Old 08-07-2005, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
bajandobad84

Wink MTV Caribbean

i have read the websites about this new feature addin to de taste of de caribbean. but i am ponderin thinkin bout de future of the soca industry with the introduction of this music television network. the question i must ask is WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO THE SOCA WORLD WHEN MTV COMES ONBOARD? the reason fuh this cause we already know wat will dominate this network, reggae,reggaton, latin music etc, and also groovy soca or ragga soca. i was ponderin would we forget de fast up tempo soca fuh our carnivals and focus more on the groovy soca so we could break out in the international market. for instance, this crop over barbados produced a lot of groovy soca tunes than fast soca tunes which was unlikely in the past, so when this network comes on stream, R WE GOIN TO LOSE OUR TASTE FUH DE UPTEMPO TUNES FUH DE CARNIVALS? and if we lose our taste then that will mean that carnivals done all over de caribbean. i think they should be a balance cause we will put out our music year round and leave out de fast tunes. tell me what u guys think and wat will be advantages and disadvantages of this new network. and is this mtv caribbean being based in a caribbean island?

Last edited by bajandobad84; 08-07-2005 at 04:35 PM..
Old 08-07-2005, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 140,591
Originally Posted by bajandobad84
i have read the websites about this new feature addin to de taste of de caribbean. but i am ponderin thinkin bout de future of the soca industry with the introduction of this music television network. the question i must ask is WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO THE SOCA WORLD WHEN MTV COMES ONBOARD? the reason fuh this cause we already know wat will dominate this network, reggae,reggaton, latin music etc, and also groovy soca or ragga soca. i was ponderin would we forget de fast up tempo soca fuh our carnivals and focus more on the groovy soca so we could break out in the international market. for instance, this crop over barbados produced a lot of groovy soca tunes than fast soca which was unlikely in the past, so when this network comes on stream, R WE GOIN TO LOSE OUR TASTE FUH DE UPTEMPO TUNES FUH DE CARNIVALS? and if we lose our taste then that will mean that carnivals done all over de caribbean. i think they should be a balance cause we will put out our music year round and leave out de fast tunes. tell me what u guys think and wat will be advantages and disadvantages of this new network. and is this mtv caribbean be based in a caribbean island?
The ADVANTAGE: More exposure for SOCA

The DISADVANTAGE: Less EXPOSURE for SOCA
Old 08-07-2005, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 627
I think Soca going mainstream will damage the culture because of the $$. The more famous it gets it will eventually have the same result as hip hop. The artists will get lazy and start to put out garbage. MTV tempo is based in NY but they plan to have a Caribbean Office.
Old 08-07-2005, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Archie913
I think Soca going mainstream will damage the culture because of the $$. The more famous it gets it will eventually have the same result as hip hop. The artists will get lazy and start to put out garbage.

Mannnnn, that ALREADY started since the LATE 90's
Old 08-07-2005, 04:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
bajandobad84

Wink give me more, powa, u can do better than that

SOCA IN WAT SENSE? they r different types of soca, powa, i am talkin bout the up tempo soca. raggasoca is not the true form of soca, soca is a mixture of somethin with somethin, not reggae, which is not its true form. and exposure could lead to exploitation, vincypowa. do u know wat exploitation is? there is rapso, popso and wateva, not the true form of the original soca, i know music must evolve but wat will happen to the origins of it. take fuh instance de reggeaton which de jamaicans started in panama (heard over the radio this mornin), and look now who gets recognition fuh it (the latinos).
Old 08-07-2005, 04:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
bajandobad84

Wink thanks archie

soca goin mainstream will definitely damage we culture just fuh de bling bling. that i was sayin earlier, exploitation. and i also will see it not only fuh caribbean artistes but de americans and and de british etc will get to use the same network so they could get close to us through their own culture. not only soca, reggae, reggaeton will be on it but pop, hip hop, rap, country too (big boost fuh st.lucia and de other country singin islands), etc. we must also include de spanish speakin countries that will surely take their advantage in dominatin it. WHY SHOULD SOCA CHANGE AND NOT CUBAN SALSA OR ANY OTHER FORM?
Old 08-07-2005, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 42
I don't even know what to say about this but they already callin soca music reggae so what will become of it and it does seem like it is based in a caribbean island as mentioned before
Old 08-07-2005, 04:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
bajandobad84

Wink

an office and being based are two different things. the island will be an offshore thing and i could say it will be JAMAICA.
Old 08-07-2005, 05:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,821
an office and being based are two different things. the island will be an offshore thing and i could say it will be JAMAICA.
i hope not i rather trinidad barbados or even the grenadines
Old 08-07-2005, 05:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,821
when is this station suppose to air.
Old 08-07-2005, 05:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
bajandobad84

Wink vincysocadiva

i read it is to debut on north american stations in october or november. i can bet it will be in JAMAICA, although BARBADOS will be a very good place. tell me wat u all will think about the network. but reggae is way bigger than soca so they will go fuh JAMAICA on the caribbean base. the spokeswoman fuh de MTV network is barbadian so she will have to add in her bit inorder for it to be in BARBADOS.
Old 08-07-2005, 05:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,837
I can already see it, lots of reggae, reggaeton, and the mainstream soca are going to be played on this channel.....it's been this way on the radio stations, BET, and regular MTV for a while now. I doubt that their going to expose true soca.....NOT having the Americans exposed to true soca is not really a bad idea. They take our music and turn it into that mainstream crap...which sucks. But it would be beneficial to our soca community to have our music played and not tampered with....who knows when that will happen?? As for carnival.....come on.....would we really allow the mainstream crap to take over?
Old 08-07-2005, 05:29 PM   #13 (permalink)

SOCA IN WAT SENSE? they r different types of soca, powa, i am talkin bout the up tempo soca. raggasoca is not the true form of soca, soca is a mixture of somethin with somethin, not reggae, which is not its true form. and exposure could lead to exploitation, vincypowa. do u know wat exploitation is? there is rapso, popso and wateva, not the true form of the original soca, i know music must evolve but wat will happen to the origins of it. take fuh instance de reggeaton which de jamaicans started in panama (heard over the radio this mornin), and look now who gets recognition fuh it (the latinos).
You're going to go down a PATH of ARGUMENTATION if you're talking about ORIGINAL soca, because what is so-called ORIGINAL SOCA is not what is played in Bim, Vincy, Antigua, St. Kitts, BVI, St. Lucia, Grenada or even Trinidad.

So that point has already been LOST.

This term GROOVY SOCA only existed this year. In St. Vincent and the Grenadines that term is REFERRED to as RAGGA SOCA. There are two elements within RAGGA SOCA that we're known for in St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

You have the MELLOW version, like ON FIRE - Skarpyon and then you have the more uptempo version, with the dub chanting, like NOOKIE - Jamesy P
Below you can listen to others.....

SLOW MO - Great Zee. Feat. Skinny Fabulous.

Booty Call - HS Phaktor feat. Bomani

All I Need - HS Phaktor feat. Maxx

Well, I will let ICE from Troot's n' Ice tell you what type of song they're singing in the beginning of their BIG hit SENORITA.

As far as why MTV Caribbean is more and less exposure for Soca music is simple.

Soca will definitely get EXPOSED on that CHANNEL. However, I feel that it will be OVERSHADOWED by its more ESTABLISHED counterpart. I am referring to reggae.

Also, with the GREAT interest in Reggaeton, you will see that genre getting more EXPOSURE than soca.

The LATIN market is way bigger than the ENGLISH speaking Caribbean market. Therefore MTV Caribbean, which is looking to make MONEY, is going to cater MORESO to the market that is going to give it more VISIBILITY, a bigger audience, and more revenue.

The odd thing about the MTV Caribbean's name, which is TEMPO, is, the New York Post carries a magazine like section, I believe every Wednesday, with the same name of TEMPO.

And guess which GROUP it is SOLELY dedicated to? You got it, the LATIN AMERICAN community.

I just find that to be STRIKINGLY odd. Maybe it is just a COINCIDENCE.

So this is why I said soca will get more exposure, while at the same time getting LESS exposure.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 08-07-2005 at 06:01 PM..
Old 08-07-2005, 05:31 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva**
when is this station suppose to air.
It will DEBUT in the Caribbean in OCTOBER 2005 and in NORTH America sometime in 2006.
Old 08-07-2005, 06:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
bajandobad84

Wink powa open ya eyes wider

groovy soca ragga soca same thing, in barbados we also call it ragga soca, which is an evolution of the soca. i agree with the spanish speakin section of this hemisphere but not in agreement with more exposure of soca on this network. and because we want to be marketed our countries will produce the ragga soca than the fast tempo soca. and we have to differentiate wat we will be producin to them so we will not be called jamaicans or reggae artistes(no offence to jamaicans just bring cross a point). look at wat rupee is singin with lil kim, is that soca? doesn;t seem so to me. and kevin (remix with spragga benz, pure dancehall). still waitin for other views. and powa, let's put exposure to a side and look at it from a caribbean national point of view where soca originated. i read it will be debuted in the states first before the caribbean. u know that mtv have their own awards, so wat will be the award for soca called?
BEST MALE SOCA ARTISTE
BEST FEMALE SOCA ARTISTE

and i could say that ragga or groovy part is not goin to be on that award. they will put in one word SOCA. and also who will post their videos on this network, a person who has an american recording contract or a person with a caribbean recording contract?

Last edited by bajandobad84; 08-07-2005 at 06:40 PM..