Credits: 37
Philadelphia Area IMIXers
Link up.
http://www.myspace.com/professorsound We need more Soca in this city. Trips to Ibyss in West Philly are OK and they play a little soca on WKDU and at Lancaster Hall and at Reef Caribbean Lounge courtesy or DJ Ras- but Soca needs to take Philly by storm in a big way in 2007. It's more of a JA diaspora here, but at the same time soca music has potential to grow. Anyone from the Philly area? Get at me! -el_p |
Credits: 2,413
![]() They need to stop play this damn song. Twiggy - Up Under Me Vibes been dead here since Jesus was a child. I don't even venture out. We have a large W.I. community but we doh come outside we house and we spread out. Cyah tell you when lass I come to sumting West Indian here. I will drive up Brooklyn or down DC, head to Orlando, Houston and Miami before I party here. |
WKDU...
![]() Hear nah, dem does play all dancehall & reggae whole day and when de little chinky portion of soca come on, deh talking one setta long talk thru de whole ting. If deh ain doin it, it's announcement n news. I havent listened to that station since 01. Deoddaday I say lemme check dem out and it was de same shit. I give up on dem from long time. |
I go up to NYC once or twice a month, and to Toronto once every 3 months- and I might be moving up to NYC for work soon- but I think Philly has the potential to having a good soca scene if it's supported by different massives.
Credits: 3,001
I went there about for a Birthday party at Club Upscale, trust me, the area was a Ghetto with lowlifes ! |
![]() I tell yuh the black people here are so ignorant to cultures outside of their own, that it makes it so much harder for us as West Indians to get any recognition. I live about 15 mins. away from Philly itself and de only time I go into the city is to go to school. There is nothing to do in this rhatid place, which is why I always home or at work. This city backwards no ass and have no chance of anything breaking off big here. If anyone is serious about a change tho I'm always down to help...Key word is SERIOUS. |
The city itself is just a lost cause; nothing spectacular which reflects on why we soca scene is crap. |
Daddy Cease in deh area
Credits: 2,636
it used to had a club name either Prestige or pegasus, it used to be real jumpin in deh, and they used to jam some good soca, but I believe they been close down a while now
I think there's potential to take it out of West Philly for more exposure beyond it's current scene.
Reef and River Deck might play some Soca but it's mainly dancehall. I'm thinking about putting together a night downtown this summer if I'm still living in Philly- where it gets more exposure, etc. |
Credits: 1,046
Yuh need ta bring more trini to Philli fer dat to happen!!! This city is mostly consisting of the ignorant black yankess that look down upon the west indian/african folks like a big piece of shit when dey demselves are the benefactors of the crime, poverty, abandoned homes, vandalism, and backwardsness of dis city. Even the muslims (long beards) are besically the same since they're nothing but converted yankees.
Da point I'm trying to make is that we can't expect Philly to help us unless we're willing to help ourselves. That means supporting our businesses, our culture, our children, and our future in dis city. The only way we can do that is by bringing more Trinis to dis city rather than going to rich ass New York Shitty and paying $1000-1500 on rent alone when you can pay at least $800 on a house!!! As for West Philly, you don't want to live there because it is so damn ghetto, and while Overbrook/Wynnefield is nice, I'd rather be living in Northeast Philly/Olney/Logan/Oak Lane/Frankford/Lawndale, and even Germantown and Mount Airy. Or at least give South Philly a chance (the Philly Italians are way more down to earth than the NY ones,believe it!!!) Fack West Philly!!! It's dirty and it's a fackin' ghetto!!! Nothin but ignorant black people living there as it's basically the least diverse place IMO in dis city. Trust me!!! Last edited by wanderer34; 02-16-2007 at 05:54 PM.. |
spanishting
Credits: 125
Credits: 6,727
spanishting
Credits: 125
know a trini promoter who look to bring him too hopefully it comes true plus they also trying to have something going in the olney area on saturdays and tonight homestars promotions have their official carnival friday soca fete in ibis
Completely agree with the ignorant black comment. West Philly dirty and North Philly is death. Like someone said, we need to move de vibes from out of West Philly. |