Old 10-16-2006, 12:21 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,540
A Ma$tamind Christmas

Written by NNN.
Brooklyn NY—October 15, 2006—Christmas in the Caribbean means different things to different people, to some it’s about the birth of Christ, to others it’s about the food, rum and liming. For the award winning music producer Shawn “Ma$tamind” Noel, it’s all about the music.

His love for Christmas music started at the very tender age of eight when he became a cuartro player in the parang band Dulzura Caliente. Started by his mother Hazel Noel, her brother, Roger Allen, and Kurt Coldero, Dulzura Caliente involved many family members including his aunt Annette Moses, his brothers, Shedron and Selvon Noel, his dad Simon Noel as well as many close friends, who would get together to practice nightly at his grandmother Rita Allen’s house.

With these fond memories playing in his mind Ma$tamind broke from his heavy schedule of production for Carnival 2007, to compose and produce music for 15 tracks, which will be featured on a Christmas album dedicated to his dad Simon Noel and in loving memory of his Mom Hazel Noel.

“A Ma$tamind Christmas” takes listeners on a musical journey of a West Indian Christmas, ensuring that they enjoy the musical treat of Latin Parang, Soca Parang, and Christmas Carols. This Album, which will be distributed by JW Records from early November, features music from his mom Hazel, Soca and Calypso artist Crazy, Leon Coldero, Patch, Eddy Charles, Jason “Shaft” Bishop, Third Bass, Fuki, Guyana’s Reigning Road March and Soca Monarch King, Adrian Dutchin, Annesia, Creig Camacho, Squeely Dan and many more.

Ma$tamind Productions is an award winning full range music production and management company, founded in 2005 by the husband and wife team of Natasha Andrews-Noel and Shawn Noel. The company's production catalogue consists of countless collaborations with today's leading Soca stars, including the songs that won Bunji Garlin’s International Soca Monarch Titles in 2004 and 2005, and Shurwayne Winchester’s Groovy Soca Monarch in 2006.
Old 10-16-2006, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)

http://www.mastamusic.com/tracks.html

Some of the songs are posted on there website, i like the Patch song "All I want for Christmas is more rum" and curry christmas..
Old 10-16-2006, 12:26 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 701
I was about to come on here and blast yuh fuh de shameless promotion, but after reading the article... I'm loving this idea. Will definitely take a listen and probably try and cop the CD. I hope it has a lot of traditional parang and that he ent fack up de vibe with too much contemporizing of the sound.
Old 10-16-2006, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
F.G.I de cupcake criminal

Location: if yuh want 2 lock meh up ill be by de kiss cake truck!
Credits: 595
I love me some parang imma take a listen.
Old 10-16-2006, 01:05 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 2,909
Originally Posted by forgetit View Post
http://www.mastamusic.com/tracks.html

Some of the songs are posted on there website, i like the Patch song "All I want for Christmas is more rum" and curry christmas..
That's the one I like for obvious reasons
Old 10-16-2006, 01:55 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rummy View Post
That's the one I like for obvious reasons
especially when patch says , "you could call me a rumbo is mother make meh so"