Like Tree8Likes

Old 02-19-2012, 03:09 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 69,573
Thumbs up Panorama Results {Trinidad} 2012

Large band winners {1 million prize money}:

1st - ALL STARS 279
2nd - PHASE II 274
3rd - SILVER STARS 271

Medium Band Winners {600,000 prize money}:

1st - KATZENJAMMERS 288 points
2nd - NLCB BUCCONEERS
3rd - COURTS SOUNDS SPECIALIST

MOST FAVOURED TRACK WAS "VIBES" BY DESTRA GARCIA AND SECONDLY WAS "ALL OVER" BY FAY ANN LYONS & BARON.

Digga D - Unity Krew (UK)

www.twitter.com/diggasoca
www.largeradio.com/ every sundays 4pm to 6pm US (8-11pm UK)
http://calaloo.podOmatic.com
www.ustream.tv/channel/diggasoca
www.myspace.com/diggasoca

Old 02-19-2012, 05:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Unique woman

Credits: 131,982
Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
Large band winners {1 million prize money}:

1st - ALL STARS 279
2nd - PHASE II 274
3rd - SILVER STARS 271

Medium Band Winners {600,000 prize money}:

1st - KATZENJAMMERS 288 points
2nd - NLCB BUCCONEERS
3rd - COURTS SOUNDS SPECIALIST

MOST FAVOURED TRACK WAS "VIBES" BY DESTRA GARCIA AND SECONDLY WAS "ALL OVER" BY FAY ANN LYONS & BARON.

Thanks... Calling my dad to tell him.

When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou)

Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.

Old 02-19-2012, 08:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mr. BALTIMORE

Credits: 38,659
Is there a link to the winning performance?

Think For Yourself

Old 02-19-2012, 10:17 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 149,909
Cya argue with those three choices at all. All Stars is my all time favourite band but i thought Phase ll was the better last night. Silver stars also deserved to be up there as well but Renegades killed it last night too. The overall winner was pan because the standard of music was just so high.

Once again Tobago rules in the medium category.
Old 02-19-2012, 10:56 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Cya argue with those three choices at all. All Stars is my all time favourite band but i thought Phase ll was the better last night. Silver stars also deserved to be up there as well but Renegades killed it last night too. The overall winner was pan because the standard of music was just so high.

yeah agree RENAGADES WENT IN!!!

Old 02-19-2012, 11:04 AM   #6 (permalink)

Thumbs up Highlights from last night

Large band 1st place

Large band 2nd place

Large band 3rd place

socapineman and TriniTrini like this.

9th Annual ATLANTA JOUVERT

THE ATRIUM
Friday,May 24th

Atlanta Caribbean Unity Festival

Wade Walker Park
Old 02-19-2012, 11:43 AM   #7 (permalink)

Thanks Digga! I just listened to all three bands again and although i loved the two other performances and All Stars is my favourite band I would have still given it to Phase ll.

Maybe its because i'm more familiar with the song...maybe its because of the pace of the song....maybe its because the song was written for the recently departed icon that is Pat Bishop....but there are parts of that arrangement that reaches deeper into me than the others.

Last night I said it and I still maintain that Phase ll was just glorious in their performance.
Socapro likes this.
Old 02-19-2012, 11:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
ah like chupidness

Credits: 350,527
Renegades and Invaders Performances should be placed in here for analytical purposes.....

Renegades.....4th place.....

Invaders....7th....(dey get rob)

TriniTrini likes this.

Last edited by limintrinibwoy; 02-19-2012 at 12:19 PM..
Old 02-19-2012, 02:58 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 5,240
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post

I agree. Renegades arrangement was on point but their overall sound was not as bright as All Stars or Phase II. The tenor pans sounded weak throughout their performance. I attribute this more so to the positioning of the tenor pans than the actual pan quality although the quality may have played a small role in their overall sound.
Old 02-19-2012, 03:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 68,838
Originally Posted by badfowl View Post
I agree. Renegades arrangement was on point but their overall sound was not as bright as All Stars or Phase II. The tenor pans sounded weak throughout their performance. I attribute this more so to the positioning of the tenor pans than the actual pan quality although the quality may have played a small role in their overall sound.
Yeah!! How you arrange your pans on stage on the night can make a big difference with how clear all sections of the band come across to the judges and audience!!

Catch me as Soca PhD Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (91.6FM);
Every Tueday 6-8pm & Friday 8-10pm GMT
On www.HavitLive.co.uk (99.1FM);
www.facebook.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Last edited by Socapro; 02-19-2012 at 04:25 PM..
Old 02-20-2012, 12:27 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 32,843
Congrats to Trinidad All Stars, this was more of a heady than a bouncey arrangement, well executed with those intricate scale runs, multi-scale runs and repetitive runs, notes sounded clearer than from other bands.

I was disappointed that this band, Siparia Deltones, placed last. I think I should consider myself somewhat of a fan of Carlton Alexander's music. His arrangements kinda like Bradley with a little splash of Ray Holman. I like how he brings out and highlights those middle pans strumming and chords, which imo is a true essence of steelband especially when playing calypso and soca music.

Another master piece they did last year, Trini

This is another band Alexander arranged for that won mediaum category.
Old 02-20-2012, 12:47 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 32,843
I was disappointed this band didn't make the finals this year, this was one of the bands that impressed me this year, Liam Teague brilliant piece of work

After this panorama, after some fresh phrasing or using old phrasings in a fresh way I think pan might do more for soca music in the long run than the other way around...it will do more for soca than "island pop" can ever do at this stage.

Last edited by BFFan; 02-20-2012 at 08:46 AM.. Reason: wrong video
Old 02-20-2012, 01:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 97,901

Wow, very nice.....Big up Trinidad All Stars.
Old 02-20-2012, 11:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
ah like chupidness

Credits: 350,527
All Stars to me run thru the whole song...it was very clean....very together....but it was over too much....that run after run after run pon top run.....didn't raise my pores at all....i dont think they deserved that win....on the other hand....they hadda be playin politics with this performance...because how deltones angel harps and even harmonites make it and despers eh make it with this is beyond me.......this coulda take panorama .......

Socapro likes this.
Old 02-20-2012, 12:45 PM   #15 (permalink)

what impresses me about All Stars is not the runs that the tenors make...which are fine...but the runs that the seconds and the guitar pans make. Playing guitar pan is not just laying back and strumming in this band. You have to move your hands just as much as the tenors. The conversations between the pans which each type having its own complexity is what makes All Stars my favourite band.

But again...i would have given it to Phase ll. Their rendition was less bouncy...slower....more solemn...and given the occassion and the subject of the tune itself, the arrangement was just perfect by bradly. When the arrangement gets to "glory halleluja", by that time i'm feeling the music reaching much deeper. I found the performance emotional for me.