Credits: 2,965
Props...Lets Give It To Them...Soca Chat
Who in your opinion on Soca Chat have made you look at Soca culture in a new light.
As much as people refuse to admit, I have a deeper depth of Soca culture from Vincypowa, I have learn to accept that some of the smaller islands have some deep talent, that I never knew or understand before. So I have to give it to him, I realize that I really don't know alot. Who on here have help you see the light ? |
Culture First
Credits: 251
I've been following Soca/Calypso for 25+ years..I am 37 so that tell you. I must say that i personally know alot about the industry.. but I look forward to reading comments by Rummy,Vincy Powa,and i know Powa would remenber Stargate whom he battle with over and over in this forum...Bake n Skark also comes to mind he knows his culture also..I have the Ultimate respect for those members who represent the small islands in a big way on this site. They have also made me more knowledegable also..
Credits: 54
First let me say that I only got heavily into soca maybe 3 years ago, so I still have quite a lot to learn, which is why I frequent this board a lot these days...and I have learned something from pretty much everyone who has posted in soca chat...
But I always look forward to comments by UKSocaholic, Rummy, small_island_descent (always gives good and unbiased opinions) and of course Vincy Powa. I don't always agree with VP, but I have learned a lot about Soca from him and defenitly appreciate how he fully represents for soca from the smaller Islands (Tho he is very biased towards anything Vincy lol)....Because unfortunately, soca from the "small Islands" is often ignored...And despite the fact that many of these Islands have very talented and gifted artists who have contributed a lot to the genre, they are often overlooked and not given the attention and respect they deserve. |
Alpha Male
Credits: 10,033
How about me
.......i only knew like 2 soca artist in 2004....look how far a came in this sort time ![]()
Credits: 2,486
Rummy, Salty, Bake n Shark and of course Vincy Power who has enlightened me on the other islands. I never really listened to the other island music unless it was popular in Trinidad. But I have to admit Vincy Power is very informative. You just have to ignore him when he begins to get antagonistic and sarcastic, but he gives on-point information. I also find small_island_descent to be very informative and I agree as one person mentioned, unbiased. Soca Chat is one of my favorite forums as I learn quite a lot.
Credits: 17,058
Oh Yeah!?? Well I say Vincy Powa does be talking a lotta sh*t on this forum. Allyuh head easy tuh tief!? Ah have a bridge to sell allyuh!! Is either allyuh head easy to tief or allyuh bias against tnt like Mr. Powa. Either way tnt will always rule this thing!! How yuh like them apples!???
^
Your constant need for attention is really pathetic |
But of course, you had to turn this into TNT vs. Small Islands argument as usual which had nothing to do with anything and was totally off topic. I stated my opinion, u dont like it that's too bad for you. Instead of trying to learn about other Islands music like some people choose to do, u choose to only come on here and argue like a jackass about your usual banter about TNT being better than any other island, u love your country and its music, fine, i love my small island too and NOTHING u can ever say will change my mind...so I really am done talking to you now because it's pointless, you will never get it. |
Girl, i've nothing againsta small islands. And i can tell you tnt as a whole has got nothing against small islands. We've shown over the years how embracing we are of small island artists. Many a small islander have come to tnt and done great things with big tunes. Swallow, Short shirt, Beckett...the list is very very long. That is why it was an eye opener for me to come on here and see so much animosity toward tnt...lead by the Vincy man himself. So don't make me out to be some kinda enemy of small islands. I'm not! I just find that what Vincy Powa and others are accusing trinis of on here is pattently false. More over his campaign of trying to downgrade tnts leadership role in this carnival culture is abominable to me.
Sweeter Sauce
Credits: 907
It's not even like that, he's just biased against anything other than his own and everyone one here respects the fact that yes, he knows a lot, but he ain't really fackin bout with it if he can't rep it!
Credits: 140,587
![]() ![]() CRY ME A RIVER with those TALES of YOURS. It really BOTHERS you to see de POWA of de VINCY getting some PROPS eh?? And I can tell you that VINCY as whole has NOTHING against TnT. Now WHAT? Mannnn, stop your CRYING and let the THREAD STAY on COURSE. Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 09-03-2006 at 11:04 AM.. |
Right you are! Back on course for this thread. Besides is labor day weekend in New York and thus far everything has been a dismal washout...but not today. The sun is out and tings look nice. I going and check out the kiddies on parade.
Junior "ibo"joseph, Nicholas Branker , Adrian Bailey or oungku
Someone From St. Vincent Organize The First Carnival In America

.......i only knew like 2 soca artist in 2004....look how far a came in this sort time