islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree45Likes

Old 02-15-2012, 11:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
Originally Posted by Seawall View Post
Trinidad is not unique in this aspect, many islands can claim vibrant musical legacies. In fact, smaller nations like Martinique and Guadeloupe have influenced world pop much more than the much larger T&T. If anything, Trinidad is a major disappointment because it has not reached its full potential. If anything, few outside of the Caribbean take modern soca music seriously, and this was not always the case (I own soca records from Colombia, Latin America, and many parts of Africa). I for one don't buy it, and i don't even pirate it. However, I've spent years collecting the music from the 70's to the early-mid 90's so I have a great collection. Maybe, if Trinis were less accepting of the wine and jam, wave yuh rag, keyboard driven riddems, artists would be pressured to put out quality recordings.
Finally, your comment is obviously a knock on other countries that don't have much of a recording industry, but Trini music was influenced by the tens of thousands of Vincentians, Granadians, and other small island people who moved there over the years. I meet so many Trinis who claim ancestry from one of these small Islands. Americans usually voice the same sentiments when one criticizes their foreign policy.
Next thing we will hear is that Shorty is not a Trini because no one can prove that he was born in Trinidad and that he didn't sail over from St Vincent or Guyana as a baby on a fishing boat!!

Allyuh fellas good yes!!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-15-2012, 11:43 PM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 41,209
Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
Next thing we will hear is that Shorty is not a Trini because no one can prove that he was born in Trinidad and that he didn't sail over from St Vincent or Guyana as a baby on a fishing boat!!

Allyuh fellas good yes!!
my statement was to knock who deserved it, but it fall in his garden..cuz we know Guyana eh didly squat. our strenght is in our immigration of all cultures that made a unique culture in TNT..we dont owe them anything, if anything they owe us.
Old 02-15-2012, 11:56 PM   #18 (permalink)

Credits: 3,918
You know a puzzle of mine I would like solved Man of Mystery ... I fink you can help.... is dose trolls dat does play smart to be stupid... what de rewards just a good laugh? Hollywood mentality accepted roles models are millionaires for some of de stupidest fukkery known to mankind... so a good laugh is a possibility I correct or dead wrong?

I'm a man of the past,living in the present, but walking in the future.
A cow born in a pig pen is still a cow. ...Rastafari...

"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.”

Old 02-15-2012, 11:59 PM   #19 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ushawishi View Post
You know a puzzle of mine I would like solved Man of Mystery ... I fink you can help.... is dose trolls dat does play smart to be stupid... what de rewards just a good laugh? Hollywood mentality accepted roles models are millionaires for some of de stupidest fukkery known to mankind... so a good laugh is a possibility I correct or dead wrong?
what u mean?
Old 02-16-2012, 12:05 AM   #20 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Originally Posted by SWAGGERIFIC View Post
the biggest disappointment from the region, not only in in music but in every sphere from culture to music to politics to economics is Guyana...talk about a big waste of space. that is why alyuh have no culture and stay jacking Trini style..BOO HOO! LOL, basically Guyanese should not talk cuz little Barbados shipping alyuh back by the thousands yet u here arguing about Soca...why u doh go do something for ur countrymen?
This man Seawall has no shame on here trying to argue that Trinidad is a musical disappointment!

That same link that he provided for the World Class Brass on BBC iPlayer (BBC iPlayer - World Class Brass: 13/02/2012) bigs-up Trinidad music for having a major influence on World Music from the 1930s straight up until today!!

There are no other countries with as rich and influential a music history in the Caribbean as Trindad and Tobago other than Jamaica and Cuba! Following the big three will be Haiti and the French patois speaking islands like Dominica, Guadeloupe and Martinique.

Look here Trinidad, even helping Guyana with its football in World Cup qualifying by sending them a decent Trini coach! Hope Guyana does well in the next round and I hope they will realise who they need to thank if they are successful in making it from the 3rd round into the Hex for the very first time in their football history with a chance to go to Brazil in 2014!

Trinidad’s music history is even richer than our football history and we have already been to a senior world cup and could easily have been to three!
Right now I think Guyana’s football history is richer than its music history and Guyana hasn’t even done anything of significance in football yet!

These fellas like Seawall are real jokers yes!!
They need to stop watching Trinidad with jealous eyes and to start putting their own country in order!!

Bout Trinidad is a disappointment, have they ever looked in the mirror?!

www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd

Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!

Last edited by Socapro; 02-16-2012 at 01:02 AM..
Old 02-16-2012, 12:08 AM   #21 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
This man have no shame here trying to argue that Trinidad is a musical disappointment!

That same link that he provided for the World Class Brass on BBC iPlayer (BBC iPlayer - World Class Brass: 13/02/2012) bigs-up Trinidad music for having a major influence on World Music from the 1930s straight up until today!!
There is no other country with as rich and influential a music history in the Caribbean as Trindad and Tobago other than Jamaica and Cuba! Following the big three will be Haiti and the French patois islands like Dominica, Guadeloupe and Martinique.

Look here Trinidad, even helping Guyana with its football in World Cup qualifying by sending them a decent Trini coach! Hope Guyana does well in the next round and I hope they will realise who they need to thank if they are successful in making it from the 3rd round into the Hex for the very first time in their football history with a chance to go to Brazil in 2014!

Trinidad’s music history is even richer than our football history and we have already been to a senior world cup and could easily have been to two more!
Right now I think Guyana’s football history is richer than their music history and Guyana hasn’t even done anything of significance in football yet!

These fellas like Seawall are real jokers yes!!
They need to stop watching Trinidad with jealous eyes and to start putting their own country in order!!

Bout Trinidad is a disappointment, have they ever looked in the mirror?!
I mean its silly to hear a Guyanese talking about disappointment coming from Trinidad..I am flabbergasted....
Old 02-16-2012, 12:11 AM   #22 (permalink)

what u mean?
plenty fings... doh dig if you miss all of dem...

"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.”

Old 02-16-2012, 12:13 AM   #23 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ushawishi View Post
plenty fings... doh dig if you miss all of dem...
In case u doh know..I bring out all my artilleries when all these lil boys disrespect TNT..I go extra hard when I know there is little ammunition in their guns e.g Guyanese lol
Old 02-16-2012, 01:13 AM   #24 (permalink)

In case u doh know..I bring out all my artilleries when all these lil boys disrespect TNT..I go extra hard when I know there is little ammunition in their guns e.g Guyanese lol
Keep on making TNT proud... represent!

Old 02-16-2012, 01:23 AM   #25 (permalink)

Credits: 39,969
I mean its silly to hear a Guyanese talking about disappointment coming from Trinidad..I am flabbergasted....
Knock Guyana all yuh want, I'm quite used to it. However, i have no envy what so ever of Tiny Trinidad! Typical response from igroramus. You've revealed your true selves!

"Every onlooker is either a coward or a traitor." — Frantz Fanon

'It was 'Maestro' who wrote "Endless Vibration" for 'Shorty'. He used to write all those songs for 'Shorty' and he also wrote for 'Sparrow'. "Sa Sa Ya" and all those songs were written by 'Maestro'. Plenty people wrote for 'Sparrow'." — Winsford 'Joker' Devine

Old 02-16-2012, 01:27 AM   #26 (permalink)

Knock Guyana all yuh want, I'm quite used to it. However, i have no envy what so ever of Tiny Trinidad! Typical response from igroramus. You've revealed your true selves!
ofcourse u r used to it, besides the nature, there is not much to talk about...have a good night.

FOOL!
Old 02-16-2012, 01:36 AM   #27 (permalink)

Credits: 39,969
ofcourse u r used to it, besides the nature, there is not much to talk about...have a good night.

FOOL!
Only anti men trade insults online.

"Every onlooker is either a coward or a traitor." — Frantz Fanon

'It was 'Maestro' who wrote "Endless Vibration" for 'Shorty'. He used to write all those songs for 'Shorty' and he also wrote for 'Sparrow'. "Sa Sa Ya" and all those songs were written by 'Maestro'. Plenty people wrote for 'Sparrow'." — Winsford 'Joker' Devine

Old 02-16-2012, 02:46 AM   #28 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Only anti men trade insults online.
Then class yourself as one then because you were the one who threw the insult that Trinidad was a musical disappointment!

Didn't you think that proud Trinis who know better would feel insulted with such a comment especially coming from a Guyanese?!

Btw how come I have never seen you pull up VP for all his anti man insults at Trinis and all things Trini daily on this board?!

www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd

Last edited by Socapro; 02-16-2012 at 02:55 AM..
Old 02-16-2012, 04:28 AM   #29 (permalink)

Trinidad is not unique in this aspect, many islands can claim vibrant musical legacies. In fact, smaller nations like Martinique and Guadeloupe have influenced world pop much more than the much larger T&T. If anything, Trinidad is a major disappointment because it has not reached its full potential. If anything, few outside of the Caribbean take modern soca music seriously, and this was not always the case (I own soca records from Colombia, Latin America, and many parts of Africa). I for one don't buy it, and i don't even pirate it. However, I've spent years collecting the music from the 70's to the early-mid 90's so I have a great collection. Maybe, if Trinis were less accepting of the wine and jam, wave yuh rag, keyboard driven riddems, artists would be pressured to put out quality recordings.
Finally, your comment is obviously a knock on other countries that don't have much of a recording industry, but Trini music was influenced by the tens of thousands of Vincentians, Granadians, and other small island people who moved there over the years. I meet so many Trinis who claim ancestry from one of these small Islands. Americans usually voice the same sentiments when one criticizes their foreign policy.
too add to de above...
Until trinis start really acting like is pay dey does pay to go see dem "superstars" soca will continue to be a huge disappointment...

All that failure doan matter cause de King was able to sell out MSG concert... pathetic achievement... great individual accomplishment but as for de genre advancement pathetic, soca around for donkey years dats de best de main man can do internationally. Boy Blue in his prime could have done dat easy, as trinidad has the numbers to support this....

Wellington from TNT he get same treatment as Grant, look Rose getting it too... dats why I really done trying to talk about TNT music with certain people on imix...

Old 02-16-2012, 06:45 AM   #30 (permalink)
PROUD PROUD TRINI

Credits: 28,899
if we are such a disappointment! why allyuh talk about us and our music every day find something better to talk about like guyanese music or something! allyuh doh fed up? SMH