Old 07-31-2006, 06:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Phat Till It Buff Crew!!!

Credits: 157
name that artist

remember this song ?

"If you have jah jah in yuh heart
let meh hear yuh say whoa
if yuh is a rasta in yuh heart
let meh hear yuh say yaga yaga yo
yaga yea yaga yo
yaga yaga yea"
Old 07-31-2006, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Vincy & Bajan

Credits: 1,826
Originally Posted by #1HotGyul
remember this song ?

yaga yea yaga yo
yaga yaga yea"
I think it was precious, but I ain positive
Old 07-31-2006, 10:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,110
Nah i think it was group called Silhouette and if i'm not mistaken i think Nadia Batson was a part of that group.
Old 07-31-2006, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Phat Till It Buff Crew!!!

Credits: 157
Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone
Nah i think it was group called Silhouette and if i'm not mistaken i think Nadia Batson was a part of that group.
all i know is that it was two girls
Old 08-01-2006, 12:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Musician/Superhero

Credits: 1,085
Originally Posted by #1HotGyul
remember this song ?

yaga yea yaga yo
yaga yaga yea"
The song was called "Ghetto People Chant" but was more popularly refered to back in 2000 (the year of it's release) as "Yagga Yay".

It was performed by the group Silhouette. Originally the group was a quartet best known for doing backgrounds on countless 90's soca hits (the most notorious of which was KMC's Bashment To Carnival"...

The song was produced by one Daryl Braxton... the same guy that co-produced KMC's early stuff (including "Bashment To Carnival" and "Fire Fire"). Braxton is perhaps best known for producing Bunji Garlin's debut tune "Send Dem Riddim Mad" as well as several other early Bunji hits ("Chant Down Babylon","Gimme De Brass") and for producing the wildly popular Dougla Riddim.

The song was written by Nadia Batson who has since gone on to become one of the most sought after writers in soca today (Michelle Sylvester's "Go Ahead", Sleeping In Your Bed", "Face Me", Terry Seales' "D Waist", Rita Jones' "Carnival Feeling", Jabae/Barry Chandler's "Flames", Tizzy of El A Kru's "Expose"...).

She also went on to have hits of her own as an artist.

Her first popular tune after Silhouette disbanded was a duet with Diamond Cut on the popular Concubine riddim produced by KMC in 2004 - the song was called "Be Careful".

Following that she had a song on Ma$tamaind Productions' popular Nutmeg riddim called "Bring Back The Love".

Her biggest solo hit to date came this year with "One Island". Many people will remember her singing with Kes The Band for Carnival 2K6.

Nadia shared lead and background vocals on "Ghetto People Chant" which the other half of Silhouette - Lauren Birot.

Lauren - a talented vocalist in her own right - has since stopped recording soca, opting instead to perform in one of TnT's most popular parang groups andf also performs background vocals on occassion to this day.

Last edited by MuzikkMan; 08-01-2006 at 12:35 AM..
Old 08-01-2006, 10:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Vincy & Bajan

Credits: 1,826
Originally Posted by MuzikkMan
The song was called "Ghetto People Chant" but was more popularly refered to back in 2000 (the year of it's release) as "Yagga Yay".

It was performed by the group Silhouette. Originally the group was a quartet best known for doing backgrounds on countless 90's soca hits (the most notorious of which was KMC's Bashment To Carnival"...

The song was produced by one Daryl Braxton... the same guy that co-produced KMC's early stuff (including "Bashment To Carnival" and "Fire Fire"). Braxton is perhaps best known for producing Bunji Garlin's debut tune "Send Dem Riddim Mad" as well as several other early Bunji hits ("Chant Down Babylon","Gimme De Brass") and for producing the wildly popular Dougla Riddim.

The song was written by Nadia Batson who has since gone on to become one of the most sought after writers in soca today (Michelle Sylvester's "Go Ahead", Sleeping In Your Bed", "Face Me", Terry Seales' "D Waist", Rita Jones' "Carnival Feeling", Jabae/Barry Chandler's "Flames", Tizzy of El A Kru's "Expose"...).

She also went on to have hits of her own as an artist.

Her first popular tune after Silhouette disbanded was a duet with Diamond Cut on the popular Concubine riddim produced by KMC in 2004 - the song was called "Be Careful".

Following that she had a song on Ma$tamaind Productions' popular Nutmeg riddim called "Bring Back The Love".

Her biggest solo hit to date came this year with "One Island". Many people will remember her singing with Kes The Band for Carnival 2K6.

Nadia shared lead and background vocals on "Ghetto People Chant" which the other half of Silhouette - Lauren Birot.

Lauren - a talented vocalist in her own right - has since stopped recording soca, opting instead to perform in one of TnT's most popular parang groups andf also performs background vocals on occassion to this day.
I know I'm not the thread starter, but that info was very much appreciated! Thanks!
Old 08-01-2006, 11:59 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 198
Good job Muzikk Man!!!