#61 (permalink) | |
STEADY WUK
Credits: 13,202
[QUOTE=Trinizagada;4196888]
BEfore Shorty coined the word SOKAH everyone was calling their music CALYPSO......Like I said before many islands and people were expermenting with CALYPSO at the time(just take a minute an think ....do you really hear all the music that come out of every island(NO) so how would you know what another man was doing or saying back in these times (people of T&T).......SHORTY coined the word SOKAH and no one can take that away from him....but as for SOCA it has to be given to more than one island or person Last edited by Colors; 02-16-2012 at 08:17 PM.. |
#62 (permalink) | |
Registered Member
Credits: 576,023
YUHHHHHH SEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEee |
#63 (permalink) |
Credits: 17,001
#64 (permalink) | |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Credits: 22,127
[QUOTE=Colors;4196868]
The word Soca came about because of Shorty! The only reason that Soca is spelt SOCA today rather than SOKAH is because of a misspelling by the T&T media of the word Shorty had come up with for his new brand of calypso music!! Both words SOCA and SOKAH did not exist until Shorty coined and defined the term and one came as a direct result of the other because of the misspelling!! Shorty explained that he was happy to go along with the misspelling once people understood what the term stood for and explained it best in this interview but some of allyuh pretending allyuh too dumb to understand: Many words have been misspelt in the history of Caribbean English and even the word Jouvert is misspelt as Jouvay for example but we all know what it means! Some folks spell Carnival as Karnaval, another example. The misspelling doesn't take away from what the word stands for nor does it change who originally came up with the word before it was misspelt! __________________ Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer" Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM) www.facebook.com/socaphd www.twitter.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! ![]() Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 02-16-2012 at 08:37 PM.. |
#65 (permalink) | |
Credits: 98,276
[QUOTE=Colors;4196899]
Geezuskrist...every knucklehead is an expert of the beginnings of soca music now! |
#66 (permalink) | |
You and the Indian rhythm thing... we have been through this many times on various threads leading to the same conclusion... it is pointless re-hashing these conversations simply to take up space on islandmix. Socapro did a wonderful job explaining the influence of the Indian Rhythms but it fell on the wayside because you guys don't want to accept the truth. I have concluded that nothing will change... you have your views and I have my views. I won't disrespect you and call you names because I don't agree with your point of view... You have every right to voice your opinion and I have every right to disagree. Let us leave it there because you and I both know nothing will change... Last edited by Trinizagada; 02-16-2012 at 08:24 PM.. |
#67 (permalink) |
No they cannot! All these fellas know is that they don't like the idea the TnT created the genre.....outside of that they just thrashing around like netted fish.
One cunumunu posting three pages of disco songs like some crazy lunatic and trying to give the creation to soca musi to disco and the yankees....another fella giving the credit to Eddy Grant....yet another giving the credit to krosfyah. Aye Well yes! Ya gotta love Soca chat oui! |
#68 (permalink) | |
PROUD PROUD TRINI
Credits: 28,899
#69 (permalink) |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Credits: 22,127
[QUOTE=Trinizagada;4196904]That has been my observation that prompted me to start posting on this site!
And many of them who claim to be experts on here can't tell the difference either!! And because they are confused they feel that Trinis (who originated the music and should know better) should join them in their confusion!! __________________ Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer" Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM) www.facebook.com/socaphd www.twitter.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! ![]() Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! |
#70 (permalink) | |
Registered Member
Credits: 576,023
[QUOTE=Socapro;4196920]
ORIGINATED my ASS. I HEARD one of the MEMBERS of HUES CORPORATION is a VINCY. |
#71 (permalink) | |
Credits: 399,777
#72 (permalink) | |
Aye aye ....watch it gazada. If you doh wah call him an arse that doh mean others childish for calling him an arse. What yuh call a bucktooth mammal that brays incessantly, Shakespeare? Plus its much more fun than the civilize proper banter than you've been trying to elicit from someone who clearly hasn't evolved to that level ! |
#73 (permalink) |
Credits: 399,777
#74 (permalink) | |
#75 (permalink) |
[QUOTE=VINCYPOWA;4196922]So now we know why you lay claim to the Hughes Corporation.... could be a Vincy involved eh... please just accept the truth... and stop using the work Soca or Sokah.... Trinis coined those words... now go and name your music.. see if you will get anywhere. Yuh could run buh yuh cyar hide!
You mean is only 500K for Calypso Monarch
OFFICiAL INTERNATIONAL POWER/GROOVY SOCA MONARCH 2012 THREAD

45Likes