Old 07-19-2007, 02:07 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,808
Problem Child The Philanthropist

No problem giving back

The Vincentian
2007/07/19

Shertz James, aka Problem Child, winner of the 2007 Road March, has no problem sharing his winnings.
According to ‘Problem Child’, “My main reason for singing was to entertain all of SVG. I am overwhelmed by the response ‘Party Animal’ has received and is still receiving. I wish to place on record that $500 of the prize money will be donated to the School for Children with Special Needs and $500 to the Salvation Army”.

Problem Child will collect $3,000 for his winning song, a song that has attracted its fair share of scrutiny and generated enough controversy to run into Vincy mas 2008.

The young bard though, stands firm on his contribution and singles out Fryktion, Cherry Ince, Skinny Fabulous, Icon, DJ20, Bomani, Taurus, Jamesie-P, Scratch Master, Lennox Bowman and all DJs and Radio Stations, for having made it possible for him to impact Vincy Mas.
Old 07-19-2007, 02:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
schupidy bill n sensible

Credits: 163
i wonder if it was because of the scrutiny he was under for that song mekin he give away that money or if it was genuine,hmm. Either way tho, he still gave a third of the lil money he received, to charity so good job Problem Child.
Old 07-19-2007, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
My Muzik, My Life

Credits: 524
Originally Posted by socatrain View Post
i wonder if it was because of the scrutiny he was under for that song mekin he give away that money or if it was genuine,hmm. Either way tho, he still gave a third of the lil money he received, to charity so good job Problem Child.
Dats how he is,....
F.
Old 07-19-2007, 03:54 PM   #4 (permalink)

And Now The Party Animal Controversy, Again.

Party Animal causing a stir in SVG

Junior Jarvis 20.JUL.07

A wall of controversy has risen up surrounding the crowning of Shertz ‘Problem Child’ James as the 2007 Road March king.

The winning song, “Party Animal”, carries a sample of a 1980’s ‘Zouk’ beat made popular by French group Kassav.

A number or persons in and out of the music industry have voiced their dissatisfaction that the song, mainly because of its “lack of originality”, could be recognized as the most popular song in the just concluded 30th anniversary of Vincy Mas.

Searchlight contacted producer Adrian Bailey, who worked on one of this country’s biggest hits to date: Kevin Lyttle’s “Turn Me On”, which also contains a sample, for his take on the issue.

According to Bailey, while he has no problem with the artiste and does not deny the song was indeed the most popular song of the carnival season, he believes that a level of originality in the Road March should be established, as this is the song which will be recognized the most on the international scene.

Bailey thinks that the international community will be more drawn to the beat, than the lyrical content. In essence, more attention will be directed to Kassav than Problem Child.

He said that he has no problem with sampling, as long as international standards are observed, and is concerned that there might be negative repercussions.

Bailey also fears that unless a rule is put place concerning sampling, local producers may become complacent and sway towards popular beats instead of originality.

Bailey hopes that lessons will be learnt, and that artistes and producers would strive for more creativity in their respective art forms.

Speaking to the man at the centre of the ‘controversy’ at his New York home, James is at a loss as to what the problem is.

“Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I respect that” he said. “But I didn’t enter the Road March competition, it was the people’s choice.”

He said that the response to the song has been overwhelming, and that the criticism - both positive and negative has been an eye opener for him, and thanked all who supported him in his accomplishment.

He said that international standards were followed in relation to sampling, and wonders if there would have been any talk if he had not won.

When it comes to originality, James said that critics should take a look at his rap sheet, which contains songs like “Galaritis”, “Friends with Benefits” and “Secret Agent”.

He said most people are afraid of change, and that all standards, whether local or international, must change.

The UPS delivery worker said that he has not heard any complaints as yet outside of St. Vincent, and he has been booked to perform in Montreal, Toronto, London, New York and Germany.

James, before heading back to New York, donated part of his carnival earnings to this country’s School for Children with Special Needs and the Salvation Army.

Chief Executive Officer of the Carnival Development Corporation Ashford Wood, commenting on the issue, said that a song being named the Road March does not necessarily make it the best song of the carnival, but rather the most requested song on the road for J’Ouvert, Monday jump up and Mardi Gras.

Wood stated that the rules concerning the Road March state that the song must be the most popular on the road, and the singer must be Vincentian.

He added that for any amendment to be made, the CDC must have consultation in a public forum.

Giving his personal opinion, Wood believes that too many rules around a people’s choice category would only complicate things.
Old 07-19-2007, 04:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,848
No that's just how he is.
Old 07-19-2007, 04:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

He's mad cool and down to earth. When were in the record sop and his song layed I said how does it feel to hear your voice everywhere you go, he start to blush and said "I got to go". We all laughed and when he won he was very humble. He's just a real cool dude.
Old 07-19-2007, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Junior Jarvis 20.JUL.07

A wall of controversy has risen up surrounding the crowning of Shertz ‘Problem Child’ James as the 2007 Road March king.

The winning song, “Party Animal”, carries a sample of a 1980’s ‘Zouk’ beat made popular by French group Kassav.

A number or persons in and out of the music industry have voiced their dissatisfaction that the song, mainly because of its “lack of originality”, could be recognized as the most popular song in the just concluded 30th anniversary of Vincy Mas.

Searchlight contacted producer Adrian Bailey, who worked on one of this country’s biggest hits to date: Kevin Lyttle’s “Turn Me On”, which also contains a sample, for his take on the issue.

According to Bailey, while he has no problem with the artiste and does not deny the song was indeed the most popular song of the carnival season, he believes that a level of originality in the Road March should be established, as this is the song which will be recognized the most on the international scene.

Bailey thinks that the international community will be more drawn to the beat, than the lyrical content. In essence, more attention will be directed to Kassav than Problem Child.

He said that he has no problem with sampling, as long as international standards are observed, and is concerned that there might be negative repercussions.

Bailey also fears that unless a rule is put place concerning sampling, local producers may become complacent and sway towards popular beats instead of originality.

Bailey hopes that lessons will be learnt, and that artistes and producers would strive for more creativity in their respective art forms.

Speaking to the man at the centre of the ‘controversy’ at his New York home, James is at a loss as to what the problem is.

“Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I respect that” he said. “But I didn’t enter the Road March competition, it was the people’s choice.”

He said that the response to the song has been overwhelming, and that the criticism - both positive and negative has been an eye opener for him, and thanked all who supported him in his accomplishment.

He said that international standards were followed in relation to sampling, and wonders if there would have been any talk if he had not won.

When it comes to originality, James said that critics should take a look at his rap sheet, which contains songs like “Galaritis”, “Friends with Benefits” and “Secret Agent”.

He said most people are afraid of change, and that all standards, whether local or international, must change.

The UPS delivery worker said that he has not heard any complaints as yet outside of St. Vincent, and he has been booked to perform in Montreal, Toronto, London, New York and Germany.

James, before heading back to New York, donated part of his carnival earnings to this country’s School for Children with Special Needs and the Salvation Army.

Chief Executive Officer of the Carnival Development Corporation Ashford Wood, commenting on the issue, said that a song being named the Road March does not necessarily make it the best song of the carnival, but rather the most requested song on the road for J’Ouvert, Monday jump up and Mardi Gras.

Wood stated that the rules concerning the Road March state that the song must be the most popular on the road, and the singer must be Vincentian.

He added that for any amendment to be made, the CDC must have consultation in a public forum.

Giving his personal opinion, Wood believes that too many rules around a people’s choice category would only complicate things.
Why they had to put the man business out there like that . They got good benefits that I wont lie lol. But I wont lie that song was the most requested and had the most energy. Ou Ou Ou
Old 07-19-2007, 07:31 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 9,883

Junior Jarvis 20.JUL.07

wow, you'd be having a hissy fit if this was trinidad.
Old 07-19-2007, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 35,071
No problem giving back

The Vincentian
2007/07/19

Shertz James, aka Problem Child, winner of the 2007 Road March, has no problem sharing his winnings.
According to ‘Problem Child’, “My main reason for singing was to entertain all of SVG. I am overwhelmed by the response ‘Party Animal’ has received and is still receiving. I wish to place on record that $500 of the prize money will be donated to the School for Children with Special Needs and $500 to the Salvation Army”.

Problem Child will collect $3,000 for his winning song, a song that has attracted its fair share of scrutiny and generated enough controversy to run into Vincy mas 2008.

The young bard though, stands firm on his contribution and singles out Fryktion, Cherry Ince, Skinny Fabulous, Icon, DJ20, Bomani, Taurus, Jamesie-P, Scratch Master, Lennox Bowman and all DJs and Radio Stations, for having made it possible for him to impact Vincy Mas.

awww, bajanfuhlife sheds tear. that is so tweet of him. ask him bout my share
Old 07-20-2007, 02:02 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 698
No problem giving back

The Vincentian
2007/07/19

What??? No special mention for SVG's self-appointed number one Imix promoter??

...good gesture by Problem Child though

...man what a shitty given name, lol
Old 07-20-2007, 02:09 AM   #11 (permalink)

Shocker #1

I guess the great Vincypowa don't know what the ass he talking about, since he was ADAMANT that Kevin Lyttle's song did not sample 112. Here the very man who was in on the production sets the record straight. Interesting.

Shocker #2

Wow. I believe the very same sentiment was expressed in that other thread (as if it wasn't clear to the average blind, deaf and dumb person that it's the beat driving this song) and Everybody's Favorite Know-Nothing, VP was adamant that is de lyrics man...captures de essence of Vincy Carnival...blah blah blah.

Shocker #3

I can appreciate a man working hard and trying to do his soca thing on de side, it speaks to a certain humility. Big up Problem Child

Song still shitty doh.

Last edited by Bake n Shark; 07-20-2007 at 02:13 AM..
Old 07-20-2007, 07:50 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Shocker #1

I guess the great Vincypowa don't know what the ass he talking about, since he was ADAMANT that Kevin Lyttle's song did not sample 112. Here the very man who was in on the production sets the record straight. Interesting.
You WISH the GREAT VINCYPOWA doesn't KNOW what he is TALKING about.

Why don't you tell me what the SAMPLE is in the SONG, since you believe that is the CASE?

By the way, who is the person that mentioned SAMPLE in the ARTICLE, ADRIAN BAILEY or the WRITER?

Nevertheless, I LQQK forward for you to POINT out the SAMPLE in TMO.

Shocker #2

Wow. I believe the very same sentiment was expressed in that other thread (as if it wasn't clear to the average blind, deaf and dumb person that it's the beat driving this song) and Everybody's Favorite Know-Nothing, VP was adamant that is de lyrics man...captures de essence of Vincy Carnival...blah blah blah.

Where is the SHOCKER?

I doh even see ADRIAN BAILEY [he would be the only CREDIBLE person in that ARTICLE] QUOTED in that ARTICLE. All I saw is the WRITER'S INTERPRETATION of what Adrian BAILEY said to him.

Thus, Adrian Bailey NEVER EVER said that the song would lead to more attention for KASSAV than Problem Child. That was the WRITER'S own PERSONAL feeling.

I have no need to go into this, because it is so OBVIOUS, even a DONKEY can SEE this.

Nevertheles, if it is going to bring ATTENTION to the KASSAV song, what does that say?

It says that PARTY ANIMAL by PROBLEM CHILD is a BIG CHUNE.

In other words, PROBLEM CHILD has a HUGE HIT on his HANDS.

And from the LQQKS of him being already BOOKED to perform in Montreal, Toronto, London, New York and Germany, I will have to CONCLUDE that is DEFINITELY the CASE.

So BIG UP to PROBLEM CHILD and PARTY ANIMAL. TINGS NICE....OOOOU OOOOU.

Shocker #3

I can appreciate a man working hard and trying to do his soca thing on de side, it speaks to a certain humility. Big up Problem Child

Why is this a SHOCKER that he has a REAL JOB?

You thought he was UNEMPLOYED?

Song still shitty doh.
The SONG BIG.....BIG CHUNE....OOOOU OOOU
It seems like the SHOCKERS are a FIGMENT of your IMAGINATION.

Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhh

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 07-20-2007 at 08:03 AM..
Old 07-20-2007, 11:09 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 120

Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhh
LIKE I SAID IN A PREVIOUS POST TODAY, I STRONGLY BELIEVE THIS GUY WAS ABUSED AS A CHILD WHILE SOME VINCY MUSIC WAS BLASTING IN D BACKGROUND, ANYTIME THERE'S A VINCY POST HE COMES IN WITH ONE LOAD AH PAIN AND ANGUISH AND TRIES TO TAKE IT OUT ON IMIXERS, AS MUCH AS I TRY TO REPECT YOUR OPINIONS IN THIS THREAD AND WHAT NOT IT'S MOST OBVIOUS YOU'RE HERE LOOKING FOR FEW LAUGHS FROM OTHER ASSES LIKE YASELF *cough* BAUER *cough*, THE OTHER KIDS DIDN'T PLAY WITH YOU WHEN YOU WERE YOUNGER HUH?? CURE THAT MJ SYNDROME SOON B4 U END UP WITH YOUNG KIDS IN YOUR BED AND REPEATING THE PROCESS YOUR FATHER INSTILLED IN YOU BUT THIS IS WHAT YOU DO, CALL UP YOUR BULLER-DADDY, ARRANGE A MEETING AND ASK HIM WHY THINGS NEVER WENT RIGHT AT HOME. YOU GOT YOUR ASS BAKED AND EATEN LIKE A SHARK??? YOU'RE OFFICIALLY THE C.UNT AH D YEAR AH TELL YA

see post below, lol

Last edited by Uzac Hunt; 07-20-2007 at 11:56 AM..
Old 07-20-2007, 11:52 AM   #14 (permalink)

Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhh
You right...the Vincentian writer that YOU saw fit to quote is ah liar...damn liad Vincentians.
Old 07-20-2007, 12:00 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Uzac Hunt View Post
LIKE I SAID IN A PREVIOUS POST TODAY, I STRONGLY BELIEVE THIS GUY WAS ABUSED AS A CHILD WHILE SOME VINCY MUSIC WAS BLASTING IN D BACKGROUND,

I was sexually abused by yuh Vincentian mother.

ANYTIME THERE'S A VINCY POST HE COMES IN WITH ONE LOAD AH PAIN AND ANGUISH

You notice all that in your ONE week on imix eh?

YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YAWN YOU GOT YOUR ASS BAKED AND EATEN LIKE A SHARK??? YOU'RE OFFICIALLY THE C.UNT AH D YEAR AH TELL YA
Is this supposed to be your way of injecting yuh own faggot fantasies onto the board? Who the fuck would think to 'insult' some next man by telling him he got his "ass eaten"...that's just some nasty shit that only reveals they type of homo thoughts running thru you mind. No wonder your name is Uzac Hunt...dat's probably what yuh father was telling yuh when he was molesting yuh while yuh mother was over at my house sucking me off.