Credits: 2,751
Montano Interview
covers a lot of what we've been talking about recently from riddims, performances, controversy, etc.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index...ag?id=22953879 salty |
Credits: 4,331
Lawd...man can talk.
Nice interview though:) |
Closet Exhibitionist
Credits: 3,986
Machel....brutally honest....still nice interview
Credits: 2,751
so what does n e 1 think of the interview?
salty |
Credits: 4,331
As much honesty as there might be in there(ie...women are god's gift to him)...I find he not fully outright about the Atlantic deal. Anyways, it's nice to see him acknowledging that spending a lot of time on a cd(Heavy Duty), getting to know each other...produces a GOOD album.
Closet Exhibitionist
Credits: 10,157
Good interview. He sound like a smart business man.
He mentioned a tv show broadcasted in england that can be seen worldwide. DOes anyone have that information to recieve it here in NY? |
xtremeintl.com
Credits: 14,613
I didn't see anything wrong with what he said about his dealings with Atlantic.....maybe others are privy to information they aren't sharing.....but he said they wanted his music to sound a certain way, wanted to work with producers who weren't interested in the music.......sounds more than plausible to me. Somebody know something more they care to share?
My favourite exchange from the interview was this: Q: With Rupee and Kevin Little, people are saying why is it that soca is supposed to be ours, Trinidad and Tobago and Rupee might be the one to push it and Kevin Little might be the one to push it. A: Who are the people saying this? Soca does not belong to Trinidad and Tobago first of all. No music belongs to nowhere and whoever these people are, tell them shut the (expletive) up, cause I fed up of that (expletive) talk. I can't even answer to these things. I can't answer to stupid people anymore. It doesn't matter who breaks the music. What? Will Trinidad and Tobago get a Nobel Peace prize if Machel Montano break it and Kevin Little don't break it? All of us going to get 10 weeks backpay? These things are irrelevant. In life focus on what you have to do and get it done. ![]() |
Closet Exhibitionist
that was my favorite too..... |
Born Again
Credits: 865
Wow Machel is a really down to earth and honest man... Really informative interview. I feel he is good representation of ah artiste who know what people want. Good interview!
Credits: 1,277
Yeah...ah know that would make allyuh 'Pan-Caribbeanites' happy :rolleyes...lol
My favorites: "I mean most of the intelligent people of Trinidad and Tobago already know. I don't know what is the issue, everybody knows what it is. It is Xtatik, we had marching band elements so everybody knows what a marching band is and we march in the road as Trinidadians. So the road marching band, a marching band on parade. I don't even understand where the physics come into it (CS made reference to Iwer's statements). You could actually quote a nonsensical statement. I can't. I don't even hear things that don't make sense. Everybody knows what Xtatik Road Marching Band is, the rest is words." Iwer put dat in yuh pipe and smoke it "Why we all not spiritually sound like Allah, and these guys are role models. " wtf...yet another reason to keep the philosophizing to ah minimum.... "I also see women as a work in progress in my life. I am not here to focus on women, I am here to focus on my purpose, the woman thing is incidental and I try to deal with it the best way I could and I think I ain't doing that bad. " ok...I ent too too bright. Whey it is he really saying here ![]() |
Born Again
Credits: 865
Credits: 7,013
soca revolutionary
Credits: 6,628
Wifey
Credits: 349
I'm like an animal. I am a Sagittarius, half man, half beast, that's it. Split personality. Yuh know we do mad things when we sick.
Always good to learn more about the man, and we Sags have to stick together.....we head gone when it come to soca music ![]() |