Credits: 6,568
Rally against bootleg stations
Well if this isint the biggest pile of rubbish I have heard. 1190 asking for we to rally against we staions. Saying they not real stations and shouldnt be supported. First of all I would like to tell 1190 to haul u so and so. Ian bajan king levy and all of them allyuh have nerve. For years allyuh was the only choice and played nothing. Didnt put any good djs on there talked over all the music and hardly play soca. We stations playing 100% soca 24hrs a day(103) while allyuh play allyuh mixture of music and burry we soca in the back. To put an add on 1190 its 1000$ and change to get the add run three times. And we supposed to support allyuh. EVen if we statoins went down we would never listen to that garbage station I rather whistle than listen 1190. They arent only a garbage station they are the worst station. THey can keep they top ten on Sun with Jay z and I hope we bootlegs bury dem Mudda so and so. 103 104 keep up the good work and bury them So and so. I wouldnt mind if 1190 go off the air. and if they have anything to do wit we stations going off the air then it will be war. I say we boycott that BS station and Keep we bootlegs going yes them had to be joking dred. Something good for soca and they bashing it down. Out with them yes
Credits: 218
dat is troot.. well said
now if only 103 and them were legal. it would be perfect |
Credits: 92
lol ratther whistle boy!!! but Wlib could hold dey maddda A@@.
nobody listen to them before the booleg and not gonna to listen them after especially scince they get a taste for quality big up 103(100% soca) and 104 (75% soca). |
Credits: 2,729
lol@ rather whistle.....
bwwwwwwwwwwwwwaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh LARGE UP 104... FIRE... AND DE CLOSE CONNECTION CREW! ![]() |
Credits: 1,725
hmmm....
ah c we gonna have a clash! (but 1st lol at whistle joke) lordsalt raises WLIB flag and starts 2 wave. i been listening 2 LIB since i been in my daddy. while i agree it's true some of the music is the same it spawned in2 being a great caribbean broadcast. they have the news hour, political hour, sportz talk, music (of course) and many other programs which makes it diverse. they play a fair amount of soca, reggae, zouk, chutney and other small island music so i give them dat. howeva, i do agree that it does raises eyebrows 4 them 2 come and knock the bootleg stations. no where else r u getting the soca 24/7. i don't know if their beef comes from losing listeners, slipping in the ratings or maybe they have 2 pay royalties 4 music played on their station and the bootleggers don't (not sure). who knows, but i still tune in on mornings and wknds. 4 the record i have nothin against the underground stations. dey does be jamming. too bad i can only hear dem in bk. salt |
i dont know if this is true and i'm hoping that it's not. If it is true, that would lead me to wonder what (other than the standard jealousy thing) could be the station's reasoning and why this is happening now.
i still listen to WLIB sometimes! It's far from being the greatest station: that AM reception is lacking, reggae is over-represented, Dahved talks way too much, they don't respond to your emails and/or phone calls when you make certain inquiries : and sometimes ah swear Dylan and Yonny (sp) does bull each other the way they love throwing around the homo innuendos. However..........i dont see how you could be from the Caribbean, care about the people & the region, live in NYC, and not listen to WLIB...at least periodically. Even with all it's flaws, the station simply has programming that you wont find anywhere else.uh gine listen to dem today to find out how true this rally thing is... |
Kaiser Ball Gyul
Credits: 415
wah d' jail
wlib need to chill
is only until recently they started playing soca and chutney and zouk i remember in the early 90's carnival in trinidad and my mom cussing the announcer on the air because they wasn't playing calypso wlib used to play straight reggae eh....24/7 they need to chill and let d' bootleg stations do they thing....it wouldn't matter anyway...because i still doh listen.... Last edited by BAGOGYUL; 11-26-2003 at 10:21 AM.. |
Credits: 1,725
solid -
i agree. i can't stand dahved levy. anne tripp i can tolerate, but i liked dahved back in the days when he was only a party promoter on the wlib commercials. i njoyed the 'rocking u, rocking u, rocking u, but he is annoying. Ian D'Goose is my boy though. he too cool 4 radio. but thinking about it more.......it is kinda weird they doing that. 1600 is another AM station and 930 (part time) are other caribbean related air waves. i wonder if WLIB rallying them too. salt |
Re: wah d' jail
There is no way on this PLANET that WLIB has ever PLAYED strictly reggae in the 90's, 80's or even the 70's. |
not so happy to be happy
Credits: 188
Credits: 4,286
Credits: 1,109
Hmm,
I question them saying to boycott bootleg stations, if they did indeed say that, but I for one enjoy the programming on WLIB. Programs such as - the Island Link-Up (where they link to a major radio station in various islands and people send greetings), - the SOCA Awards, - the Caribbean AIDS walk (both of them) - the Buju/Beres Hammond concert (at which I enjoyed myself thoroughly), - the 200th Anniversary Cruise to Haiti are just a few of the programs that I applaud WLIB for supporting. As someone who has had to justify prices for advertising for my company, you have to set your rates based on your audience. I'm sure at one point in their infancy WLIB's advertising was not $1000 for 3 airings, and even so, it is MUCH LESS than similar radio stations in other communities. They also have bills to pay, and programs to put out to the community. Competition creates better products for the consumer, so I'm all for it. While I don't agree with WLIB for urging people to boycott the bootleg radio stations (again, if they did say that), I think if you're not part of the problem, then you're part of the solution. WLIB, and any other radio station -- bootleg or not -- plays based on demand. The majority of LIB listeners are about or older than the broadcasters they have at the station. If you are not calling in to request the songs YOU want to hear, then how can you reasonably expect them to play them? If they host functions and YOU (or your demographic isn't) present there, how can they know that you are viable, valid listeners? |
Im a SEXY B!TCH HATER
Credits: 1,163
dat was really nice |
Credits: 2,708
When 1190 stop playin shite and start talkin less they wouldn't have to worry about bootleg stations.
Old School Member
Credits: 563

: and sometimes ah swear Dylan and Yonny (sp) does bull each other the way they love throwing around the homo innuendos. However..........i dont see how you could be from the Caribbean, care about the people & the region, live in NYC, and not listen to WLIB...at least periodically. Even with all it's flaws, the station simply has programming that you wont find anywhere else.