Credits: 826
Plea to all DJ's
To All DJ's,
With all the fantastic music coming out from Trinidad this year I plead with all the DJ’s to play the music of 2009 during Trinidad Carnival in the fetes and on the road. I was very pleased with the releases in 08 only to hear music of yesteryears in the fetes and what was use to be a cardinal sin…on the road on Monday and Tuesday. Going back a couple of years ago this never happened…at most you heard 20 seconds of a song from the prior year that ruled…not the entire song and then another yesteryear and another. I found myself, my crew or for that matter patrons and masqueraders, at times standing around trying to get into it. There is something horribly wrong when I have to try and enjoy Trini Carnival. Please make this a year where I am hypnotized by the music that was born in 09! |
Female Imixer!!!
Credits: 35,110
Excellent thought.
I would like to see somebody take out full page ads all over the place and make this a campaign. I was pissed off last year to watch live feed and in POS bands playing older soca and for labor day Carnival in New York. Yeah I like the songs but come on man. I fine it had enough tunes each year where a good dj could give the people a good time and not only play Trinidad soca for the current year why not include other island soca. But dais just me. Some people don't want to do this soca thing proper. Sweet soca does not only exist in Trinidad. Sweet soca does not only exist in years past.
Got Kompa?
Credits: 15,635
This is news to me because i have never heard about that. Whats the point? Its like they a year behind. I hope they get it together.
I would really like to get feedback/opininons from DJ's that frequent this site.
All the Socaheads who are, and will be in TNT are counting on you to play the amazing music that was realeased this year. |
yuh zeet, yuh zeet
Credits: 69,117
u cant expect 2 hear all 2009 music, deres not enuff gud music out for "de road" dis year
SOCA OR DIE
Credits: 15,818
i have this same sentiment when I walk out on the Eastern Parkway and hear 06 tunes on Labor Day
quit living in past, turn off Hot97- and get up to the time with the 09 09 tunes or die for Port of Spain this year, or else prepare for the crowd to rush the stage or the truck |
READY FOR SPICEMAS 2kWINE
Credits: 9,954
i agree that they should play NEW SONGS FROM ALL WE ARTISTS but sometimes i doh mind if they buss a classic like sugar bum bum!
Credits: 8,992
Ok wait, let me understand this...for the whole 2 days in Trinidad and all the fetes you only want to hear '09 music?? You know that means they will be playing the same 40 songs over & over & over & OVER...because djs will only play the hits. And if they do, you will be complaining because djs will be playing '09 that is not hits or no one knows.
Sorry, but I myself enjoy listening to a blend of years. This year I want to relive Congoman, Jumbie even Band of the year on the road...and let's not even talk about some classics like Oil in the Coil. I hear what you saying, but reality is if djs only played '09 music the road will be very stagnant because alot of songs will be REPEATED TO NO end and by Ash Wednesday I am fed up!! |
rum rum and more rum
Credits: 29,582
i thought over 400 songs been release so far in trinidad for 2009...so how the DJs can run out of fresh music?
And sorry, what bands are you in that you only hearing old songs ![]() |
rum rum and more rum
Credits: 29,582
now i know it have plenty artist in trinidad came out with extremely good songs but not getting the airplay on the radio stations.... some DJs might not want play the artist song because of personal reasons....so they shut that artist down.. you think its fair what the DJs are doing?
![]() Ah Can't Wait! |
yuh zeet, yuh zeet
Credits: 69,117
for yor info, i'm half trini, das de problem wit ya'll wdf is u so segregated
But on the road & in fetes. I want a mixture...especially in a fete. I love when the djs plays during the band sets and ideally a dj should play '09 songs that the band just didn't spend 45mins to 1 hour performing. But we are not that lucky. A band will come off the stage and the dj will pay back all the bands 2009 music...like I JUST HEARD THAT. For example, if Shurwayne just came off teh stage and MASH UP...me as a dj will probably come on and play "Dead or Alive" from 2005 or even some 'Carnival Survivors' by Machel & Wyclef. ![]() In a perfect world, the djs will ALL play different music and you will get to enjoy what 2009 really have to offer. But in our reality on the road and in fetes, djs WILL play the same TOP 40 songs over and over. ![]() |