Old 09-26-2003, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,406
question

if there was no carnival, no crop over, no labor day........do u think soca would survive?
Old 09-26-2003, 01:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
~*~In the Mix~*~

Credits: 2,532
Of course not, carnival, cropover & labor day is a big showcase for soca & without these events, I don't think that a lot of ppl would even know about soca!!!
Old 09-26-2003, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
TaChe

Credits: 286
i believe soca will survive without these festivals however it would never go mainstream, the only people that would know about it would be the ones who happen to be exposed to it , from the radio or record shops , or if you come from a country where soca is the music that is played.
Old 09-26-2003, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,901
umm, I don't think it would do very well. Look at artistes whose songs never make it out of the island because people take note of the more popular artistes...and marketing for many of the cd's it not very good. So I think, carnivals are very essential to soca.
Old 09-26-2003, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)

i dont think there would much to sing about.
Old 09-26-2003, 03:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
TaChe

Credits: 286
Originally posted by deoriginalrudeboy
i dont think there would much to sing about.
actually there would be in Trinidad the fete don't stop, the lime dont' stop if there was no carnival we would still be feting and liming,
I remeber when the Muslims did take over the Gov't , they had curfew fetes , when OJ win they have a fete for that too.
they would find stuff to sing about.
there are too many things going on in Trinidad for them not to have nothing to sing bout.
Old 09-26-2003, 04:43 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally posted by rictash
actually there would be in Trinidad the fete don't stop, the lime dont' stop if there was no carnival we would still be feting and liming,
I remeber when the Muslims did take over the Gov't , they had curfew fetes , when OJ win they have a fete for that too.
they would find stuff to sing about.
there are too many things going on in Trinidad for them not to have nothing to sing bout.
i would agree w/ you if this was maybe 7 years back but now the music's lyrics from some of these artistes shows some of the lack creativity they have, so i dont hold them to that level of creativity to think outside of carnival or the 2 line verse n one word chorus that to them represents carnival.