islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Old 03-11-2011, 12:09 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 58,717
Post Munro: Iwer Can Only Blame Himself

News on Why Iwer George didnt win Soca Monarch

Originally Posted by Joel Julien @ Trinidad Express

ORIGINAL SOURCE

SOCA artiste Neil "Iwer" George has no one but himself to blame for his second-place finish in Friday's Power Soca Monarch competition, the show's organiser, William Munro, has said.

"Iwer has to blame himself (for not winning). Iwer has to understand he didn't obey the rules of the competition. He can't blame anybody; he has to blame himself," Munro said in a telephone interview yesterday.

Machel Montano won the competition's $2 million first prize by three points more than George, Munro, founder of Caribbean Prestige Foundation (CPF), said. Ian "Bunji Garlin" Alvarez was third, one point behind George, and Fay-Ann Lyons-Alvarez was fourth, ten points behind Montano, Munro said, although he noted he could not recall the exact tally of points for each artiste.

Montano was named the winner around 5.30 a.m. on Saturday, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain. However, hundreds of patrons, who felt George should have won, booed in response to the announcement.

Yesterday, however, Munro said, "George bullied the backstage. He listened to nobody. He had too many people on stage, and he stayed on stage too long. He beat himself."

Artistes were allocated eight minutes stage time for their performance, Munro said. Montano performed for 12 minutes while George performed for 14 minutes. The rules state an artiste can only have 25 props on stage during their performance, Munro added.

"Iwer had 40 to 50 people on stage with him," Munro said.

The head of security for the Power Soca Monarch, who requested anonymity, described George's behaviour backstage as "despicable".

"The artistes need to learn to conduct themselves properly. George's behaviour was despicable. He had no discipline whatsoever. This is one of the things that must be highlighted; George's behaviour was despicable," the security head said.

"When someone is seated in a judging position, it is completely different from when they are in the crowd jumping and waving," Munro noted.

In a telephone interview yesterday, George declined to comment on the accusations levelled by Munro.

"I do not wish to comment on Munro's statement. I prefer to remain quiet because right now, the people are talking for me and when the people are talking, you can't interrupt them. When the people have stopped talking for me, then I will say what I have to say," George said.

Judges allocated 80 per cent of the points while text messages from bmobile customers contributed to the remaining 20 per cent of the points used to decide the winner of the competition.

Contacted on the voting by text messages, Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago (TSTT) manager Media Relations and Corporation Communications Graeme Suite said Montano received more text messages than George, Alvarez and Lyons-Alvarez combined. Montano received close to 17,000 of the 50,000 text messages received for the Power Soca Monarch finals while George got just over 7,500 text messages.

On Sunday, chief adjudicator Roy Edwards defended their choice of Montano as the winner.

"We did the best that we could do. And I stand by the choice that Mr Montano was the winner of the competition after we tallied the votes," Edwards said.

Edwards, Josephine Torrel-Taylor, Carlyle Babb, John Barry, Carl "Beaver" Henderson, Marcia Miranda, Joel Morris, Marva Newton and Christopher Seon were this year's judges.
;

Digga D - Unity Krew (UK)

www.twitter.com/diggasoca
www.largeradio.com/ every sundays 4pm to 6pm US (8-11pm UK)
http://calaloo.podOmatic.com
www.ustream.tv/channel/diggasoca
www.myspace.com/diggasoca

Old 03-11-2011, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
VINCY VIXEN

Credits: 446,435
Well this is definitely a SLAP to the face to all the ppl that bawling machel thief yes...that's y ppl can't come to conclusions just so without hearing the next side..I wonder what iwer have to say to defend that..man was clearly breaking rules which I noticed even before this article release hmmph smh

before you work on artificial intelligence why don't you do something about natural stupidity?

Instagram: dolcevivaa

MZ. VIVAA LA'BEAUTEE
http://www.facebook.com/originalvivaa

FOLLOW ME @VIVAA_ISLANDMIX
YOUTUBE.COM/EMPRESSPRIA
>SWQ SOCA DEMON<

add JULIANS PROMOS on fb!!
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Julianspromos/120452304696597

Old 03-11-2011, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 67,775
Complete and utter lies. Superblue brought 50+ people on stage for many soca monarch performances and won.
Old 03-11-2011, 01:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Checkin de scene..

Credits: 4,071
Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
Complete and utter lies. Superblue brought 50+ people on stage for many soca monarch performances and won.
Yep!
I want to see what the rules and regulations are for SM.
Obviously, Munro must come out and do he lil public relations assness, cause people are still not pleased about what happened. His ass laughing all the way to the bank though.

Last edited by trinifuhso; 03-11-2011 at 03:52 PM..
Old 03-11-2011, 01:13 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 11,986
Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
The judges don't see what goes on backstage, so why is this coming as a comment from the individual who hosted the show. Mr. Munroe needs to temper himself. From his comments it only appears that one artist got sanctioned for not follwing the rules, one got away with it and actually won the competition. This is terrible on the part of a promoter of such a show, this is one of those go tek dat moments.
Old 03-11-2011, 01:17 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 399,777
Originally Posted by VINCYSHENNY View Post
Well this is definitely a SLAP to the face to all the ppl that bawling machel thief yes...that's y ppl can't come to conclusions just so without hearing the next side..I wonder what iwer have to say to defend that..man was clearly breaking rules which I noticed even before this article release hmmph smh
U believe dat???

So y did he get 2nd place then..as opposed to last?
Old 03-11-2011, 01:41 PM   #7 (permalink)

Soca monarch performances where there were just as many people as Iwer that won:

Superblue - bounce
Superblue - lara
Superblue - bacchanal time
Superblue - Flag Party
Superblue - Soca Matrix
Kurt Allen - Dus Dem

And when Shurwayne 'released de riddim' in 2006 and had the lavantille riddem section + dancers + about 3 or 4 panmen that had to be at least 30 peolpe on stage, and I'm pretty sure close to 40.

Also, did Bunji win in 2002 with From de Ghetto and have a bunch of people on stage?

Last edited by RotiKing2004eva; 03-11-2011 at 01:45 PM..
Old 03-11-2011, 01:42 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
U believe dat???

The only reason Iwer lost is because he was judged based on my signature.
Old 03-11-2011, 01:59 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 95,091
Originally Posted by caribarts View Post
The judges don't see what goes on backstage, so why is this coming as a comment from the individual who hosted the show. Mr. Munroe needs to temper himself. From his comments it only appears that one artist got sanctioned for not follwing the rules, one got away with it and actually won the competition. This is terrible on the part of a promoter of such a show, this is one of those go tek dat moments.
I was wondering... Machel also had more ppl than allowed on stage so wuh?

Lmao.. Munroe is too much yes... smh

The saint and the sinner are just exchanging notes. Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

The matador wins by avoiding the bull not colliding with him!

Old 03-11-2011, 02:14 PM   #10 (permalink)

Artistes were allocated eight minutes stage time for their performance, Munro said. Montano performed for 12 minutes while George performed for 14 minutes. The rules state an artiste can only have 25 props on stage during their performance, Munro added.
So, if Machel and Iwer both broke the rule, then Bunji is Champion...HOLD A BURN!!!!!
Old 03-11-2011, 02:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
VINCY VIXEN

Credits: 446,435
Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
U believe dat???

he lost by three points...machel also went over the time limit but he didnt have half of trinidad on the stage

obviously the rules have changed ppl....idk when but i agree with having a certain amount of props onstage...when you have that much ppl it distracts from the artist's performance

before you work on artificial intelligence why don't you do something about natural stupidity?

Instagram: dolcevivaa

MZ. VIVAA LA'BEAUTEE
http://www.facebook.com/originalvivaa

FOLLOW ME @VIVAA_ISLANDMIX
YOUTUBE.COM/EMPRESSPRIA
>SWQ SOCA DEMON<

add JULIANS PROMOS on fb!!
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Julianspromos/120452304696597

Old 03-11-2011, 02:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Doing Mafia Training

Credits: 226
Yeah so machel didn't break any right? My girl I don't know you personally but don't make Munro turn you into an ass nuh. Why don't they say how many texts came before the performances since 20% is a significan alotment for votes that are allowed some nearly 16 hours before? Why was Iwer only 3 points behind Machel for these serious violations? Why has this not factored in, in the past when various other winners especially Super Blue had an abundance of "props" on the stage? SLAP in the face to who? Only the rabid jackasses that call themselves fans of MM will see this as an even remotely plausible explanation. The reality is this is all part of a bigger ploy to Market Machel Montano commercially as the face of Carnival. You can't vigorously market your 2nd place finisher as the reason to visit can you? No one else was ever going to win this competition no matter how overwhelmingly blatant it was that they should have triumphed. Other than Montano fans it don't have many who attended that even remotely see Machel as being worthy of winning. I'm sure all the foreigners who watched on the internet swear they understood clearly what happened though. Afterall machel was their champ since 8:01 am on Fantastic Friday.
Old 03-11-2011, 02:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
DCDB

Credits: 123,021
i havent responded to any monarch/post monarch thread..... until now at least.... but i noticed a lot of biasness in these threads.... Some people have favorite artist and thats great, we all do.... but some of you need to really take de yampee out ya eyes, and see things for what they really are.....
Old 03-11-2011, 02:31 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Qadamawi View Post
i havent responded to any monarch/post monarch thread..... until now at least.... but i noticed a lot of biasness in these threads.... Some people have favorite artist and thats great, we all do.... but some of you need to really take de yampee out ya eyes, and see things for what they really are.....
How are things really?
Old 03-11-2011, 02:35 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 3,252
Originally Posted by Santana View Post
Yeah so machel didn't break any right? My girl I don't know you personally but don't make Munro turn you into an ass nuh. Why don't they say how many texts came before the performances since 20% is a significan alotment for votes that are allowed some nearly 16 hours before? Why was Iwer only 3 points behind Machel for these serious violations? Why has this not factored in, in the past when various other winners especially Super Blue had an abundance of "props" on the stage? SLAP in the face to who? Only the rabid jackasses that call themselves fans of MM will see this as an even remotely plausible explanation. The reality is this is all part of a bigger ploy to Market Machel Montano commercially as the face of Carnival. You can't vigorously market your 2nd place finisher as the reason to visit can you? No one else was ever going to win this competition no matter how overwhelmingly blatant it was that they should have triumphed. Other than Montano fans it don't have many who attended that even remotely see Machel as being worthy of winning. I'm sure all the foreigners who watched on the internet swear they understood clearly what happened though. Afterall machel was their champ since 8:01 am on Fantastic Friday.
I agree boss. Don't ever believe any and everything that you read. This is just complete damage control on the part of Munroe to repair the harm that has been done to the Soca Monarch brand!!

He's a millionaire and he feel say West Indian people are poor, uneducated idiots that he can fool whenever necessary to save face. He knows his plan was to ensure a MAchel victory no matter the cost. It was easy for him because the difference between the performances of Iwer, MAchel & Bunji were somewhat close.

Those of us with an ounce of intelligence know not to accept this statement without thorough investigation.

I for one don't believe a word of it.