Old 06-02-2008, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 17,059
Music Producers

Do you know what everyone credited as "producer" of album did for that album? Do producers all do the same thing? How much credit should a producer get for the creation of a song. It doesn't have to only be soca. How many of you know what a producer does and are the duties the same for every producer much like others who are song writers and arrangers for example?
Old 06-02-2008, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)

Yuh mean with all the talk that does go on here about producers no one eh nutn to say. Nah man...maybe no one saw this thread so let meh bump it .
Old 06-03-2008, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by De Geechee Vincy View Post
The producer is the one who makes the music. The Executive Producer, in most cases, doesn't have anything to do with the creative song making process. They usually fund the project.
Does he/she make the melody and the arrangement? Isn't it true that it depends on the situation....that an artist can come to a producer and a song, melody and arrangement and all he has to do is mix the music whereas on the other hand it is possible that the producer can be responsible for all of the above from soup to nuts and the artist just comes into the studio and sings what the producer has already laid out for him/her.
Old 06-03-2008, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)

In fact if you have a live studio band and an arranger the job of the producer becomes a very simple one.
Old 06-03-2008, 05:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
My Muzik, My Life

Credits: 524
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Does he/she make the melody and the arrangement? Isn't it true that it depends on the situation....that an artist can come to a producer and a song, melody and arrangement and all he has to do is mix the music whereas on the other hand it is possible that the producer can be responsible for all of the above from soup to nuts and the artist just comes into the studio and sings what the producer has already laid out for him/her.
in this case trini erm the one who actually mixes the song and or records the artist is called the "engineer",...a producer can do both sometimes too,..then u would be a producer/engineer hehe,..dont' kno if i answered u correctly,...also, the function of a producer can be to control the recording sessions, coach and guide the musicians as he see it fit,...or he can do as u just said also and have a simple job and just supervise the recording, mixing and mastering processes. Thats just my lil input,....
F.
P.s. your videos were informative too,..good going,...
Old 06-03-2008, 06:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
afterdark

Credits: 3,120
The Producer is always the cool guy in the music video with all the Women Money and around him...
Old 06-03-2008, 06:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
My Muzik, My Life

Originally Posted by Vincyshotta View Post
The Producer is always the cool guy in the music video with all the Women Money and around him...
ha...lol,..yeah dat too,..dat can work....lmao
F.
Old 06-04-2008, 08:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Qualified Mixologist

Credits: 27,448
THE PRODUCER IS THE MUSIC ARRANGER HE CAN ALSO BE THE ENGINER OF THE SONG.. MOST PRODUCERS DON'T EVEN ACTUALLY MAKE THE BEAT.. SOME OF THEM HAVE A TEAM OF GHOST PRODUCERS (BEAT MAKERS) MAKING THE BEATS AND THE PRODUCER ENGINEERS AND COMPOSE THE BEAT INTO A TRACK OR A SONG HE ACTUALLY BRIDGES AND TWIX THINGS AROUND.. IT KINDA HARD WHEN YOU HAVE TO SIT DOWN N TALK ABOUT IT.. DO U KNOW PUFFY IS CONSIDERED A PRODUCER EVEN IF HE DOESN'T DO A LICK OF WORK IN CREATING THE ACTUAL BEAT BUT JUST STAND AROUND N NOD IF HE LIKES IT OR NOT N TELLING THEM WHAT TO ADD OR TAKE OUT..

ANOTHER EXAMPLE

DR DRE STILL DRE U MAY THINK IT WAS DRE WHO CREATED THE BEAT OVER ALL RIGHT SINCE IT LABELS HIM AS THE PRODUCER OF THE TRACK.. ACTUALLY IT WAS SCOTT STORCH WHO DID THE OVER ALL.. IM TALKING ABOUT THE CLASSIC PIANO STABS HE DID WAS ALL HIM.. MUCH OF TIMBERLAND BEATS WASNT EVN DONE BY HIM LOL IT KINDA FUNNY.. EXAMPLE I NEED A RIDE OR DIE CHICK AND AYO TECHNOLOGY OR EVEN PROMISCUOUS GIRLUS GIRL WAS DONE BY OTHER GHOST PRODUCERS UNDER TIMBO BUT HE GETS THE LEAD CREDS 4 PRODUCING THE JOINT CAUSE TECHNICALY HE DID PRODUCE THE SONG AS IN ARRANGING THE BEAT WITH THE SONG..

CHECK OUT TIMBERLAND NUMBER ONE PRODUCER "dANJA" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="344">"]DANJ[/URL]A" HE ALSO DID THAT WE TAKIN OVER JOINT WIT DJ QALID LOL
Old 06-04-2008, 11:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
My Muzik, My Life

Originally Posted by $mokey View Post
THE PRODUCER IS THE MUSIC ARRANGER HE CAN ALSO BE THE ENGINER OF THE SONG.. MOST PRODUCERS DON'T EVEN ACTUALLY MAKE THE BEAT.. SOME OF THEM HAVE A TEAM OF GHOST PRODUCERS (BEAT MAKERS) MAKING THE BEATS AND THE PRODUCER ENGINEERS AND COMPOSE THE BEAT INTO A TRACK OR A SONG HE ACTUALLY BRIDGES AND TWIX THINGS AROUND.. IT KINDA HARD WHEN YOU HAVE TO SIT DOWN N TALK ABOUT IT.. DO U KNOW PUFFY IS CONSIDERED A PRODUCER EVEN IF HE DOESN'T DO A LICK OF WORK IN CREATING THE ACTUAL BEAT BUT JUST STAND AROUND N NOD IF HE LIKES IT OR NOT N TELLING THEM WHAT TO ADD OR TAKE OUT..

ANOTHER EXAMPLE

DR DRE STILL DRE U MAY THINK IT WAS DRE WHO CREATED THE BEAT OVER ALL RIGHT SINCE IT LABELS HIM AS THE PRODUCER OF THE TRACK.. ACTUALLY IT WAS SCOTT STORCH WHO DID THE OVER ALL.. IM TALKING ABOUT THE CLASSIC PIANO STABS HE DID WAS ALL HIM.. MUCH OF TIMBERLAND BEATS WASNT EVN DONE BY HIM LOL IT KINDA FUNNY.. EXAMPLE I NEED A RIDE OR DIE CHICK AND AYO TECHNOLOGY OR EVEN PROMISCUOUS GIRLUS GIRL WAS DONE BY OTHER GHOST PRODUCERS UNDER TIMBO BUT HE GETS THE LEAD CREDS 4 PRODUCING THE JOINT CAUSE TECHNICALY HE DID PRODUCE THE SONG AS IN ARRANGING THE BEAT WITH THE SONG..

CHECK OUT TIMBERLAND NUMBER ONE PRODUCER "dANJA" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="344">"]DANJ[/URL]A" HE ALSO DID THAT WE TAKIN OVER JOINT WIT DJ QALID LOL
Nice,..
F.
Old 06-26-2008, 01:46 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 340
very true...

alot of ppl dont realize that there are just beat makers and the producers are sometimes just the person putting everything together..

the beat/riddim
the artist
the song
and the mix and mastering...

end product = the song

good post..

bless
Old 06-26-2008, 01:49 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 340
Are there any producers on the board or anyone have links to producers...

would like to get in touch with some ppl..

bless
Old 06-26-2008, 02:00 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 686
Originally Posted by $mokey View Post

ANOTHER EXAMPLE

For real eh. I've always heard that before but you went more in depth with it. which is good. Ghost producers need WAY more cred then they receive because take a song like "Still Dre", the beat carried that song for me in my opinion.
Old 06-26-2008, 02:02 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 686
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
In fact if you have a live studio band and an arranger the job of the producer becomes a very simple one.
Dede, forgive me, I'm suspicious by nature but, I sense a setup coming here.

If I had money, I would be willing to bet you gonna use this argument whenever VP starts talking about how Vincy producers make songs for Trini artists/bands.

I'll just have to wait and see.
Old 06-26-2008, 05:12 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post
Dede, forgive me, I'm suspicious by nature but, I sense a setup coming here.

If I had money, I would be willing to bet you gonna use this argument whenever VP starts talking about how Vincy producers make songs for Trini artists/bands.

I'll just have to wait and see.
Only motivation is to bring clarity to the term "producer". It can mean different things depending on the situation. Its conceivable that the "producer" could have basically spent his time twiddling his thumb while the song is made whereas in other cases the producer may be involved from soup to nuts in building the song...lyrics and music.
Old 06-27-2008, 12:33 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 124
Here it goes where music is concerned, the term "PRODUCER" is misused, it is a misconception that the producer is the person that made the beat, that is actually the COMPOSER, where music is concerned the PRODUCER is the equivalent of a movie DIRECTOR, the MUSIC PRODUCER's role is to orchestrate the whole recoding/song making process from concept to completion.

EXCELLENT POST TOPIC keep them coming!