JA Soca Ambassador
Credits: 7,290
Kernal dumps Destra for Patrice....What's Up With That ?
OK..I Felt Something Was Up With Destra's Songs This Year.
Kernal dumps Destra for Patrice By Sharmain Baboolal ACE songwriter Kernal Roberts has switched his leading ladies. This time around, Destra Garcia has been given the slight by her leading composer who gave her the evergreen hits, Bonnie and Clyde and Fly, that cemented the Soca diva's career. Instead Kernal, the son of Trinidad's pioneering pan composer, the late Grand Master Kitchener, is throwing his talent behind Patrice Roberts. Patrice began her ascent last year with Islands, a collaboration with Bunji Garlin that was composed by Kernal and which has been adopted as a theme song by TnT Tourism officials. "I have a really big song for Patrice this year," Kernal said when he spoke with TnT Mirror recently. "This one is the bomb; in fact, I think it is the best song I have written to date, and it has International stamped all over it," the enthusiastic young son of Kitch noted. He has composed just one track for Destra for C2k6, which is Maxx It Up, a track that's already big in the parties in the run-up to Carnival. Destra, meantime, is refusing to speak about parting ways with Kernal. She's still working on her next album, which will be titled Independent Ladies; the title track was released late last year. Incidentally, Machel Montano is the smartest kid on the block. He has also snapped up Kernal's talents. The former Traffik drummer is now the musical director of Xtatik. Now i know why i am not feeling her current songs.... Last edited by socapineman; 02-07-2006 at 03:39 PM.. Reason: Kernal dumps Destra for Patrice |
Culture First
Credits: 251
this is definitely valuable info... Now we know why the songs are lacking that punch I talk about in another post..
JA Soca Ambassador
Tell me about it... all I kept saying is where is her big songs for the year ? i am a big fan of Destra...but her songs this year are weak.... I feel that Kernal is siding with the band members who are crying that they want more money...rightfully so... i am in agreement with them... Last edited by socapineman; 02-07-2006 at 05:23 PM.. |
Credits: 9,874
Correct me if i'm wrong, but didn't Kernel help out with Max It up...since it was a last year tune that she just held back.
Credits: 4,271
So you saying Colours Again is weak? |
Credits: 2,970
That's funny because I really was not feeling any of Destra's tunes this year except for Max It Up!!! She's still meh girl though it's a good thing she is talented.
JA Soca Ambassador
Yes...nice pan tune.... |
JA Soca Ambassador
It's no knock against her talent... i am just shock....so clearly a good song writer makes a world of a difference... |
That's true and I do like Colours Again!!! |
Pork Mout
Credits: 3,612
Who is dis Kernal fella cause I need to call he......Patrice voice is ...well * how do I say this nicely* not very strong.........
I love Islands but de Bunji part .....not trying to be critical so wanna Patrice fans dont kill me but I do think she got a Squeakish voice......man I aint know.....BUt my girl Destra has a much versatile voice....plus I like she bad *ok I am a bit bias* .....well I guess he had to know why.....but I think Colours Again is her best song for the year.....and de other jump up ones arent bad either.......but everybody comparing every song de woman mek wid Bonnie and Clyde cah dear ....it dont work so.....but I think she will perform off the pants off any other the other ![]()
Credits: 697
I late tuh de Kernel Roberts Party...but pardna is boss
. Doh see why he can't work with both ladies though ![]() Love Destra and love Patrice's voice. |
Credits: 697
JA Soca Ambassador
I personally feel that its about money...from the post that someone made about " Soca Pain ' maybe Destra and management is not paying the man...look she is Blowing Up...Big Contract with Digicell, numerous Big hits.... i am sure its about money ! |
Pork Mout
Credits: 3,612
well it was only my opinion.....I really dont like her voice.....but to each his own.

.....not trying to be critical so wanna Patrice fans dont kill me but I do think she got a Squeakish voice......man I aint know.....
. Doh see why he can't work with both ladies though