#46 (permalink) |
Credits: 36,244
Maruka I have a question for you... it is a little unfair but I will ask it all the same.
There are many music genres in the Caribbean... that is a fact. However, the music of contention on many threads is Soca. Now here is the thing (matters not how Shorty did his thing). If Shorty and Trinidad did not name the music and fostered the music do you believe that that music style (known as Soca) would exist today and have the impact that it has today? I am talking about music associated with Caribbean style Carnivals so Reggae and Dancehall don't count. Keep in mind the impact of Soca on all Caribbean style carnivals in the Caribbean and North America (Haiti does not count). What is your honest opinion? |
#47 (permalink) | |
Qualified Mixologist
Credits: 967
Jamband Bouyon I do believe it would have still exploded in each island since each island was doing their thing. I have to count Haiti cause if Haiti didn't bring out Cadence a lot of shit wouldn't have popped. What about you? Do you think no Bouyon music or Jamband would have been created? African drum over calypso was inevitable... Soca was implemented into Bouyon later for balance. Traditional drums over folk music over cadence-lypso grove. Last edited by Maruka; 07-16-2012 at 10:45 PM.. |
#48 (permalink) | |
Registered Member
Credits: 1,189,474
![]() ![]() I won't even BOTHER, but I am GLAD they had a GOOD TIME in the LAND OF THE BLESSED=HAIROUNA=ST. VINCENT and the GRENADINES. |
#49 (permalink) |
#50 (permalink) | |
What is so special about Trini artists that the artists from the other islands are not so well known as the Trinis? |
#51 (permalink) |
Registered Member
#52 (permalink) | |
Qualified Mixologist
Well AirPlay dealing wit what ppl wanna hear right? How many trinis live in the north? There are other artists that get their call. Bajan/ vincy aren't these artists getting air play too? So many threads here complaining that soca struggling to go mainstream.. Coming from trinidadians .. So what is it yuh really asking? Yuhknow what that a real good question cause there are so many other good soca songs n artists we don't hear in the north cause yuh have to go look for it.. If yuh stick on hot 97 yuhaint gonna hear it unless huh go on one of them bootleg Brooklyn soca stations lol.. Even some of the radioDJs are trinis they gonna promote theirs. Last edited by Maruka; 07-16-2012 at 11:00 PM.. |
#53 (permalink) | |||||||
|||||||
#54 (permalink) | |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Credits: 75,639
Secondly not everything posted on the Internet is accurate as anyone can post stuff and claim it to be factual when the truth is they only posting what they have heard but have not done the research to actually confirm that what they have posted is indeed factual. So in other words it sounds possible and makes me feel good about myself and my country then it must be true and I will run with what I heard. Let’s forget about finding evidence to back up what yuh hear, as that is too much hard work. Or better yet lets ask a Trini like Socapro to help us find the evidence and if he can't find produce it then he does not know much about his own music and must be a hater. I feel allyuh listen to too much Nancy story while growing up in DA, yes! So was Exile One also in the studio with Shorty in 1972 in Canada when he recorded his first album called "Gone Gone Gone" that contain tracks like "Soul Calypso Music" and "I Who Have Nothing"? Allyuh keep trying to throw up red herrings rather than face the reality that your theory that Shorty used a DA influence to help formula Soca don’t hold any water. Don’t face the reality that you could have been misled by some of yuh elders with agendas if that helps you live with yourself. Even the white people seem to have more musical sense than some ah allyuh on Imix: How To Play A Soca On The Drum Set with short Soca history lesson And why can’t you’ll just be proud of creating your Cadence-lypso and be happy? Why the need to promote misinformation based on pure speculation about Shorty using a DA influence to create soca just because he tried his hand at composing a Cadence-lypso song when he passed thru DA? Shorty clearly explained what he did in his steps to create sokah and the music is there to back up his explanation. As I’ve already pointed out Sokah is Sokah and Cadence-lypso is Cadence-lypso, two different music genres all together and neither genre is responsible for the existence of the other, that’s the reality. However since both genres came into existence Caribbean artists and musicians have on occasions incorporated elements of one in the other as most Caribbean musicians and artists are free to do as they like and broaden their musical horizons. Some of allyuh people need to stop acting so desperate trying to claim a hand in other people thing when yuh have yuh own thing to concentrate on. Allyuh ent shame? I would be seriously shame if I was in some ah allyuh position! ![]() __________________ Catch me as Soca PhD Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (91.6FM); Every Tueday 6-8pm & Friday 8-10pm GMT On www.HavitLive.co.uk (99.1FM); www.facebook.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 07-17-2012 at 12:30 AM.. |
#55 (permalink) | |
Mainstream for all intents and purposes on islandmix means Billboard! Trinis believe in too much Power Soca music and that will never make it big abroad... only recently we are seeing the new producers (like Madmen and Precision) toning down the speed and doing some fusion music that has a chance to score some points abroad. The radio stations are a mess in Trinidad... that simply pisses me off ... choops don't want to get upset, it too late for that! However, for islands and markets that promote West Indian style carnivals Soca is already mainstream music... some like to call it the underground market! |
#56 (permalink) | |
Qualified Mixologist
I ain't posting shit u already trying play us with yuh ignore list so go head big man.. Lol at u using white ppl to make others feel small epikintros fail.Sigh my dude plz ignore me. Ah done lol |
#57 (permalink) | |
Qualified Mixologist
We started Bouyon with African drumming lapo kabwit wit this is inevitable to any place with that I believe.. In other threads many ppl complain DJs only playing one set of soca music.. I know Nuff DJs that dropping Haiti tags over any music with creole in it.. They only know what they locked into knowing only a few actually go out the box and know shit U never heard a dj drop the name cadencelypso proves what? I'm asking because of the exclamation marks.. I'm not saying cadencelypso is the staple I was just giving an example based on an island that created a fast tempo Caribbean riddim with ought the influence of Trinidad soca.. However later on other bands blended in soca as balance to their liking. Last edited by Maruka; 07-16-2012 at 11:33 PM.. |
#58 (permalink) | |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Credits: 75,639
However I have only been forced to put two posters who frequent Soca Chat on Ignore and that is only after they had established a long record of childish name calling with divisive attention seeking behaviour and deliberately trying to waste my precious time. You now seem to be clutching at that please Ignore me straw because you probably realise that your argument holds no water and I am exposing it for what it is which is pure speculation. So rather than face that reality now yuh begging for me to Ignore you as a red herring. So you keep running from being exposed by asking me to put you on ignored! It won't happen unless you work real real hard to deserve it like VP and Bhalistix did! ![]() __________________ Catch me as Soca PhD Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (91.6FM); Every Tueday 6-8pm & Friday 8-10pm GMT On www.HavitLive.co.uk (99.1FM); www.facebook.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 07-17-2012 at 12:06 AM.. |
#59 (permalink) | |
Registered Member
You have to be the BIGGEST IDIOT on PLANET EARTH. Here you're talking about NOT EVERYTHING on the INTERNET is ACCURATE, yet you POSTED a VIDEO of a WHITE BOY who is just REPEATING the SAME THING that he GOT from the INTERNET. But of course, you have no PROBLEM with the WHITE BOY REPEATING what he FOUND on the INTERNET, because it fits with your POSITION on the ISSUE. Nevertheless, the DUDE basically said it is the DISCO SOUND/BEAT, which is what I have been SAYING from DAY ONE. Unlike you, I think outside the BOX. By the way, I will BREAKDOWN EXACTLY what the WHITE BOY said, just to PROVE to you and the rest of the TRAUMATIZED TRINIS that there is no INDIAN RHYTHMS in SOCA. The WHITE DUDE simply REPEATED what he FOUND on the INTERNET, but he said SOMETHING PROFOUND that I will SPEAK on when I get the CHANCE. YUHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEee |
#60 (permalink) |
Credits: 9,284
how long can we await an ansa from Kenny P ?
Last time I ask you for info you use it in your flirting ... but I cyah lie I interested to know what he has to say ... Unlike de one dat claiming to know Claudia Blackman I believe you know Kenny P .... so lets know what he gone say since you bring it up ... Another one for him too "Only one trip?" |

49Likes