Old 02-06-2006, 10:48 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 6,568
Machel retains title...

as the Soca king of the world.
What allyuh think?
In my opinion after sparrow, kitch, blue then come Machel
[SIZE=1]He have dem cacahole fusion music ideas but he soca still baddd[/SIZE]
Old 02-06-2006, 11:02 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 10,002
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
What allyuh think?
problem w. this is onyan is a musical genius so is oongku....edwin yearwood as well...

but as far as trinidad...yeah..but what if sherwayne win road march 3 times in a row ( probably not )? and bunji win soca monarch 3 times in a row ( maybe )?
Old 02-06-2006, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 140,970
When last was MACHEL a winner of a COMPETITION during TRINI carnival???
Old 02-06-2006, 11:13 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
1997 he win the road
Old 02-06-2006, 11:21 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 606
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
Machel was never really in the competitions plus he and Destra should have won in 2003.

There is no doubt that he is the reigning Monarch. He is consistently at the top. Blue took a break but revolutionized the genre during both periods, analagous to Jordan in basketball. Machel has been at the top every year since 1997. That is almost 10 years.

Nobody else besides those names SOS mentioned can even enter this discussion. This is not and island specific discussion. We talking UNIVERSAL here.
Old 02-06-2006, 11:26 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dumper
Machel was never really in the competitions plus he and Destra should have won in 2003.

There is no doubt that he is the reigning Monarch. He is consistently at the top. Blue took a break but revolutionized the genre during both periods, analagous to Jordan in basketball. Machel has been at the top every year since 1997. That is almost 10 years.

Nobody else besides those names SOS mentioned can even enter this discussion. This is not and island specific discussion. We talking UNIVERSAL here.
I agree with everything u said but 2003 dat was all Fayanne, but I dont think Vp wants to discuss titles. He knows exactly where i am comming from
Old 02-06-2006, 11:31 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 606
I agree with everything u said but 2003 dat was all Fayanne, but I dont think Vp wants to discuss titles. He knows exactly where i am comming from
Ah waiting for him to come with his s#!t.
Old 02-06-2006, 11:33 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dumper
Ah waiting for him to come with his s#!t.
Noone can deny MAchel greatness.
He obviously doesnt need titles to identify him
Old 02-06-2006, 11:34 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 148
What allyuh think?
machel is so amazing ...
Old 02-06-2006, 11:35 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 148
very true.. .. he don't need that.. the man could hold a crowd.. the man is just that great.. ya ain't see he have his own concert the same night as brass
Old 02-06-2006, 11:38 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,913
Soca King of the world? NO. I love that he's innovative and a great performer, he's fused soca with chutney, hip-hop, reggae so much, that I can't say it's really soca. I'd rather see him perform than listen to one of his cd's from recent years.
Old 02-06-2006, 11:52 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rummy
Soca King of the world? NO. I love that he's innovative and a great performer, he's fused soca with chutney, hip-hop, reggae so much, that I can't say it's really soca. I'd rather see him perform than listen to one of his cd's from recent years.
I wonder who u think is the king of the world
LOL I know who and i wont argue with u on that one
Old 02-06-2006, 01:11 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 2,913
I wonder who u think is the king of the world
LOL I know who and i wont argue with u on that one
I think to answer that question is really too difficult. Unlike the whole queen thread where there are few choices (and Alison has made a huge impact for others to follow), I can't say there is one person deserving of the title.
Old 02-06-2006, 02:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
In my Element

Credits: 41
What allyuh think?
Machel is the King of which world. Must be your dream world

He is good but I wouldn't give him the title, can't get that till he get old and grey or dead lol. I might give it to Ronnie or David
Old 02-06-2006, 02:05 PM   #15 (permalink)

speak the truth fadda