Old 01-24-2005, 12:04 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,326
Question need help on something...

Anyone familiar w/ Gabby tunes...rocky? dev?

I have this cd...and it has all the lyrics...though not a year for any of these tunes. Need the years or in the very least, decade from when they came out:

lord nelson
black man wake up
inez
we cheating
flying fish diplomacy
miss barbados
roberta flack
hold on to the ball
jouvert morning
guilty
massa day done
cockfight
country boy
easy come easy go
sweeter than you
rock
now for now
in de savannah
rose(ft viking tundah)
well done
Old 01-24-2005, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
el n00ņo

Credits: 18,597
Originally Posted by Rummacita

I have this cd...and it has all the lyrics...though not a year for any of these tunes. Need the years or in the very least, decade from when they came out:
That cd came out in '99. Is it supposed to be a collection or something?
Old 01-24-2005, 09:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
dev

Credits: 22,614
lord nelson
black man wake up
inez
we cheating
flying fish diplomacy
miss barbados
roberta flack
hold on to the ball
jouvert morning
guilty
massa day done
cockfight
country boy
easy come easy go
sweeter than you
rock
now for now
in de savannah
rose(ft viking tundah)
well done

Vanilla,
Nooner is correct with that year. You notice how gabby voice change up on ROSE.At the time it was release there were heated debates about whether it was Gabby's voice. I'm not certain,but I think the song-MASSA DAY DONE was first recorded by Tony "commader" Grazette.PLease correct me if I got it wrong. Listen to the words of WELL DONE and tell me what you think..--classic? All in all a very good cd.Most of these songs made it big in Africa.
Old 01-24-2005, 10:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
dev

Originally Posted by dev
lord nelson
black man wake up
inez
we cheating
flying fish diplomacy
miss barbados
roberta flack
hold on to the ball
jouvert morning
guilty
massa day done
cockfight
country boy
easy come easy go
sweeter than you
rock
now for now
in de savannah
rose(ft viking tundah)
well done

Vanilla,
Nooner is correct with that year. You notice how gabby voice change up on ROSE.At the time it was release there were heated debates about whether it was Gabby's voice. I'm not certain,but I think the song-MASSA DAY DONE was first recorded by Tony "commader" Grazette.PLease correct me if I got it wrong. Listen to the words of WELL DONE and tell me what you think..--classic? All in all a very good cd.Most of these songs made it big in Africa.

I can correct myself.Commander did the song--SLAVERY DONE. My BADder.
Old 01-24-2005, 10:10 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dev
lord nelson
black man wake up
inez
we cheating
flying fish diplomacy
miss barbados
roberta flack
hold on to the ball
jouvert morning
guilty
massa day done
cockfight
country boy
easy come easy go
sweeter than you
rock
now for now
in de savannah
rose(ft viking tundah)
well done

Vanilla,
I know what year the cd was released...but I want to know the years the songs came out. Just like his cd from 96...yeah I know the year the cd came out, but the songs were from the 70's & 80's. Also...I'm not all that schooled in calypso so I wouldn't know what the songs are in reference to much less if they were previously recorded.
Old 01-24-2005, 10:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
dev

I know what year the cd was released...but I want to know the years the songs came out. Just like his cd from 96...yeah I know the year the cd came out, but the songs were from the 70's & 80's. Also...I'm not all that schooled in calypso so I wouldn't know what the songs are in reference to much less if they were previously recorded.
Let me go to my Vinyl Vault.
Old 01-24-2005, 10:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
el n00ņo

Credits: 18,597
I had found a list of Gabby's releases and I do not see any of those songs on previous albums so I assumed it was new for '99.
Old 01-24-2005, 10:43 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by n00ner
I had found a list of Gabby's releases and I do not see any of those songs on previous albums so I assumed it was new for '99.
yeah...I wasn't sure. Since it was a 2-cd set. Inside the cd it says 25 years...so i had to make sure.
Old 01-24-2005, 11:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

shout me gyal
Old 01-24-2005, 11:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

lord nelson
black man wake up
inez
we cheating
flying fish diplomacy
miss barbados
roberta flack
hold on to the ball
jouvert morning
guilty
massa day done
cockfight
country boy
easy come easy go
sweeter than you
rock
now for now
in de savannah
rose(ft viking tundah)
well done
i doan think people understand how hard dese songs are

Rock - it bout me bawwwwwwww
Massa day done - he win de crown i '98 wid dat *HARD AS FACK TUNE
easy come - blue movie song

all these songs are from de 90's

flying fish diplomacy - 1990 he come third tuh serenader dah year..

black man - if its de same one dah mean its de single greatest lyricall gabby song ever (hanibal was a blackman)

miss barbados - 1980's doh.... harddddddddddd tune my fadda would roll in he grave hearing dat
Old 01-24-2005, 11:19 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 4,447
Originally Posted by CalypsoBlackRock
i doan think people understand how hard dese songs are

Rock - it bout me bawwwwwwww
Massa day done - he win de crown i '98 wid dat *HARD AS FACK TUNE

98 was my second crop over but my first pic o de crop... there was this australian guy hanging out with us and he thought the song was MASTURBATION....

hard tune... Gabby is boss fuh real...

but yuh know i love meh bag
Old 01-24-2005, 11:22 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinibaje
98 was my second crop over but my first pic o de crop... there was this australian guy hanging out with us and he thought the song was MASTURBATION....

hard tune... Gabby is boss fuh real...

but yuh know i love meh bag
He's next on my list to get the older stuff.
Old 01-24-2005, 11:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

He's next on my list to get the older stuff.
bag had a song called JACKASS dat burrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrs up barbados

"nuhbody ain riding me like a JACKAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS"

i now appreciating bag doh baje
Old 01-24-2005, 11:25 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 4,447
Originally Posted by CalypsoBlackRock
bag had a song called JACKASS dat burrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrs up barbados

"nuhbody ain riding me like a JACKAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS"

i now appreciating bag doh baje

I know Gabby is the King of Kings.. but to me when bag sings i hang on to every word he is saying. His Red CD to me is up there with Xfyah pump me up as the best soca CD fo all time
Old 01-24-2005, 11:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Originally Posted by Trinibaje
I know Gabby is the King of Kings.. but to me when bag sings i hang on to every word he is saying. His Red CD to me is up there with Xfyah pump me up as the best soca CD fo all time

what? kill yourself