Old 03-17-2007, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 6,438
Machel debate...

Jumbie best Machel since 2 young for soca?

He will never top 2 young for soca but where Jumbie fall on allyuh list?
Old 03-17-2007, 05:04 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,712
Originally Posted by saveoursoca View Post

Jumbie, best song in my book, I does feel it in meh soul! especially that badang badang badang part.
Old 03-17-2007, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 9,283
Nah, I will say Jumbie is his best since his ENTIRE 2000 album.
Old 03-17-2007, 05:59 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 9,863

carnival day all in town
big truck passin mama
all de people gather round
big truck passin mama
what dey want?
jump up on it!
what dey want?
jump behind it!
what dey want?
jump up on it?
what dey want?
Run behind it
run...

need it say more?

the lyrics to jumbie are great...but big truck captured carnival 100%...everybody runs behind a big truck and the parallel between a big truck and a big bottom woman is too good...

big truck is machels best song
jumbie could be 2nd....but then again...'powda puff'...

but i didn't go trini carnival this year...so my opinion could be invalid...
Old 03-17-2007, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post
i could agree with this
Old 03-17-2007, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
carnival day all in town
big truck passin mama
all de people gather round
big truck passin mama
what dey want?
jump up on it!
what dey want?
jump behind it!
what dey want?
jump up on it?
what dey want?
Run behind it
run...

need it say more?

the lyrics to jumbie are great...but big truck captured carnival 100%...everybody runs behind a big truck and the parallel between a big truck and a big bottom woman is too good...

big truck is machels best song
jumbie could be 2nd....but then again...'powda puff'...

but i didn't go trini carnival this year...so my opinion could be invalid...
u aint go tnt so yuh opinion is invalid.

but I still feel Big truck , toro and powder puff more than Jumbie
but part of it can be I doh feel de same about Machel as I used to. Machel back in de days is where it was at.
yet and still jumbie is still FIREEEEEEEEEEEE
Old 03-17-2007, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
.......not ah shotta

Credits: 2,367
"too young to soca" lyrics better, is one ah dem songs that yuh go ketch meh in ah fete singing de whole lyrics

"jumbie" is one them tunes that does creep up and grow on yuh without you even realizing...de odda day, ah ketch mehself replayin it around twenty someting times

but it hard to pick one dred

Last edited by gunta; 03-17-2007 at 06:41 PM..
Old 03-17-2007, 06:41 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 14,957
Higher Dan High
Old 03-17-2007, 06:47 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 3,376
Big Truck then maybe jumbie
Old 03-17-2007, 06:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة

Credits: 1,934
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post
that album was boss ....

anyway, i would say Jumbie is a great song...it belongs right up there with Big Truck, 2 young to soca and powder puff....2 young to soca would be number one of course but after that, i cant put any one song ahead of the other....

"I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain."
Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987)

"Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman."
Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993)

Last edited by SweetControversy; 03-17-2007 at 06:51 PM..
Old 03-17-2007, 06:58 PM   #11 (permalink)

hear nah allyuh

2 young 4 soca is not part of de debate

nuttin touching dat song

carry on
Old 03-17-2007, 07:05 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 140,574

JUMBIe is just like all the OTHER so-called WINER BOY hits....they're just HYPE chunes for CARNIVAL. Outside of CARNIVAL/FETE ENVIRONMENT, these SONGS hold NO WATER.

The BEST SONG WINER BOY did is TOO YOUNG TO SOCA. You can play that song 10 YEARS from now and it will still SOUND good.

By the way, if this JUMBIE CHUNE is soooooooooooooooo GREAT, why did WINER BOY STRUGGLE to sing that OTHER SONG at the OPENING CRICKET CEREMONY?

You know why he did that TRACK?

He KNOWS the WORLD was WATCHING. Therefore, he had no CHOICE but to sing that TRACK.

WINER BOY is SMART enough to know that the JUMBIE chune is for the CARNIVAL people of TRINIDAD.

In other words, he KNOWS it has no GLOBAL APPEAL.

Ohhhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 03-17-2007 at 07:43 PM..
Old 03-17-2007, 07:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Closet Exhibitionist

Credits: 3,305
I put it up there with Big Truck because that song took Trinidad by storm in '97(been that long?!). It got killed on the road just like Jumbie did this year...
Old 03-17-2007, 07:11 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 1,712
Originally Posted by MsWickedWaistline View Post
that album was boss ....

anyway, i would say Jumbie is a great song...it belongs right up there with Big Truck, 2 young to soca and powder puff....2 young to soca would be number one of course but after that, i cant put any one song ahead of the other....
I feel you on this for real. I always have a hard time picking one over the other. Too young to soca is great but it doesn't have the same appeal as JUMBIE...I would say he has improved tremendously since the days of Too young to soca

JUMBIe is just like all the OTHER so-called WINER BOY hits....they're just HYPE chunes for CARNIVAL. Outside of CARNIVAL/FETE ENVIRONMENT, these SONGS hold NO WATER. LMAO says VincyPowa
The BEST SONG WINER BOY did is TOO YOUNG TO SOCA. You can play that song 10 YEARS from now and it will still SOUND good.

By the way, if this JUMBIE CHUNE is soooooooooooooooo GREAT, why did WINER BOY STRUGGLE to sing that OTHER SONG at the OPENING CRICKET CEREMONY?

You know why he did that TRACK?

He KNOWS the WORLD was MATCHING. Therefore, he had no CHOICE but to sing that TRACK.

WINER BOY is SMART enough to know that the JUMBIE chune is for the CARNIVAL people of TRINIDAD.

In other words, he KNOWS it has no GLOBAL APPEAL.

Ohhhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Old 03-17-2007, 07:44 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 153,608
jumbie is not machel best song of all time.....

he has much better songs than jumbie.