Credits: 140,896
Nookie - Jamesy P=guilty Pleasure
So Last Year
2005: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly By Todd Inoue Singles: The Good ... "1 Thing"—Amerie; "Shake It Off"—Mariah Carey; "Wait" (The Whisper Song)—Ying Yang Twins; "Random"—Lady Sovereign; "Hate It or Love It"—The Game; "Ladyflash"—The Go! Team; "Get on My Hype" (Remix)—Messy Marv; "Stay Fly"—Three 6 Mafia; "E-Pro"—Beck; "Play"—David Banner. I'm a sucker for beats and hooks, and 2005 was a strong year for both. My tolerance for ribald rhymes hit its peak as "Wait (The Whisper Song)" and "Play" kept the rewind function busy. Grime isn't going to blow up stateside—it's just too weird and British, but Lady Sovereign has a nice chance in 2006 with her pop take. I love "Random" and her EP Vertically Challenged. She signed with Def Jam after auditioning for Jay-Z, so watch out for big things from the S-O-V. The Bad "My Humps"—Black Eyed Peas; "Laffy Taffy"—D4L; "Trapped in the Closet"—R. Kelly; "Hung Up"—Madonna; "Heartbeat"—Annie. Think hard—has there been a song in recent memory as awful and tortuous as "My Humps"? Not even "Laffy Taffy" comes close. It's not the content, which I can handle, or the audio bed; it's the lyrical cadence, the jailbait vocal and the line "What you gon' with all that breast/ All that breast inside that shirt?" It's, as Bill Walton would say, "Horrrrrible!" ... As for that Norwegian pop princess Annie, when Anniemal came out, with support from hipster bible VICE and belly-gazing zine Pitchfork, I thought: Is this an elaborate prank? What the hell is going on here when a passably trill singer gets such elaborate praise? Similarly, I thought Madonna's video for "Hung Up"—with its jacking of ABBA and the video of her rolling around in Jazzercize gear—was an episode of Punk'd. And the Guilty Pleasure "Sugar, We're Going Down"—Fall Out Boy; "Run It"—Chris Brown; "Nookie Tonight"—Jamesy P; "Gold Digger"—Kanye West. I'm losing hipster points, but these songs appeal to the 15-year-old Urban Outfitters shopper in me. Empty calories that provide a temporary sugar rush. SOURCE: http://www.metroactive.com/papers/me...2005-0551.html |
Credits: 24,385
it real popular but i thought it would have had more appeal than KMC.. but seems to be otherwise
Credits: 9,998
Credits: 24,385
Moreover, INTERNATIONALLY, it DEBUTED as the HOT SHOT entry at #52 on the BILLBOARD CHART and stayed there for several weeks. KMC debuted at #87 then DISAPPEARED a week later. It NEVER made it out of the 80's. In the UK, NOOKIE debuted at #14 on the NATIONAL CHART and was the BIGGEST SOCA hit in that part of the world for 2005. KMC was nowhere to be seen on that chart. Moreover, you just read where the song has gotten mentioned in the same SPACE as GoldDIGGER by Kanye West yet you making FART statement that Soul On Fire is BIGGER? MAnnnn, aryo need fo gimme some of that WEED aryo does INHALE. Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 12-22-2005 at 12:16 PM.. |
Paradise!
Credits: 8,042
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
Credits: 60,863
Credits: 376
Billboard aint ish until the top 20 maybe top 40. #52, #87 that doesnt move anyone, especially because NO ONE BUYS SINGLES!!!!! Back in the day singles could go platinum and double platinum now a day only a small amount of singles go GOLD. So if your in the 50s you probably only moved like 10K units so you can imagine that the 80s and 90s... If you really want to know how a single is doing check the radioplay charts and check radio station websites and they post their playlist, also I think yes.com has the top 100 spins per week for someone radio stations, also most big DJs and soundcrews have websites and they keep a list of whats hot. BTW, maybe you should treat your post like a lawyer trains his/her client for the stand...only answer things that have been specifically asked...by that I mean the man say he felt Soul on fire got more play by him than Nookie...and you assumed he was in NY probably because his location says so but the problem was you go to prove your case by bringing up all the US and UK billboard... WAT FACKIN RELEVANCE DO THEY HOLD ON PROVing WHAT IT DID IN NY? All your chart numbers look nice and all but they don't prove what he said as being wrong (although Nookie was a bigger song than Soul on Fire on NY radio and in clubs). You could of came right out and sited how it was top 5 in spins on WQHT, how it was on nightly countdowns on 105.1 and done |
Credits: 376
Clubs on Long Island? Where u be goin? LI club scene for hip hop/reggae/soca is very wack...I mean theres your usually suspects like Intrigue, Moments, Nakisaki (btw each and every Thursday "Temptation Thursday" at Nakisaki ladies free), XS on certain nights, Tabu... If you know anything else worth taking a look at PLEASE mention it. |
As for New York, this is ABSOLUTELY a no CONTEST. Nookie by 50 FURLONGS over SOF. |
Credits: 186
Read the following slowly
nobody gives a fack!!!! bun ah commercial thing..... mek a money yes but allyuh come like yall worshipping commercial accolades this guy daily looking for what commercial approval of we thing fack dat big tune is big tune fack what mr innoue think i never even heard of metro active |
Credits: 186
they looking for dollars thats a grind what are you loking for jeez if you love musik love musik be musik lover and love musik and stop ride grown man cock... but when u you hear a tune for a year dont say nothing bout it but as soon as itz repackaged and produced for the "mainstream" wanna all over the thing, quick to bawl out itz the next big thing.... all i saying is nookie was a big tune bout two years ago when you were on here bawling bout KL TMO..... itz the same thing all over again unnno nah tired..... commercially these songs are getting there ass kicked compared to the other songs on the charts lets talk about tune i believe rhianna a brand new artist has more us sales than KL and nookie boy combined without vp backflipping... and notice she is looking for commercial $$$ singing commercial musik... |
STEADY WUK
Credits: 2,062