soca revolutionary
Credits: 2,706
Reflect the whole carribean soca scene instead of just on island:http://www.lynx876.com/charts/contact2004.htm i guess the dj's in england have more of an opened mind and not so bias.
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
Credits: 25,253
Steups ask Blackberry or Boywonder for their charts...both of them are Toronto DJ's and i'm willing to bet their charts would be different from Dr. J's. You're generalizing.
Spitfire
Credits: 243
wow..that really is an "international" soca chart, that station appears to be playing a nice mix of music. They still have some notable regions and tunes missing though. St. Kitts mek some sweeeeeeeet music this year, and i'm suprised not to see "Turn It Up" by D'Vybz, "Masquerade" by Small Axe, or "Big Drum" or "Leather" by Nu Vybes on their charts. Also, the VI having a bad year right now buh I'm suprised some of their tunes from last year not still on the chart. If some Anguillan, Lucian, and St. Maarten music get added to their mix...the station might almost be as hot as largeradio.com
Credits: 9,880
soca revolutionary
and ask the promoter for fire fete why he drop el a kru from the line up???
soca revolutionary
i am begining to realize that toronto is living in that dark ages.....NY. miami and england seems to be more accepting of other islands music...cuase i know its trinis that are doing these charts...so that means they are recognizing good music where ever it comes from and not basing their likes and dislike along over-partriotic and nationalistic lines....big respect to NY, miami and england for moving past your over-patriotism
Credits: 140,794
Daddy Cease in deh area
Credits: 2,632
the chart look aight but no St. Kitts and VI songs in there.....I can probably attribute the VI not being in there cause it probably ain't got much VI people in ENgland, but a hit is a hit
#9 (permalink) | ||
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
Credits: 25,253
Toronto still has a relatively small Caribbean population and the majority of them are either Jamaican or Trini. Its not that difficult to comprehend...business is business. NY has close to 1 million Caribbean people of course smaller islands are going to be better represented. They will have more of a voice, same thing in Miami and same thing in the UK. I'm not telling you anything you don't know!! I lived in Toronto for 30 years and i think i know 2 Antiguans, 2 Dominicans, 3 Lucians, 0 St. Kitts, 10 Bajans, 30 Guyanese, 60 Trinis and 10080890808098090808 Jamaicans.. What do you really expect from a business perspective?? |
||
Credits: 153,627
i like it mixture of alll de islands
Credits: 5,063
"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
soca revolutionary
JA Soca Ambassador
Credits: 7,293
***Checking calender*** what year 2007 and you on the same lame debate ! lol Why do you keep these bias DJs and Promoters in Business ? I would suggest you boycott them because there is no shame in their game, they will not change, they will always support their core base. What are you doing about it ? If you feel you have the numbers to support your debate, step to them with it....if it is clear that they refuse to play small island tunes, then it seems foolish to me to go and support them year after year. I had to put a few of these artistes in check on the " roll call issue " as if my Island lack the depth or historical perspective of calypso/soca or carnival....then I realize some of them were more ignorant of the their our culture much less the " melting pot " on the music scene, so again you are fighting a losing battle...what they see is $$$, no Unity in this ! Check the next Unity flier and see if anything change. Last edited by socapineman; 05-02-2007 at 07:23 PM.. |
Spitfire
Credits: 243
soca revolutionary
i agree 100% with you...but when you starving and someone thoes you a cracker...lol i personally dont go to these dj's dances anymore up here...i rather go to NY the djs down there are more openminded

Reflect the whole carribean soca scene instead of just on island: