Old 06-30-2008, 04:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,273
Is it me or wha???

It seem like for the last 2 years Machel comes out with his strongest and best material AFTER Trini Carnival??? Last year was wining season which was better than anything else he put out and this year it seem like Tempa Wine and Push are two songs that i think are better and have more staying power than his Trini Carnival songs. Can anyone think of any logical reason for why he's dropping bombs after Carnival? i must say that i like the whole idea of making music all year round though...
Old 06-30-2008, 09:06 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 20,803
he thinking out of the box...

Originally Posted by Rinababy View Post
It seem like for the last 2 years Machel comes out with his strongest and best material AFTER Trini Carnival??? Last year was wining season which was better than anything else he put out and this year it seem like Tempa Wine and Push are two songs that i think are better and have more staying power than his Trini Carnival songs. Can anyone think of any logical reason for why he's dropping bombs after Carnival? i must say that i like the whole idea of making music all year round though...
well one reason might be is that cos he knows how to PLEASE his thousands upon thousands.. of trinis come their carnival. he has probably realised that other islands are coming a bit different LYRICALLY and his following the boat and tryin to markert his own self for more EXPOSURE!.

but having said that it could also have been said for PATRICE ROBERTS who is also under the same UMBRELLA.

jus watch how crop over is gonna change slighty with SQUARE v MACHEL i dun know who mashing up fete!!! ... home advantage is one!

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 06-30-2008, 09:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,865
Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
well one reason might be is that cos he knows how to PLEASE his thousands upon thousands.. of trinis come their carnival. he has probably realised that other islands are coming a bit different LYRICALLY and his following the boat and tryin to markert his own self for more EXPOSURE!.

but having said that it could also have been said for PATRICE ROBERTS who is also under the same UMBRELLA.

jus watch how crop over is gonna change slighty with SQUARE v MACHEL i dun know who mashing up fete!!! ... home advantage is one!
Old 06-30-2008, 09:12 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 153,653
Digga d...... check your pm .Buh it have more dan what you said... believe me.

buh...... i wonder if bajan artist are pleased with that machel coming in dey home town and taking radio play away from them.
Old 06-30-2008, 09:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Credits: 3,616

De man smart as tail........notice how its mostly ragga Soca he bring out round the summer.........during this time u have most of the Carnivals in the C'bean, Europe, US, Canada, UK .....

by the time Carnival come around the songs popular and he do a remix or two and refresh it......

I think its a marketing startegy to keep him fresh all year round.....Remember his name is already out there, so once he drop something new people want to hear it.......and wnat to hear him
Old 06-30-2008, 09:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Credits: 3,616

wel dese two fetes cant compare...

one is $200 early bird
the other is $35

Obviously one is catering for the masses...........and I will be with the masses

POSSE LEMME SEE YAH RAISE YAH HAND AND PUT THEM IN DE AIR !!!!!!
Old 06-30-2008, 01:17 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 685
Originally Posted by Dr Insane View Post
Digga d...... check your pm .Buh it have more dan what you said... believe me.

buh...... i wonder if bajan artist are pleased with that machel coming in dey home town and taking radio play away from them.
Is he really taking airplay from local artists ?
Farmer Nappy bust Chippin last year produced by the Red Boyz and that tune was as much a part of the Crop Over as any local tune.
You know why, because it was good.
Bunji, Anthony B, Macka Diamond, and other artists have, or have had tunes out for Crop Over, done by local producers, specifically for the season. If the tune is good. Then it will get play. Wha ever poor quality production or poorly written tune will not get play, regardless of if he has tunes out for Crop Over are not.
The tunes were produced in Barbados, specifically for Crop Over.
Nothing is stopping other artists doin the same for any festival in the region.

The main point of contention is the amounts that he is being paid in relation to an NCF event.
Old 06-30-2008, 01:23 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 140,942
It SIMPLY MEANS that the PRODUCERS in TRINIDAD are WACK.

MUDDERWUK!!!
Old 06-30-2008, 01:40 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 688
It SIMPLY MEANS that the PRODUCERS in TRINIDAD are WACK.

MUDDERWUK!!!
I saw this coming a MILE away. Jeez VP, take it easy on them man.
Old 06-30-2008, 01:45 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 688
Seems like Machel is trying to get out of the seasonality in Trinidad's soca scene by releasing in the summer for Cropover. I think he drops bomb during his carnival and cropover but maybe you find Machel sounds better on these Bajan style groovy songs.
Old 06-30-2008, 01:52 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 15,005

Boss dat Square One show is one not to be missed.
Old 06-30-2008, 02:35 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 160,135

Old 06-30-2008, 03:26 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 7,288
its just u

LOL
Old 06-30-2008, 03:53 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 81,013
Originally Posted by Ms. QT CuTe View Post
its just u

LOL
+1
Old 06-30-2008, 05:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
.......not ah shotta

Credits: 2,369
you think tempa wine & push have more staying power than make love or oil&music? lol, nah is just you in truth