Old 09-30-2005, 04:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
DJ HOLLYWOOD

Credits: 611
Oungku, Onika nominated for Soca Awards

Friday September 30 2005

Former bandleader of the Burning Flames, Clarence “Unghku” Edwards and the late lead singer of the band, Onika Bostic, have been nominated for awards at the 3rd annual Soca Awards being held in Trinidad this weekend.

Edwards, who has since resigned from the band to launch on new endeavours, specifically a new band, Red Hott Flames, will be leaving for Trinidad this weekend for the red carpet affair.

Together, Bostic and Edwards, have been nominated in some five categories out of 38 awards due to be handed out during the gala event.

Bostic’s popular All is Yours has been nominated as Favourite Groove Soca by a female. Other songs nominated for this award are: Any How by Destra; Cock Back by Sanelle Dempster, Come Now by Allison Hinds, Love of my Life by Patrice Roberts and Sleeping in your Bed by Michelle Sylvester.

Bostic is also nominated for Soca Artiste Album/CD of the year for an album called Always & Forever, which, according to Edwards, he had produced specifically for Trinidad’s Carnival and was a compilation of some of the songs Bostic had done while with the Burning Flames.

Edwards meantime has been nominated for three different awards – Soca Producer of the Year for his work with Bostic and the Burning Flames, Favourite Up-tempo Soca and Soca Songwriter of the Year.

Edwards is in the company of the top soca producers in the world who have been nominated for awards for their work with artistes like Rupee, Destra, KMC, and Machel Montano.

His nomination for Songwriter of the Year is compliments his artistry and creativity on All is Yours, Debble Music and Bounce off last year’s Debbelish Rage album. Other nominees in this award are: Machel Montana You, Madder than That, Carnival Survivors KMC Sole on Fire, First Experience, Cocaine and Rupee Wha happen in De party, 1 on 1, Do the dam thing.

Edwards, speaking to the SUN yesterday, revealed that the awards ceremony will be paying tribute to Bostic’s memory in a special way since a group of artistes is expected to perform a medley of her songs.

Asked how he felt, he said, “If you want me to be honest, just the thought of it brings tears to my eyes; at the thought of me collecting something that she (Bostic) really worked so hard to earn.”

He said it was a bitter-sweet moment in his musical career, “but more bitter.”

He was happy, however, for making such an impact since “the small islands never really get anything and you have to come three times as good as they to be even considered.”

Courtesy of Antigua Sun
Old 09-30-2005, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,084
at least he acknowledge that they 3 times as good.
Old 09-30-2005, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 42
wonderful
Old 09-30-2005, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
DJ HOLLYWOOD

Credits: 611
Originally Posted by yanktiguan
True!
Old 09-30-2005, 04:51 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 140,872
You CAUGHT that eh.
Old 09-30-2005, 04:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
You CAUGHT that eh.

of course! yuh know I am their VP.
Old 09-30-2005, 04:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Spitfire

Credits: 244
Old 09-30-2005, 04:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Spitfire

buh sounds like he read soca chat.....

Congrats to Oungku & de late Onika Bostic on their nominations
Old 09-30-2005, 04:58 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LolaMs
Old 09-30-2005, 04:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

I askin dragon to change my name to TIGUAPOWA
Old 09-30-2005, 04:59 PM   #11 (permalink)

You can be my VP
Old 09-30-2005, 04:59 PM   #12 (permalink)

Old 09-30-2005, 04:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

buh sounds like he read soca chat.....

Congrats to Oungku & de late Onika Bostic on their nominations

but yes... congrats to them
Old 09-30-2005, 05:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Spitfire

Nah...we dun hab wan psychopowa areddy...juss kip ya place as de resident crazyass instead Is wha?...arhyou ah chry outdo wan anudda wid de dizgustiness
Old 09-30-2005, 05:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,426
Antigua Sun doh have nuttin call editor and spellchecker?

Congrats on the nominations same way