respect

I love Sweet Original Creative Audio (SOCA)
Old 06-10-2009, 02:09 PM   #44 (permalink)
dev

Credits: 17,871
Condolences to his family and the music fraternity.

Rip.
Old 06-10-2009, 02:57 PM   #45 (permalink)
Book Snob

Credits: 1,793

R.I.P