Old 03-06-2008, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,588
RAGGA SOCA vs. GROOVY SOCA

It's HOT UP in HERE.
Old 03-06-2008, 04:32 PM   #2 (permalink)

Again, there was NO SUCH THING as GROOVY SOCA prior to 2005. But of course, VINCYLAND done DEFINED and COINED this STYLING and SOUND since the 90's.

But a GRENADIAN PROMOTER added a COMPETITION to TRINIDAD'S INTERNATIONAL SOCA MONARCH competition in 2005 and called it "GROOVY SOCA" thus the BIRTH of TRINIDAD'S version of VINCY'S RAGGA SOCA.

So ley me FIRST DROP de CHUNE that MOTIVATED the GRENADIAN PROMOTER to add the GROOVY competition to his INTERNATIONAL SOCA MONARCH competition in TRINIDAD.

After I DROP the song, I will ADD more VINCY RAGGA SOCA chunes to the SLATE.

PULLLL UPPPPPPPPPPPP
Old 03-06-2008, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Credits: 3,611
INTERNATIONAL SOCA MONARCH competition in 2005 and called it "GROOVY SOCA" thus the BIRTH of TRINIDAD'S version of BAJAN'S RAGGA SOCA.
Sorry VP had fix it for you.......I wont say that the Bajans were the first to fuse Soca wid Reggae.......

But I will say that Red Plastic Bag was the first to give Ragga Soca its name and to become popular with it....

Nicholas Brancker was the producer of "Ragga Ragga"

Since den Square One and Krossfyah became popular within the region for their ragga soca jams....like Pump me Up etc
Old 03-06-2008, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,820
Originally Posted by Sugar Apple View Post
Sorry VP had fix it for you.......I wont say that the Bajans were the first to fuse Soca wid Reggae.......

But I will say that Red Plastic Bag was the first to give Ragga Soca its name and to become popular with it....

Since den Square One and Krossfyah became popular within the region for their ragga soca jams....like Pump me Up etc
This is a debate I've been hearing for a long time. The true birth place of ragga soca is bim with ragga ragga ragga ragga. Then we have VP or puleld out that fact ragga soca came out before with Touch and several other artist. So I'm sitll unclear where it comes from.

But I really want to know what the hell is GROOVY SOCA and why did Trinidad change the name of their competition of ragga soca to Groovy Soca and Soca to Power Soca?
Old 03-06-2008, 05:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
This is a debate I've been hearing for a long time. The true birth place of ragga soca is bim with ragga ragga ragga ragga. Then we have VP or puleld out that fact ragga soca came out before with Touch and several other artist. So I'm sitll unclear where it comes from.

But I really want to know what the hell is GROOVY SOCA and why did Trinidad change the name of their competition of ragga soca to Groovy Soca and Soca to Power Soca?

Notice what I said......I cant tell u what was the birth place...actually i dont think it is very important......because I am sure that all over the region people were mixing soca with other genres......

but RPB made it popular...

But IMO TnT wanted to find a way to seperate the genres for the competition so they called one Groovy and the other Power

plus all groovy soca in not neccessarily ragga soca.....some are just the medium paced songs....

its that reggae flavour that makes it Ragga Soca

Last edited by Sugar Apple; 03-06-2008 at 05:34 PM..
Old 03-06-2008, 05:36 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 17,058

Your tone betray your true intentions. You don't really want to know anything. You want to hear the vincy imps and others say that trinidad tief something or the other from allyuh. That is what you want tuh hear. Doh lie!
Old 03-06-2008, 05:45 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 35,010

and let VP know that krosfyah's PUMP ME UP WITH THE MUSIC is called a classic ragga soca song which made trinidad aware of this genre during BAJAN INVASION, which would have influenced kevin to sing TURN ME ON.
Old 03-06-2008, 05:47 PM   #8 (permalink)

Notice what I said......I cant tell u what was the birth place...actually i dont think it is very important......because I am sure that all over the region people were mixing soca with other genres......

but RPB made it popular...

But IMO TnT wanted to find a way to seperate the genres for the competition so they called one Groovy and the other Power

plus all groovy soca in not neccessarily ragga soca.....some are just the medium paced songs....

its that reggae flavour that makes it Ragga Soca
i wouldnt say that rpb made it popular i would say he made others aware of this genre, but edwin made it popular with pump me up.
Old 03-06-2008, 05:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Originally Posted by BAJANFUHLIFE View Post
i wouldnt say that rpb made it popular i would say he made others aware of this genre, but edwin made it popular with pump me up.

BOSS MAN as much as I love Pump Me Up and yes it was poupular ....Ragga Ragga was popular all OVER de place.....u know the song was translated in 6 different languages......

BTW in an interview Nicholas Brancker said he even had a lil spouge in it which made it difficult for musicians in other countries to copy the sound.....
Old 03-06-2008, 05:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,820
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Your tone betray your true intentions. You don't really want to know anything. You want to hear the vincy imps and others say that trinidad tief something or the other from allyuh. That is what you want tuh hear. Doh lie!
Look you- How de ass you can tell my tone from my writing. I'm asking a genuine question, and it was asked before so answer my question. Why create a different name for the competition seeing you know so much? Sugar Apple gave an explanation and I can take that so what is yours? You seem to be a musical ambassador of Trinidad so give me the official explanation for the name change of the competitions please?
Old 03-06-2008, 05:56 PM   #11 (permalink)

BOSS MAN as much as I love Pump Me Up and yes it was poupular ....Ragga Ragga was popular all OVER de place.....u know the song was translated in 6 different languages......

BTW in an interview Nicholas Brancker said he even had a lil spouge in it which made it difficult for musicians in other countries to copy the sound.....
it was in 6 languages? i cannot picture that song in any other language other than bajan.

SCHOOL VINCYPOWA CAUSE NUFF FART DOES COME OUT HE MOUT.
Old 03-06-2008, 05:57 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
There is no ESCAPING it.

You're TRULY DOTISH.
Old 03-06-2008, 05:57 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 4,010

ragga soca n groovy soca is different to us...groovy is more like de smooth less pace songs for example kerwin dubios song neva leave yah and de ragga soca is more like de song shot call by general grant

and as fuh power soca dats de name dem use tuh seperate between de upbeat fast tempo soca n de groovy soca fuh soca-monarch...trust me no trini does call de "get on bad/fast tempo soca no power soca
Old 03-06-2008, 06:02 PM   #14 (permalink)

and let VP know that krosfyah's PUMP ME UP WITH THE MUSIC is called a classic ragga soca song which made trinidad aware of this genre during BAJAN INVASION, which would have influenced kevin to sing TURN ME ON.
CLEARLY from your POSTS U do not KNOW what the HELL you're TALKING about.

Like I said, U R WET BEHIND the EARS. You're NEW to this. This is BEYOND your LIKKLE KNOWLEDGE of the INDUSTRY.

RAGGA RAGGA was a HUGE HIT....one of my all time FAVORITES as a MATTER of fact.

The THEME of the SONG is BASICALLY RPB MOCKING the YARDIES DANCEHALL music.
Old 03-06-2008, 06:07 PM   #15 (permalink)

I can ASSURE you that the STYLING of RAGGA RAGGA by RPB was not the FIRST. I can also assure you that VINCY MUSIC is DOMINATED by this STYLE way before and after RPB came out with that BIG HIT.