Old 06-01-2009, 02:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Administrator

Credits: 7,907
Problem Child speaks to his fans

We had the chance to get an exclusive 2009 interview with soca artist Problem Child... the interview revealed some interesting tings... aint gonna suggest nothing... juss listen/watch what this talented artist has to say... check the video here:

Here is his bio:

Problem Child was born in Kingstown, St. Vincent and raised in Troumaca, a little village on the leeward side of the island. It was there that he was first introduced to music. The radio was always on in the house and his uncle (DJ Power) would also constantly play records. By age five, he knew the words to every popular song from various genres of music.

At age ten, he and his family moved back to Kingstown. Throughout his schooling, Problem Child was academically brilliant and an avid sports player, but he never lost his love for music. As a teenager he became interested in Hip Hop music and even considered becoming a rapper amidst heavy ridicule for being too Americanized.

Problem Child’s interest in soca music was peaked only after he migrated to the U.S.A. It was the lack of it that made him appreciate it. Hearing soca and calypso songs reminded him of his earlier years growing up in St. Vincent.

Problem Child was introduced to Vincentian producer Godfrey (Cherry) Ince, who helped him produce his first soca release (Revelers Anthem) also know as "Na Na Naaa Na". One year later he released "Virginia". It was not until 2005 with the release of the song "MAD", produced by Zowi (Great Zeee) Stapleton, that his music crossed further boundaries. He travelled to Toronto, Canada for the first time as an artiste with the success of the song.

In 2007 Problem Child reached worldwide acclaim with his hit “Party Animal” which gained him the Vincy Mas Road March title, allowed him to travel the world to perform and propelled him to the International Soca Monarch in Trinidad in 2008. He entered the Vincy Soca Monarch for the first time in 2008 with his song “For Life” and placed third.

Problem Child intends to enter the Vincy Soca Monarch in 2009 and aims to become and even bigger presence in the soca arena. He has an overall hope for success in all that he does.

Here are the links to his songs:

Old 06-01-2009, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 278,731
ok....nice interview......KL lucky .........talking bout image......he come off as a smart and talented fella......i doh care fuh d image
Old 06-01-2009, 11:53 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 19,828
ent he's the same one who talk about haters on islandmix....... ah wonder if he still feel that way?
Old 06-02-2009, 09:22 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,312
Thank you , I enjoyed .^^

so.. his talking voice sounds not like his singing voice . . sound cool.

and I am looking forward to seeing him in my country !

Thank you so much to you IslandMix for having this ... very good work !!!!!!!
Old 06-02-2009, 02:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Red Man

Credits: 2,660
Plenty Brooklyn in him and I hope he reaches far.

*plans to attend any show of his for Miami 2k10*
Old 06-02-2009, 03:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 59,718
That's not true. I made a thread and Powa wishing him all the best of luck .It sucks being a fan not even being recognized. I still love him and support him.
Old 06-02-2009, 03:49 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 19,828
Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
That's not true. I made a thread and Powa wishing him all the best of luck .It sucks being a fan not even being recognized. I still love him and support him.
whats not true?
Old 06-02-2009, 04:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
whatating

Credits: 2,463
knowwhatimsayin
Old 06-02-2009, 04:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 59,718
Originally Posted by Drake View Post
whats not true?
That no one supported him when he went Trini for the Soca monarch. I made a thread or Powa and we extended our support.
Old 06-02-2009, 05:12 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by tlapartna View Post
knowwhatimsayin
1 of my problems........but im an ole fart and maybe dais young people ting
Old 06-02-2009, 05:14 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
That no one supported him when he went Trini for the Soca monarch. I made a thread or Powa and we extended our support.
he wasnt talking bout allyuh imix clowns.......im sure he was pointing more so at support from the government and Vincies living in TnT who did not rally around him.......his story is the same for artists who dont get support from their local governments and the greater fan base
Old 06-02-2009, 09:33 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 5,269
Nice interview!!

www.myspace.com/jalenamusic
www.youtube.com/jalenamusic
www.twitter.com/jalenarocks
Old 06-08-2009, 03:15 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 912
good interview, sounds eloquent... and not at all as pictured
Old 07-08-2009, 01:57 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 283
Sux I cant see the interview...but i love your music pc...