Old 02-15-2007, 08:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Credits: 3,615
Peter Ram Speaks

Ram: It wasn't a war
Published on: 2/15/07.

by CAROL-ANN TUDOR

THERE WAS NO SOCA "WAR" between Barbados and Trinidad last Friday – only love!

This was the response from Barbadian artiste Peter Ram to an article on last weekend's Battle Of The Sexes show there, which appeared in the Trinidad Express and in Tuesday's edition of the NATION.

The article stated that Barbadian performers Alison Hinds, Biggie Irie and Ram had been steamrolled by Trinidad's soca guns like Destra Garcia, Denise Belfon, Sanelle Dempster and others, in "the most one-sided battle since the United States invaded Iraq".

Ram told the DAILY NATION via telephone from Trinidad on Tuesday, that he had videotapes which could show how he and Biggie Irie "had the place locked down".

The entertainer, who said he never entered any competition, added his song (I Need A Woman By My Side) was automatically chosen because "it is so large in Trinidad", and whenever he appeared on stage, he "felt like Peabo Bryson walking on the red carpet to collect an award".

Stressing that it was only Biggie Irie, Alison Hinds and himself there to perform along with nearly 40 Trinidadian artistes, Ram said it was impossible to call that a competition.

"I didn't come to Trinidad for a competition. Producer of the International Soca Monarch William Munro called a meeting while I was in Barbados (Biggie was in the competition), and it was said that since my song was so big in Trinidad, I would automatically be entered.

"I went there and sang as normal, but after a meeting with the sponsors, they told Munro that I would have to change the last verse.

"I said No! These things in my last verse are in the Bible. I will not change my song just to please the sponsors.

"I believe man should not lie with man, so if they want to fight me down and kill me over it, then so be it. I will not change that verse!" Ram declared.

Noting there were numerous sessions where he and Biggie Irie had performed, Ram said: "People went wild, fighting and pushing for CDs . . ..

"I went on the Promenade and the schoolgirls rushed me for autographs.

"I have all these things on video, so I don't know why the Press is trying to be negative."

Saying he would be extremely glad when the real Bajan Press arrived to cover the festival activities, he stressed: "There is only love down here, no competition."

SOURCE
Old 02-15-2007, 08:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Pork Mout

I dont get why he needs to change the last verse for competition......someone who is familiar with the rules please explain
Old 02-15-2007, 09:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Dj Choice-One

Credits: 142
Originally Posted by Sugar Apple View Post
I dont get why he needs to change the last verse for competition......someone who is familiar with the rules please explain
it had nothing to do with the rules of the competition the problem is that the gay and lesbian community in Trinidad are very upset with the last verse, they feel the last verse is gay bashing.

the verse says some thing to effect of "it is written in laviticus that man should not lay with man it is an abomination" This one little line is where the problem lies. dem gay people have nothing better to do eh.
Old 02-15-2007, 09:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Originally Posted by Dj Choice-One View Post
it had nothing to do with the rules of the competition the prom was that the gay and lesbian community in Trinidad are very upset with the last verse and they are saying the last verse is gay bashing.

the verse says some thing to effect of "it is written in laviticus that man should not lay with man it is an abomination" This one little line is where the problem lies. dem gay people have nothing better to do eh.

ok I knew about the gay community complaining but why should that affect the competition...... as far as i see it if it wasnt a specific rule that was broken he should not have been asked to change it.....
Old 02-15-2007, 10:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Pork Mout

So wait nobody pon hey doan know de groovy soca rules

wid all de soca gurus pon hey i find dat hard to believe
Old 02-15-2007, 10:40 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 7,285
Originally Posted by Dj Choice-One View Post
it had nothing to do with the rules of the competition the problem is that the gay and lesbian community in Trinidad are very upset with the last verse, they feel the last verse is gay bashing.

like they heard of freedom of speech? damn. just because u disagree with something doesn't mean ur bashing it.
Old 02-15-2007, 01:18 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 700
Had nothing to do with rules...

"I went there and sang as normal, but after a meeting with the sponsors, they told Munro that I would have to change the last verse.
Old 02-15-2007, 03:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Dj Choice-One

Credits: 142
ok I knew about the gay community complaining but why should that affect the competition...... as far as i see it if it wasnt a specific rule that was broken he should not have been asked to change it.....

you know dem batty riders does have plenty money and plenty time to stick deh hand where it ain supposed to be.