Old 10-22-2005, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,272
Name a soca song that....

represents the sound native to your island.

I'll start.

David Rudder - One More Officer.

It don't sound much more Trini than that!
Old 10-22-2005, 12:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,292
Originally Posted by brownskintrini

I'll start.

Fab 5 out of Jamaica... " Good Buddy "

as you know...we have nuff lyrics for everything !
Old 10-22-2005, 12:54 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,272
Originally Posted by socapineman
Fab 5 out of Jamaica... " Good Buddy "

as you know...we have nuff lyrics for everything !
When I say sound, I mean minus lyrics, the actual sound.
Sorry I didn't clarify before.
Do you think if someone heard the beat of that song without the words they would be able to identify with JA?
Old 10-22-2005, 02:05 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 140,781

I'll start.

Yes, I like this thread...GOOD one.

Well, I have to put up a FEW CHUNES so you can get REAL FEEL of the VINTAGE VINCY SOUND.

Disco Ivy - Astericks

Easy Nuh - Otis

MOVE YO FRONT - Touch feat. Godfrey Dublin

Lorraine - Explainer

Lost Tenor - Scrunter

Wet Me Down - Johnny King

Thunder - Duke

Tension - Shadow

Is Horse - Explainer

Hickey - Touch feat. Ifil Shorte

Rumpin - The Rebels Band

RUM - Becket

Teaser - Becket

Gal Ah Rush Me - Becket

Way Of The Warrior - Blaksand

When you listen to the MAJORITY of those SONGS, the PACE is QUITE SIMILAR.

Moreover, listen to the DOMINANCE of the DRUM and BASS, and especially the KEYBOARD, on all the TRACKS.

That my FRIEND is VINTAGE Vincy Music.

Oh yeah, for those who are WONDERING what are those songs by Duke, Scrunter, Johnny King, and Explainer doing on my LIST, all those songs are ARRANGED/PRODUCED by the LEGEND, the ONE and ONLY Frankie "The Maestro" McIntosh out of St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

He is the CREATOR of the VINTAGE VINCY SOUND.

Also, much CREDIT has to be given to the musicians (Brian Alexander, Willis and Jules Williams, Cherry Ince, Godfrey Dublin, and Cleve Scott) from the band Touch, because you can hear that VINTAGE VINCY sound in their music.

And also Denniston Young from the band Astericks/the Rebels Band.

These were the MAJOR PLAYERS in the VINTAGE Vincy music.

I am sure that I left someone out.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 10-22-2005 at 03:59 PM..
Old 10-22-2005, 03:56 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 9,302
Do you think if someone heard the beat of that song without the words they would be able to identify with JA?

Yes..Good Buddy has Ja. written all over it, its the bass and drum programming that gives it away.Although the Eastern Caribbean isles started inverting a deeper bass in their production in the 90s, Good Buddy couldn't have come from anywhere else.Thats why you haven't heard any thing like it since.As for the way the lyrics was sung, they tried to sound a little Eastern Carribean but i,m sure that couldn't fool anyone.

I dont think J'can musicians are able to duplicate the sounds of the other without leaving a hint of Jamaicaness in it.Its all about the drum & bass.
Old 10-22-2005, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Temporary Suspension

Credits: 188

I'll start.

The Baron - Portrait Of Trinidad
Old 10-24-2005, 12:48 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 594
Denyse Plummer - Nah Leaving
Old 10-24-2005, 01:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Debble

Credits: 2,756
Rock and Prance - Short Shirt

check de link
Old 10-24-2005, 02:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,849
Rootsy - Hilary

Last edited by Libralove83; 10-24-2005 at 02:30 AM..
Old 10-24-2005, 03:34 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 594
well dont i feel schupid, i didnt even read this entry
Old 10-24-2005, 04:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 2,827
Soca Butterfly - Byron Lee

Soca Bogle - Byron Lee
Old 10-24-2005, 04:25 AM   #12 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 2,827
Uhmmm... yeah definately! Yuh would have to be from Jamaica and have heard mento music before... but sure! Plus the sound of Fab 5 is well known in Jamaica.