Old 03-12-2006, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 3,388
An Open letter to Soca Artists...

Please stop b!tching and moaning about your state of affairs. I think that i speak for many by saying that your crying is getting annoying. Piracy will ALWAYS exist. Make solid albums so that the soca buying public will want to BUY your music. It seems like every interview that you guys do is centered around you guys begging for people to stop buying bootlegs and begging for people to support soca. Are things really that bad?

People should listen to any genre of music that they like. I notice that you guys are trying to push Soca music down our throats. Just because someone is from trinidad doesnt mean that they need to listen to soca ALL the time...hell, it doesnt even mean that they need to listen to soca at all!

Make good music, love what you are doing and everything else will fall into place. Just chill and stop looking so desperate!
Old 03-12-2006, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 127,922
That is not called for. People spend a lot of money producing their music, do you think it's fair that somebody else should just take it just like that? Granted you are not obligated to listen to soca, you have the right to listen to what you want but if the music is so not good, then why download/pirate it? Makes no sense.

At least if there is a particular album that you're feeling, buy it. Nobody can force you to take your hard earned money and spend on something you don't want. But don't try to tell artistes that they shouldn't look "desperate" when they have invested X amount on something and getting no ROE and then the music still blaring in how many parties and cars!
Old 03-12-2006, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Sweeter Sauce

Credits: 913
Well that was certainly quite harsh and uncalled for ... so who's inspired this rant and rave?
Old 03-12-2006, 05:14 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 140,826
Originally Posted by Ras_Apache
Please stop b!tching and moaning about your state of affairs. I think that i speak for many by saying that your crying is getting annoying. Piracy will ALWAYS exist. Make solid albums so that the soca buying public will want to BUY your music. It seems like every interview that you guys do is centered around you guys begging for people to stop buying bootlegs and begging for people to support soca. Are things really that bad?

People should listen to any genre of music that they like. I notice that you guys are trying to push Soca music down our throats. Just because someone is from trinidad doesnt mean that they need to listen to soca ALL the time...hell, it doesnt even mean that they need to listen to soca at all!

Make good music, love what you are doing and everything else will fall into place. Just chill and stop looking so desperate!
Do you THINK reggae/dancehall artists do the same thing and do you have the SAME ADVICE for them???
Old 03-12-2006, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Closet Exhibitionist

Credits: 3,309

rubbish
Old 03-12-2006, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Val
That is not called for. People spend a lot of money producing their music, do you think it's fair that somebody else should just take it just like that? Granted you are not obligated to listen to soca, you have the right to listen to what you want but if the music is so not good, then why download/pirate it? Makes no sense.

At least if there is a particular album that you're feeling, buy it. Nobody can force you to take your hard earned money and spend on something you don't want. But don't try to tell artistes that they shouldn't look "desperate" when they have invested X amount on something and getting no ROE and then the music still blaring in how many parties and cars!
I am a STRONG advocate for buying music. I hate when people steal music or videos.
at the same time, i hate listening to artists crying over and over again about having their music pirated. they should step up their game and try to make better albums. piracy will never end
Old 03-12-2006, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
Do you THINK reggae/dancehall artists do the same thing and do you have the SAME ADVICE for them???
reggae artist also voice their concerns about piracy but they DO NOT seem desperate and they are not BEGGING people for support.

Some soca artists are becoming pathetic with their crying. Rupee, Kevin Little and Jamesy P have added to many soca artists desperation. Since these guys are doing well financially the other artist are virtually begging the soca consumers to be put on the same level of Rupee and Kevin Little. The have even tried to adapt their style in a lame attempt to appeal to a broader market.
Old 03-12-2006, 05:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,259

There is actually one thing i agree with here and its based on the piracy issue. I can't undestand how some of these artist are gonna have a hit song and no album where it can be found. If you gonna put out a tune make sure that if it hits that the public has access to the song. So many times these song s do well and the only way to get 2 or 3 songs that you like is to spend 30 or 40 dollars on 3 or 4 different compilation albums just to get it. More time than not the stupid CD only have 1 song you even want and you stuck with it. When those are your options i can understand why someone would just choose to download the song and done.
Old 03-12-2006, 05:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 127,922
The only thing I will say is that soca artistes should explore more options in getting their music available. As rinababy stated, one may only like on song on an album, that happens often enough.

I would suggest though that every artiste have a website. That way the music would be available to everyone with pc and web access. The songs can be available for downloading at a price, so the buy chooses what they want and are no obligated to buy an entire cd just for 1 ot 2 songs. Listeners may even listen to songs that may not be getting much radio play.

But to sum up, I still disagree with the desperation comment. You know how it feels when you go here your music playing somewhere and when you see the cd actual cd that was in the set, it's a TDK or Maxell CD-R. After your spend money and the long studio hours some dude or dudette get a blank of $1 and burn that in 2 mins.
Old 03-12-2006, 05:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,259
Originally Posted by Val
The only thing I will say is that soca artistes should explore more options in getting their music available. As rinababy stated, one may only like on song on an album, that happens often enough.

I would suggest though that every artiste have a website. That way the music would be available to everyone with pc and web access. The songs can be available for downloading at a price, so the buy chooses what they want and are no obligated to buy an entire cd just for 1 ot 2 songs. Listeners may even listen to songs that may not be getting much radio play.
But to sum up, I still disagree with the desperation comment. You know how it feels when you go here your music playing somewhere and when you see the cd actual cd that was in the set, it's a TDK or Maxell CD-R. After your spend money and the long studio hours some dude or dudette get a blank of $1 and burn that in 2 mins.
^^ this is an excellent idea!
After Carnival there are so many songs that are hot that people wanna hear but can't because they are just not available. This would definitely help the problem!
Old 03-12-2006, 06:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 251
in reference to the way u feel about artist crying. SHit I would in this soca industry also. Alot of artist do not make that much money back in this market and rely on people to support them year after year so that they could atleast make their money back. It does cost alot to record music. it takes alot of time to produce just one song. Put yourself in that position Apache
Old 03-12-2006, 06:16 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BajanSheriff
in reference to the way u feel about artist crying. SHit I would in this soca industry also. Alot of artist do not make that much money back in this market and rely on people to support them year after year so that they could atleast make their money back. It does cost alot to record music. it takes alot of time to produce just one song. Put yourself in that position Apache
the soca industry IS tough. no denying that. Most of the best calypsonians held down full time jobs while turning out soca HITS year after year.....when soca was seasonal.

Now that soca artists want to make the music year round and use the industry as their PRIMARY source of income they are going to have to feel the pain before they can prosper. If the music is truly "evolving" then soca artists will have to continue to produce GREAT music and not be fully compensated for their hard work. Todays artists need to do the GRUNT work so that future soca artists can get PAID.....that is...if they really want to take soca to the next level.

todays soca artists are like kool moe d and the boys back in tthe days.....if the keep working hard the Jay Z's will emerge
Old 03-12-2006, 06:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 46,598

ahhh haul yuh ass wit yuh chupid dotish comments...these people love their music and they would like to get back what they put in..the only way they make money off their music is when they do performances and it shouldn't really be that way..it takes money to record and put them on records and cds but that is a battle they won't win unless soca fans choose to support them buy buying their albums instead of downloading a song.
Old 03-12-2006, 06:53 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by fntsy19
ahhh haul yuh ass wit yuh chupid dotish comments...these people love their music and they would like to get back what they put in..the only way they make money off their music is when they do performances and it shouldn't really be that way..it takes money to record and put them on records and cds but that is a battle they won't win unless soca fans choose to support them buy buying their albums instead of downloading a song.
ok
Old 03-12-2006, 06:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Get-On-er*

Credits: 2,739
Originally Posted by Val
The only thing I will say is that soca artistes should explore more options in getting their music available.
Bingo.