Old 08-31-2006, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
a.k.a. White Wine

Credits: 147
Machel Controversy

Alright Vincy,

Let's get it on in here. Now see, I only been listening to soca for about 2-3 years now. I never heard the music in my life up until a few years ago, but when I heard it I was hooked. You know who I heard the most? Machel...

Why it is that so many people hate on this man? Why it is that I hear he gay, I hear he bi, I hear he have gerbal up his bum, etc etc.

Musically he is extremely talented, there are VERY few tunes that you can't say you've wined your bumpsy off to in the fete. There are very few tunes of his that aren't good. His caliber of music is VERY high and he does big things.

Isn't it Machel who supports the music and the culture wholly? Isn't it Machel who still jumps up with the 'regular' people at Carnival? Isn't it Machel who is the only one who brings up new talent and helps new talent every year? Isn't it Machel who you find is the first name that anyone and everyone that knows the music can name, remember and quote songs of? Isn't it Machel who throws incredible shows damn near every time?

I feel that there's so much animosity towards this dude cuz he does rell well for himself. Why hate on that? Why not support it, or if you don't feel to support because you know first hand of some sort of backside story you know of him, then why take the time out to hate on him?

I'm just trying to understand because I'm ignorant to a lot of the past and what not...but from what I know he's been doing this since he was a child and he's only gotten better musically.
Old 08-31-2006, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 9,987
*with the spirit of old time bounty killer *
PPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEOOOOOOOOOOOPLLLLLLLLLLLLLEEEEEEEEEEE AAAAAAAA DEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAADDD

I'll post on page 74
Old 08-31-2006, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)

which Vincy you talking to

cause this vincy love machel

so check who you addressing please
Old 08-31-2006, 12:16 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,898
Dunno about VP...I like a lot of Machel's older stuff vs his new. Don't like the fusion of different genres all that much (just ask sos how he likes the hip hop & reggae sets). I understand artistes that have done so much in their lifetime that they want to do other stuff, so I don't hold it against the man..I just choose not to go & see him anymore. I may pick up the cd if I like it, but these last few years, I can't say I enjoy the cd's like I used to.

I'll play his Heavy Duty CD...Any Minute Now, Charge...2000 Young to Soca. Or I'll throw on the stuff from 95-96...but I prefer Machel of then over now.
Old 08-31-2006, 12:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
a.k.a. White Wine

Originally Posted by vincy_socababy View Post
which Vincy you talking to

cause this vincy love machel

so check who you addressing please
Sorry, I refering to vincypowa...but if you knew we hadn't had this discussion, why would you assume it was you I was addressing?
Old 08-31-2006, 12:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Credits: 2,633
I see it like this, when you're at the top of the game or is perceived to be at the top of the game....you will have alot of shots or criticism taken at you.....that's how I see it
Old 08-31-2006, 12:23 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,266
Originally Posted by Amon View Post
Alright Vincy,

Let's get it on in here. Now see, I only been listening to soca for about 2-3 years now. I never heard the music in my life up until a few years ago, but when I heard it I was hooked. You know who I heard the most? Machel...

Why it is that so many people hate on this man? Why it is that I hear he gay, I hear he bi, I hear he have gerbal up his bum, etc etc.

Musically he is extremely talented, there are VERY few tunes that you can't say you've wined your bumpsy off to in the fete. There are very few tunes of his that aren't good. His caliber of music is VERY high and he does big things.

Isn't it Machel who supports the music and the culture wholly? Isn't it Machel who still jumps up with the 'regular' people at Carnival? Isn't it Machel who is the only one who brings up new talent and helps new talent every year? Isn't it Machel who you find is the first name that anyone and everyone that knows the music can name, remember and quote songs of? Isn't it Machel who throws incredible shows damn near every time?

I feel that there's so much animosity towards this dude cuz he does rell well for himself. Why hate on that? Why not support it, or if you don't feel to support because you know first hand of some sort of backside story you know of him, then why take the time out to hate on him?

I'm just trying to understand because I'm ignorant to a lot of the past and what not...but from what I know he's been doing this since he was a child and he's only gotten better musically.

*places hands on Amon shoulder* thank you buddy. Machel is my king...who vex vex...been saying it years...and will continue to say it....the man is the reason I fell in love wid de trini culture...and he keeps me coming back every year!

*allyuh leave me*

and ah ent vincy by the way......u mean VP...:
Old 08-31-2006, 12:23 PM   #8 (permalink)

Sorry, I refering to vincypowa...but if you knew we hadn't had this discussion, why would you assume it was you I was addressing?
you didn' t address it to someoen you had a discussion with yu simply said vincy. we all refer to ourselves as vincies.

anyhoo. carry on

while i agree with rummy on the older stuff, i still like the fact that he mixes genres.
Old 08-31-2006, 12:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
a.k.a. White Wine

you didn' t address it to someoen you had a discussion with yu simply said vincy. we all refer to ourselves as vincies.

anyhoo. carry on

while i agree with rummy on the older stuff, i still like the fact that he mixes genres.
True, my bad...

Anyway I really don't know much of his older stuff. I'll have to look into it.

Anyone know where I can pick some up for cheap?
Old 08-31-2006, 12:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
a.k.a. White Wine

Originally Posted by Ms. Spicetatik View Post
*places hands on Amon shoulder* thank you buddy. Machel is my king...who vex vex...been saying it years...and will continue to say it....the man is the reason I fell in love wid de trini culture...and he keeps me coming back every year!

*allyuh leave me*

and ah ent vincy by the way......u mean VP...:

If that's you in the picture...and you put your hand on my shoulder....did 'anything' fall out of place?

Enquiring minds wanna know!
Old 08-31-2006, 12:32 PM   #11 (permalink)

True, my bad...

Anyway I really don't know much of his older stuff. I'll have to look into it.

Anyone know where I can pick some up for cheap?
well i asked one the boys the othe rday about getting old Cds and he basically told me that they don't even have copies. so i guess you need to find a friend with tapes.

by the way XTATIK allyuh losing money, yuh see look new people want to hear the old stuff and old people (me ) want to buy the old albums on CD.
Old 08-31-2006, 12:35 PM   #12 (permalink)

If that's you in the picture...and you put your hand on my shoulder....did 'anything' fall out of place?

Enquiring minds wanna know!

keep inquiring yuh hear....:

be creative and use ur imagination.......
Old 08-31-2006, 12:38 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 2,898
well i asked one the boys the othe rday about getting old Cds and he basically told me that they don't even have copies. so i guess you need to find a friend with tapes.

by the way XTATIK allyuh losing money, yuh see look new people want to hear the old stuff and old people (me ) want to buy the old albums on CD.
Well...that or find someone with the records. I see the Men At Work CD from time to time when I visit record stores (usually collecting dust and behind the counter). Over time I was able to get everything I wanted (or the stuff I've heard...I'm sure there's plenty more I'm unaware of).
Old 08-31-2006, 12:39 PM   #14 (permalink)

I have 'em all....minus dr. carnival and cant remember the other name of one of his childhood albums and yo! I had hell acquiring them tings....its a good thing I knew a few people in de biz....and yes I am not to impressed Xtatik's marketing.....dais why I hadda visit the headquarters while in trini...and tell 'em about it....I love meh xtatik toooo bad to see them losing money!
see I even took a pic fuh allyuh!
machel-controversy-xtatik2.jpg  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:41 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rummy View Post
Well...that or find someone with the records. I see the Men At Work CD from time to time when I visit record stores (usually collecting dust and behind the counter). Over time I was able to get everything I wanted (or the stuff I've heard...I'm sure there's plenty more I'm unaware of).
girl where i am that hunt isn't going to turn up a damn thing. but i'm willing to give it a go yes.

but it'd be nice if they would do some cds ofall the old stuff and release. i mean you buy a old buju cd in HMV or Virgin or Tower and they charging hella money. *sigh*