islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree8Likes

Old 02-22-2012, 02:06 PM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 17,001
Originally Posted by SWAGGERIFIC View Post
a St.Lucian produce P.Y.F?
Yes but the Roadmix was done by Precision Productions (Kasey Phillips and his team).
Old 02-22-2012, 02:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
I am glad Machel won! Allyuh know why?
I prefer a song composed with its own music win the RM than a riddim song!

Fay-Ann is getting lazy and I am glad she is not being rewarding for her laziness!!

She needs to go back to releasing individual power songs with its own music rather than relying completely on a riddim song to win her road march!

That's my opinion on the issue so well done to MM!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-22-2012, 02:09 PM   #18 (permalink)
Rebellicious

Credits: 145,797
Originally Posted by Trinizagada View Post
Yes but the Roadmix was done by Precision Productions (Kasey Phillips and his team).
mmmm ok.

I figured Kernal ent produced it, its really was lacking the oomph

F@(k U, you, uuu, & YOU! *middlefinger*

Old 02-22-2012, 02:10 PM   #19 (permalink)

Credits: 41,208
Originally Posted by Audree View Post
mmmm ok.

I figured Kernal ent produced it, its really was lacking the oomph
yes I think Kernel and Precision produce this...Kernel slacking for the past two years.
Old 02-22-2012, 02:21 PM   #20 (permalink)

Credits: 48,985
I like Fay Ann but I always say she need to build her catalog with regard to good groovy tunes..yes she is a mashup queen but in the long run if she values her overall artistry she would work with different producers from all over to see what could come from this.
do alot of artist do that, or do the core of their music come from one producer and they reach out to someone else every now and then. I am just asking not familiar with Trini soca music scene.

nah deuw deux la jhet mamow.... jwei avec mwen

Old 02-22-2012, 02:25 PM   #21 (permalink)

Credits: 41,208
Originally Posted by bhalistix View Post
do alot of artist do that, or do the core of their music come from one producer and they reach out to someone else every now and then. I am just asking not familiar with Trini soca music scene.
people who work with one producer end up sounding repetitve. e.g Machel with Kernel for his power songs, Fay Ann with 758 or whatever dey name. Kes could risk sounding repetitive if he stays only working wit Madmen.
Socapro likes this.
Old 02-22-2012, 02:28 PM   #22 (permalink)

Credits: 399,777
Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
I am glad Machel won! Allyuh know why?
I prefer a song composed with its own music win the RM than a riddim song!

Fay-Ann is getting lazy and I am glad she is not being rewarding for her laziness!!

She needs to go back to releasing individual power songs with its own music rather than relying completely on a riddim song to win her road march!

That's my opinion on the issue so well done to MM!
Socapro likes this.
Old 02-22-2012, 02:30 PM   #23 (permalink)

people who work with one producer end up sounding repetitve. e.g Machel with Kernel for his power songs, Fay Ann with 758 or whatever dey name. Kes could risk sounding repetitive if he stays only working wit Madmen.
thanks for the response you didn't answer the question though.
how long has machel been working with Kernel, and how successful has that union beeen.

Old 02-22-2012, 02:38 PM   #24 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
Originally Posted by bhalistix View Post
thanks for the response you didn't answer the question though.
how long has machel been working with Kernel, and how successful has that union beeen.
I think Machel has been working with Kernal from 2003 the year he did "Carnival" with Destra, so that's 10 years this year!

This year is Machel's 4th time winning a RM with a song produced and co-written by Kernal and his 5th RM overall in his career but keep in mind they have been producing strong road march contenders for most of those 10 years even when they didn't win RM.

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Last edited by Socapro; 02-22-2012 at 02:46 PM..
Old 02-22-2012, 02:42 PM   #25 (permalink)
passin thru

Credits: 15,819
Idk but I find the production wasn't bad--it was the lyrics' construction that didnt do it for me
Old 02-22-2012, 02:45 PM   #26 (permalink)

Credits: 399,777
Didnt he only do one song with Kernal this year?
Old 02-22-2012, 02:48 PM   #27 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
I think Machel has been working with Kernal from 2003 the year he did "Carnival" with Destra, so that's 10 years this year!

This year is Machel's 4th time winning a RM with a song produced and co-written by Kernal and his 5th RM overall in his career but keep in mind they have been producing strong road march contenders for most of those 10 years even when they didn't win RM.
if this is the case SWAGGER doesn't this blow away you premise.
Socapro likes this.

Old 02-22-2012, 02:59 PM   #28 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Credits: 1,012,907
No surprise...

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
I dunno, is it worse than Advantage? I can't tell...slack slack slack and back back back still makes me annoyed.

I'm a Machel fan, but when he sings tata, I call it like I see it.
I liked Advantage but still don't really like PYF.

I got the sweetest love...can't nothing beat it...there ain't nothing sweeter...

Old 02-22-2012, 03:23 PM   #29 (permalink)
Higher Level

Credits: 4,863
How can anybody like that b*tch Fay Ann?

Just look at her Twitter page.
Old 02-23-2012, 11:50 AM   #30 (permalink)

Credits: 1,195
This will go down in the HISTORY BOOK in the ANNULS OF SOCA MUSIC as the SHITTIEST ROAD MARCH WINNER EVER.

This song would be a DISTANT MEMORY in a few months just like that other ROAD MARCH WINNER of his from last year.

I dont even REMEMBER the name of the song.

Naya George, you can RELAX NOW, because WINER BOY has taken your crown as having the WORST ROAD SONG EVER.

Yours was that GARBAGE called TRINIDAD.

I remember when that song came on at this club I used to frequent and the DANCE FLOOR packed with people turned EMPTY after only about a quarter of the song was played.

YUHHHHHH SEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEE
you took the words right out of my mouth...glad i not the only one...this win only goes to show just how bias Trinidad carnival is...dere is noooo wayyyy...that P.Y.F is a better power soca than miss behanve - fyan, Colors - orlando, terrible- erphan, born ready - bunji...and the list goes on...my brother who was down dere for d mas...tell me he had to BEGGGG the DJ to play fay-ann song...and they still only play it twice...i guess they werent being paid to play it... thats why there werent so willing