Old 12-25-2003, 02:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Credits: 4,737
Rep where u from!!!

We have some fake Trini artist in the business. Doug e slaughter is not trini, he is a born spiceisle yute. Militant is a born G.T.. A man nearly buss me head when I tell him sparrow is a Grenadian.

Not trying to start a bachanal, but its a little insulting that only trini's can make good tunes.
Old 12-30-2003, 03:27 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,538
I don't think it's so much that they're faking but the fact that they've made their development for their craft in another country is what makes the difference!!! Ok, so I was born in America if I was to get into some industry where I have to identify I would say "Grenadian"... I understand there's plenty politics about this, for example someone like Sparrow.. He was born in Grenada, but I've heard some Grenadians down the man and I'm like why? If anything allyuh should be proud of him! I've never heard him say I wasn't born in Grenada, so what's the beef! Now spicexperience did you ever hear Slaughter say I wasn't born in Grenada? Anyway, to me music is going to be just music! I'm always interested to find out where most of these artists were born/grewup/live out of curiosity.. but at the end of the day as long as they sound good, I don't really care!
And to tell you the truth, I don't think TRINIS only make good music, there are countless music out of other islands, it's just up to you to filter them out and appreciate them!
As for Slaughter, no wonder me love TRAMPLE SO MUCH.. lol....

By the way.. when I was 9, I had a serious argument with a trini girl friend of mine and I mean to the point where we made a bet and all about Sparrow's birthplace and when we went to her father to clarify she nearly bawled.. I never thought it would make such an emotional impact on her finding out that he wasn't born there, and to this day in her eyes it made a big difference! I hope she got over it!?

Last edited by Empressdududahlin; 12-30-2003 at 03:32 AM..
Old 12-30-2003, 03:53 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 181
Re: Rep where u from!!!

Originally posted by spicexperience
We have some fake Trini artist in the business. Doug e slaughter is not trini, he is a born spiceisle yute. Militant is a born G.T.. A man nearly buss me head when I tell him sparrow is a Grenadian.

Not trying to start a bachanal, but its a little insulting that only trini's can make good tunes.
I totaly agree with you bedrin. This really boggles me when artist dont claim ther country after they get in the business. For example Naya George from Barbados. and his best song is "Trinidad". Ravon that sings with Shaggy is Bajan and gives people a Jamaican imaj by only bigging up Jamaica. Also Terro Fabolous who is from St. Thomas. Trinidadians say Sparrow Trini cause he grew up there even though he was born in Grenada which is understandable to some extent. His family still resides in Grenada and he only claims trinidad. I dont know the reason fo this. But the islands these artist deserts are islands that are beautiful. They act like they from a puddle of mud. I too wanted to post something like this but reallydid not know how exactly to phrase it!

Last edited by harizon; 12-30-2003 at 03:59 AM..
Old 12-30-2003, 04:10 AM   #4 (permalink)

[i]I've never heard him say I wasn't born in Grenada, so what's the beef! Now spicexperience did you ever hear Slaughter say I wasn't born in Grenada? Anyway, to me music is going to be just music! I'm always interested to find out where most of these artists were born/grewup/live out of curiosity.. but at the end of the day as long as they sound good, I don't really care!
And to tell you the truth, I don't think TRINIS only make good music, there are countless music out of other islands, it's just up to you to filter them out and appreciate them!
As for Slaughter, no wonder me love TRAMPLE SO MUCH.. lol....

[/B]
I agree with you too. But understand this: Artist are look at by everyone and role modles when they become successful. If someone is from a country they should never forget where dem come from no matter what. It doesnt even matter if they became successful else where. This sounds kinda demanding but if someone born and raise in yor country and theey desert there it makes you look and feel bad. Again artist is role modles. I never hear Dawg E Slaughter say he not from Grenada but almost every song its all about Trinidad. If I was Grenadian I would be disturb and ask myself why isnt Grenada good enough to be proud of. Its bad enough other islands are in the shadows of others.

Last edited by harizon; 12-30-2003 at 04:12 AM..
Old 12-30-2003, 04:31 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally posted by harizon
I agree with you too. But understand this: Artist are look at by everyone and role modles when they become successful. If someone is from a country they should never forget where dem come from no matter what. It doesnt even matter if they became successful else where. This sounds kinda demanding but if someone born and raise in yor country and theey desert there it makes you look and feel bad. Again artist is role modles. I never hear Dawg E Slaughter say he not from Grenada but almost every song its all about Trinidad. If I was Grenadian I would be disturb and ask myself why isnt Grenada good enough to be proud of. Its bad enough other islands are in the shadows of others.

I understand what you are saying, but for one, I've heard stories of Grenadians who doh like Sparrow for claiming Trinidad as his home, but I'm sure he knows where his heart is and that's for him to know and for me to find out! So, he moved from Grenada and resided in Trinidad all these years, well damn he is a resident of Trinidad and was born in Grenada! Do they all have to come out and remind everyone "HEY I WAS ACTUALLY BORN HERE, BUT I GREW UP HERE, so I hope you like me still!?" Now I'm not going to lie, I know PLENTY of Grenadians or Trinis from either Grenadian parentage born there or grew up in Trinidad and claim there as their home, well damn GOD BLESS THEM, as long as I know where I'm from I happy! This will always be a debate because the Caribbean as I see it now and in the past will always be a meltig pot of different cultures and music and what keeps us grounded and United is the MUSIC! And the only time we're going to really find out where they were born is if they're doing an interview and it's asked or they volunteer that information! I as a Grenadian, am not disturbed finding out that Slaughter was born in Grenada, to tell you the truth I thought he was born in Trinidad, but if this info is true it puts a smile on my face *hey spicexperience can you find out what parish he's from, we can be family!*
Old 12-30-2003, 10:30 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 92
Re: Re: Rep where u from!!!

I totaly agree with you bedrin. This really boggles me when artist dont claim ther country after they get in the business. For example Naya George from Barbados. and his best song is "Trinidad". Ravon that sings with Shaggy is Bajan and gives people a Jamaican imaj by only bigging up Jamaica. Also Terro Fabolous who is from St. Thomas. Trinidadians say Sparrow Trini cause he grew up there even though he was born in Grenada which is understandable to some extent. His family still resides in Grenada and he only claims trinidad. I dont know the reason fo this. But the islands these artist deserts are islands that are beautiful. They act like they from a puddle of mud. I too wanted to post something like this but reallydid not know how exactly to phrase it!

wey you does get your info from? i dont know bout ravon or the other fella you called. BUT NAYA GEORGE BAJAN?????????????????

please tell me wey you get that from??

Last edited by D socarat; 12-30-2003 at 12:17 PM..
Old 12-30-2003, 10:43 AM   #7 (permalink)

Re: Rep where u from!!!

Originally posted by spicexperience

but as far a sellin out that foolishness because trinidad is the home of soca "tallpreee had to be big in trinidad to be big anywhere else(besides grenada)

Rupie have house and thing in trinidad and calls himself trini son, that does not mean he selling out barbados or germany..

so what if dawg e born in grenada but choose to rep the place where he grew up...... i mean what you want him to do wear a two flags when he performing???
Old 12-30-2003, 01:29 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally posted by D socarat
but as far a sellin out that foolishness because trinidad is the home of soca "tallpreee had to be big in trinidad to be big anywhere else(besides grenada)

Rupie have house and thing in trinidad and calls himself trini son, that does not mean he selling out barbados or germany..

so what if dawg e born in grenada but choose to rep the place where he grew up...... i mean what you want him to do wear a two flags when he performing???
Why you gotta be big in Trinidad to be accepted???? I know plenty artist that is not considered big stars in Trinidad and they are very successful elsewhere.
Old 12-30-2003, 01:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
~*~In the Mix~*~

Credits: 2,535
Re: Re: Re: Rep where u from!!!

I can understand what you are saying, it is true that Ravon is from Bim, I've never heard him really acknowledge Bim, but, then again, who cares, it's not like Bim needs him to large it up, it's small, but, large, so, if he choose to rep JA, oh well, fack 'em!!!

As for Sparrow, here's a link that should be very helpful.....

http://www.mightysparrow.com/biopage.htm
Old 12-30-2003, 01:34 PM   #10 (permalink)

Correction - Tallpree did not have to be big in Trinidad first bedrin. He was big everywhere with ole woman alone. Everyone knew from jump he was Grenadian so why do he have to be big that big in Trinidad for everyone else to know him and like hs music?
Old 12-30-2003, 01:53 PM   #11 (permalink)

Why you gotta be big in Trinidad to be accepted???? I know plenty artist that is not considered big stars in Trinidad and they are very successful elsewhere.

i wait until yu list names, plenty artist dont cut it....
Old 12-30-2003, 01:59 PM   #12 (permalink)

Correction - Tallpree did not have to be big in Trinidad first bedrin. He was big everywhere with ole woman alone. Everyone knew from jump he was Grenadian so why do he have to be big that big in Trinidad for everyone else to know him and like hs music?
tallpree tune bus Grenada carnival 99 was big 2000 because a trinidad carnival...... trust me he said it him self at soca monarch 2000, 2001 and various other fetes in trinidad..........

why you think he had on a jumpsuit with half trini flag half grenada flag,(soca monarch 2000) it wasnt because he liked the colors it was because he showing "the soca capital his thanks for making him big"

still waiting for list of artist that made it big without exposure in trini..........
Old 12-30-2003, 02:14 PM   #13 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Rep where u from!!!

tallpree tune bus Grenada carnival 99 was big 2000 because a trinidad carnival...... trust me he said it him self at soca monarch 2000, 2001 and various other fetes in trinidad..........

why you think he had on a jumpsuit with half trini flag half grenada flag,(soca monarch 2000) it wasnt because he liked the colors it was because he showing "the soca capital his thanks for making him big"

still waiting for list of artist that made it big without exposure in trini..........
So I guess you cant be big unless you do it first in Trinidad?????
Old 12-30-2003, 02:17 PM   #14 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Rep where u from!!!

i wait until yu list names, plenty artist dont cut it....
Wanski
Timmy
Lil Rick
Statement
WCK
Nu Vybes
Da Bhann..................you need more?
Old 12-30-2003, 02:54 PM   #15 (permalink)

ok.. ok... this is where I have to say this: I think it's sad that it's thought of for an artist to end up in Trini to become BIG!! Sorry to buss anyone's bubble, but it is true... Maybe because Trini Carnival is one of the largest celebrations the most exposure of course is going to be found there *THANK YOU TRINIDAD*, but I think people need to stray away from that point... I would love to see the day where an artist can blow up in their own country instead of making the grand appearance to make them an official Soca artist through Trini's carnival!