Old 08-06-2005, 03:00 PM   #1 (permalink)

Paying Entertainers

So, I asked ah friend how much does Machel & Xtatik command for when their requested to do a show.

He said, $15,000 USD

I was a bit surprised at the amount, but then again...if Beenie Man and Buju Banton and those guys can command $30,000 USD and their just ONE PERSON why not pay Machel deh scrummy $15,000 which he has to divvy up amongst his band.

He should be asking for more...but I guess all in due time.

Do you think entertainers ask for too much money to do shows?
Old 08-06-2005, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 758
So, I asked ah friend how much does Machel & Xtatik command for when their requested to do a show.

He said, $15,000 USD

I was a bit surprised at the amount, but then again...if Beenie Man and Buju Banton and those guys can command $30,000 USD and their just ONE PERSON why not pay Machel deh scrummy $15,000 which he has to divvy up amongst his band.

He's getting robbed big time! I thought he was pulling way more than 15K for his performances....
Old 08-06-2005, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socadiva05
He's getting robbed big time! I thought he was pulling way more than 15K for his performances....

tell dem again, the way that band entertains, stuuupse they should be pulling in some bigger bucks than that.

but then the promoters going say that people not going to be willing to pay the raised ticket prices and blah blah blah
Old 08-06-2005, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 123
hmmmm. maybe that is in canada.

i have a friend who contracted machel and his band years ago and they were asking for $10,000 in the early nineties. i am quite sure he gets way more money than that in 2005.
Old 08-06-2005, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)

whatever....people pay....I guess because soca isn't as worldwide as other artists for now...but deh day will come when he's able to command those large figures...

How much yuh think deh stones and them does ask for? it's ridiculous...but hey...their fans doh mind shellin out $500.00 for tickets....*imagine yuh take ah date...shyt that's rent *
Old 08-06-2005, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by potatoepie
hmmmm. maybe that is in canada.

i have a friend who contracted machel and his band years ago and they were asking for $10,000 in the early nineties. i am quite sure he gets way more money than that in 2005.

I hope so..but I know this time it was that amount
Old 08-06-2005, 03:19 PM   #7 (permalink)

whatever....people pay....I guess because soca isn't as worldwide as other artists for now...but deh day will come when he's able to command those large figures...

How much yuh think deh stones and them does ask for? it's ridiculous...but hey...their fans doh mind shellin out $500.00 for tickets....*imagine yuh take ah date...shyt that's rent *

girl is a frenzy over here for last minute madonna, MJ and janet tickets, all kinda 000 them fans paying. not me eh that's plenty clothes and holiday. i go buy the DVD
Old 08-06-2005, 10:48 PM   #8 (permalink)

Lawd woman yuh still online ? But, I could just imagine deh mayhem that does happen.....there was some concert happenin here...tickets were goin on sale at 10:00 a.m. this guy at work said, he called at 10:02 a.m. and tickets were sold out
Old 08-06-2005, 11:40 PM   #9 (permalink)

Lawd woman yuh still online ? But, I could just imagine deh mayhem that does happen.....there was some concert happenin here...tickets were goin on sale at 10:00 a.m. this guy at work said, he called at 10:02 a.m. and tickets were sold out

i going just now, cause i bored.

but what get's me is the people that line up fuh days sleeping on ground and ting. and the thing with the pop concerts here is that the old assed mothers does let them gyal pickney sleep on road to be in line fuh tickets, and does be bringing them hot cocoa and ting in winter. what de ras
Old 08-07-2005, 01:44 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 21,863
Oh God! Wha wrong wid allyuh---
--posting Machel $$$ business up on Island Mix----

-----Dem Kidnap Boyz Have computer an access to de Internet too yuh know.
Old 08-07-2005, 11:05 AM   #11 (permalink)

ooh please ...let it be known
Old 08-07-2005, 11:46 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 21,863
Buh wha de france is dis I seeing here.

Allyuh counting de man money like allyuh plotting something.
Old 08-07-2005, 09:56 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 6,568
I does pay any amount to see meh artists. But as more and more of them seem to be heading down this path of singing other cultures music I am moving farther away from going to see them and sticking more to carnivals.
Keep it as ours and Ill pay any amount to see them. Become cheap imitations and Fack allyuh.
Old 08-07-2005, 11:25 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by marabunta
Buh wha de france is dis I seeing here.

Allyuh counting de man money like allyuh plotting something.

Of course not....I'm just shocked that, that's all he's getting....
Old 08-07-2005, 11:27 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 24,388

He said, $15,000 USD

u cannot compare buju to machel.. buju can go anywhere and be recognized.. trust me machel does not get so much love on the west coast (cali),

You Rated this Thread: