Old 02-07-2006, 01:01 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,888
Party Monarch (Bim)...

So I hear there may be some proposed changes to include a restructuring in the points system(finals) & how the semi-finalists are chosen (which include how much airplay/callers requests on the radio). Any thoughts?
Old 02-07-2006, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 251
That would help cause de what happened last year was terrible..
Old 02-07-2006, 01:40 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 557
Worst East Coast turnout ever.

So many good party songs last year and few made it to East Coast, was sad. Omar from Electrik, consistant fella but he like he aint got nuh luck. That's just one tho...cyan call all.

That airplay thing may or may not be a good idea cuz nuff crap does get play when it really shouldnt.It's a good idea tho cuz that judging criteria was silly.
Old 02-07-2006, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Credits: 3,612
Originally Posted by Rummy
So I hear there may be some proposed changes to include a restructuring in the points system(finals) & how the semi-finalists are chosen (which include how much airplay/callers requests on the radio). Any thoughts?

I agree that last year was horrible.....but was it a result of the criteria....or is it the judges....cause the same criteria was used before (when Lil Rick, Rupee, Alison, Edwin etc use to compete together) and we nevah had this problem.

I think the way we choose judges need to change......u see alot of these guys have the perception that this new time soca is junk and one line phrases so they will always leave out certain guys......there was no reason why Captain Sawyer didnt get in last year it was one of the most popular songs.....plus as a big gurl I liked it......

Anyway the idea of PARTY Monarch is just that...the guy who can rev up the party and perfrom the best ......reason why Edwin win many times...

so I dont think u can use people votes for any large percent cause ( people monarch should be seperate)
Old 02-07-2006, 03:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 251
Originally Posted by Sugar Apple
I agree that last year was horrible.....but was it a result of the criteria....or is it the judges....cause the same criteria was used before (when Lil Rick, Rupee, Alison, Edwin etc use to compete together) and we nevah had this problem.

I think the way we choose judges need to change......u see alot of these guys have the perception that this new time soca is junk and one line phrases so they will always leave out certain guys......there was no reason why Captain Sawyer didnt get in last year it was one of the most popular songs.....plus as a big gurl I liked it......

Anyway the idea of PARTY Monarch is just that...the guy who can rev up the party and perfrom the best ......reason why Edwin win many times...

so I dont think u can use people votes for any large percent cause ( people monarch should be seperate)

Well said mah dear well said.
Old 02-07-2006, 03:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Originally Posted by BajanSheriff
Well said mah dear well said.

Tanx....I try

but I was real vex last year fah trute
Old 02-07-2006, 04:49 PM   #7 (permalink)

Well if the changes proposed go into effect...expect to hear the music earlier this year.
Old 02-07-2006, 04:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
...of the Bashment Menz

Credits: 128
Yea i aint even bother to go east coast last year. I mean it's a party monarch for crying out loud! supposed to be party tunes!! party tunes are hardly the best lyrically or anything like that...just send up the guys who the people supporting and who getting the most forward in the fetes (i guess airplay but we all know how that will go...)
Old 02-07-2006, 10:15 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 685
Anything based on Airplay and dem gine prolly bring mroe talk fo the eqivalent of soca mafia in Bim. Already alotta good tuens dont get airplay, and as for the judges, them like dem does be sleepin fuh some perfomances in de tents.
Nothing i swrong with the current structure other than the fact that obviously the judges put there to pick semifinalists obviously were lookin for something else, and found it......tho no one could see understand what they were saying.

Peter Ram
Mayjor Shakie
Omar from Electrick
Contone

vs
Hawk, de old man dat is Gryner cousin or something, cant even remember wha he name.

The thing about it is when you dilute a competiion so, ya killin de music, how many of those tunes you coudl really remember a month after de festival.
Old 02-07-2006, 10:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
ah like chupidness

Credits: 13,814
Party monarch is the equivalent to soca monarch for cropover?
Old 02-07-2006, 10:21 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by limintrinibwoy20
Party monarch is the equivalent to soca monarch for cropover?
yea
Old 02-07-2006, 10:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
ah like chupidness

Credits: 13,814
Originally Posted by Rummy
yea

Thanks
Old 02-07-2006, 10:53 PM   #13 (permalink)

wait, Smokey Burke aint competing nuh more right?
Old 02-08-2006, 10:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Originally Posted by kewwie
wait, Smokey Burke aint competing nuh more right?

apparently ...he egt booo at some concert so he say he aint performing to ungrateful Bajans no more.......

we will have to see if he stick to his words
Old 02-08-2006, 10:48 AM   #15 (permalink)

i just making sure. Cuz he does get and sing a roll.

Gotta see if the sticks to it cuz people does say so and still come back...talking bout love for the artform. ramases