Old 10-02-2008, 02:24 AM   #46 (permalink)
Fam Congo

Credits: 13,956
so what kind of music would you msot likely hear in you guys parties???
Old 10-02-2008, 02:25 AM   #47 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,264
Originally Posted by soraya View Post
Whose parties?

Further, since when are parties the only or best way to determine what people listen to?
Old 10-02-2008, 02:32 AM   #48 (permalink)
Fam Congo

typical trini people party?

Originally Posted by dollbabi View Post
Whose parties?

Further, since when are parties the only or best way to determine what people listen to?
Old 10-02-2008, 02:43 AM   #49 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,264
typical trini people party?
Depends on the people and the time of year. I don't party very much but...

Soca, calypso, chutney, reggae, parang, hip hop, R&B, even filmi tunes (2 other languages possible there already)...sometimes salsa or merengue or zouk here and there etc.

And again, further, since when are parties the only or best way to determine what people listen to? And do you think that possible the issue of not hearing much French Caribbean music is one of insufficient promotion?
Old 10-02-2008, 09:04 PM   #50 (permalink)

Credits: 7,234
In miami the latin thing is very big (along w. the reggae calypso, soca and dancehall)

In brooklyn, a lot of DJs make it a point to play the full spectrum of Caribbean music.

Incidentally, i've never heard of a Francophone caribbean person listening to chutney or parang or tuk.

Reggae is popular because of Bob in the world and because jamaicans are so different in the caribbean, its a novelty, kind of like a kool thing to be down w. them (same w. the US). Soca is popular because it is so diverse a genre, everybody can put their own spin on it.

I like zouk, but it just sounds like 80s soca to me and as a young person i don't really fuk w. it that much. I'm more into Coupe Decale and Soukous.

Kompas isn't marketed enough. I live in south miami, but not near homestead so i'm really far from caribbean boulevard and even farther from lil haiti (which is up north). Who else is gonna spark me up 2 da kompa?

Also, haitians are looked down upon in miami so anything haitian is not likely to thrive outside of the two areas mentioned. Its wrong, but true.
I never knew why though, i think they're sexy.
Carnival: carne valle: farewell flesh means it is time to be myself in all my godly glory. I am a man created in God's image, making me beautiful. We get half naked in the bright sun, soak up some vitamin D and jump to a rythm because as human beings, rythms entrance us; they harken to our mothers' rhythmic heartbeat in the womb. Its a natural, healthy experience.
Old 10-24-2008, 09:23 AM   #51 (permalink)

Credits: 11,861
HAL LINTON GET SIGN!!!!

Caribbean Beat Blog: Hal Linton joins the Motown family
Old 10-27-2008, 11:03 PM   #52 (permalink)

Credits: 2,291
Originally Posted by anakonda View Post
In Martinique ,we listen to music from all around the globe, be it in french ,english , spanish, portuguese, african language etc etc...one question to all english speaking people : Why do u only listen to music in English ? i say so cuz here we have people who think they have to do music in english to penetrate the anglophone caribbean. I find this stupid. Why do u want to understand the lyrics of a song to appreciate it. If we did so here , few people would listen to reggae , soca , r&b, hip hop etc etc...

I tend to listen more to African (central, East, West) and Afro Latin music than any other genres. Have plenty of kompa, gwo ka and zouk too. Life's too short and music too sweet.
Old 10-27-2008, 11:09 PM   #53 (permalink)

Credits: 2,291
Originally Posted by dollbabi View Post
Why are you acting like the English speaking Caribbean is only what you want to make it out to be? Why are you acting like you don't know exactly what I was speaking about in the first place?

My statement was as follows many people listen to music that isn't in English or completely in English. It does not have to be your preferred types music. In Trini and Guyanese parties, you will very will hear music not in English - whether it is our own or not. What about Dominica or St. Lucia? Both are English speaking islands, but also speak Kreyol. Do you feel they don't jam to non-English speaking music either?

The English speaking Caribbean is likely far more diverse than the French/Kreyol speaking nations, such that one cannot just easily lump them all into one category or mode. Which is why I stated that there is a lack of exposure to the english speaking caribbean among some others...
I think that French and Dutch Caribbean nationals tend to be more multi lingual than we are. Also, some of us have inherited the same narrow mindedness that plague speakers of the dominant language, english.
Old 10-28-2008, 06:26 PM   #54 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Credits: 16,529
Originally Posted by ken_yatta View Post
I think that French and Dutch Caribbean nationals tend to be more multi lingual than we are. Also, some of us have inherited the same narrow mindedness that plague speakers of the dominant language, english.
I agree^^^. The French and Dutch Caribbean are just about the only places where you can hear broad diverse genres year-round. Foreign genres are well received and constantly played on the radios and at parties
Old 10-28-2008, 06:35 PM   #55 (permalink)
Fam Congo

thank you

Old 10-28-2008, 07:30 PM   #56 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Credits: 30,127
yup you are absolutely correct... go to st.maarten/st.martin and you hear a diverse of music basically all caribbean nations thats one island in the caribbean on a whole who play basically all the islands music from spanish dutch french english music

haiti dominican republic aruba belize trinidad barbados st.kitts nevis anguilla virgin islands dominica antigua grenada st.vincent saba st.eustatius(statia) montserrat st.lucia guyana you name it all those islands i mention you go st.maarten/st.martin and you hear them even st.martin have their own style of soca and zouk.

I love Sweet Original Creative Audio (SOCA)
Old 04-26-2009, 06:43 PM   #57 (permalink)

Credits: 11,861
I love Paper Chase!!!

I know it ain't new but I going put it up just the same.

MySpace Music - My Playlist by Ayana John on MySpace Music - listen to songs & purchase MP3s
Old 04-27-2009, 11:27 AM   #58 (permalink)

Credits: 20,796

So we have named:

dancehall
reggae
zouk
kompa
ska
chutney
tassa
parang
kaiso
pan
Rapso
mento
extempo
rock
rnb
rap
tuk
spouse (??)
cadence

so i have added this:

PUNTA ROCK

dont yall lucians listen to country music? ent'

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 04-27-2009, 11:32 AM   #59 (permalink)

Credits: 140,814
Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
So we have named:

dancehall
reggae
zouk
kompa
ska
chutney
tassa
parang
kaiso
pan
Rapso
mento
extempo
rock
rnb
rap
tuk
spouse (??)
cadence

so i have added this:

PUNTA ROCK

dont yall lucians listen to country music? ent'
COUNTRY n WESTERN is LUCIA'S MUSICAL ART FORM to LISTEN to. Odh MEK dem FOOL yuh.
Old 04-27-2009, 11:38 AM   #60 (permalink)

Credits: 140,814
RAGGA SOCA

VINCY sytle.