Rebelucian
Credits: 5,790
Questions for soca DJs
At reggae parties....if there are numerous Djs playing....the early juggling Djs save the current and most popular tunes for the prime time DJ....does it work the same way if numerous soca Djs are playing at the same fete...
cause it seems like with soca fetes....the songs get repeated alot...whereas in reggae repeating songs that have already played is frowned upon..... |
Credits: 2,906
PJK had a thread like this recent in backchat. Nuff dj's don't come to hear the previous Dj & assume they can play the same crap. WTf they don't think the person already play It's Carnival & Wine & Bend Over is beyond me.
Credits: 120
it should all come down to the DJs having a common goal of building a vibe for the night....whats the point of running the big tunes out when people just reach and aint even got a drink in dey system yet? the early warm DJs should worry bout just making the people feel comfortable...then let the big dawgs take the dance into a frenzy...cause in my opinion a song loses its effect if you keep hearing it repeatdly throughout a night...
Credits: 9,319
In a reggae dance playing a song twice for the night is a big big taboo, that's admitting that you're a lame dj, and worst of all that you dont have music.Once in a while i might be asked to help a bredrin spin a few music in a reggae party, if i'm late its automatic ( i dont have to ask) he'll tell me what he's already played. If word gets around that you played a chune twice, you might as well quit.Thats why we invented that little thing called "wheel an come again". And by the way, a not too known history for all djs, a real "pull up" is when the crowd bawls for it so whenever you hear a dj do this without a crowd response he's running on ego. Last edited by BRIAN; 02-09-2006 at 02:14 AM.. |