Old 07-11-2005, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,080
Lions in full swing...

Lions set to host dances for Carnival

Friday July 08 2005

by Tahna Weston

This year plans to be as entertaining as in the past, and even more enjoyable, as the Lions Club annual Carnival Dances makes 20 years.

Chairman of the fund raising committee Leslie Salmon during an interview with the SUN said that preparations for the event are coming along very fine.

Each year patrons jam to sounds of the Burning Flames from sometime around 11 p.m. to the wee hours of the next morning.

The pulsating jump-up will kick off this year the day before the official opening of Carnival - on 22 July.

The dances will continue on the 23, the 25, straight down to the 31 July with a last lap jump-up on 5 Aug.

Salmon explained that the club would be fine-tuning plans for this special 20th year anniversary dances.

Without going into any detail he (Salmon) hinted that there would be surprises in store for patrons.

What will be different about the event this year is the fact that on the "rest day" for the Flames - 25 July, several other bands will mount a performance at the Den.

Salmon revealed that High Intensity has approached the committee, and has requested to use that night to host a presentation.

Following some negotiations permission has been granted to High Intensity for it along with several other local bands to use the venue. The band will only have to pay an upfront cost and the security will be taken care of by the club. The club will also be operating the bar.

When asked if he is concerned about the turn out for that night, Salmon said, the club has all the confidence that the event will be a success.

"To be honest the lions have always been concerned about that because in the past that has not worked; but to be fair to the other bands we are giving them the opportunity to host this event, and I think it can be successful."

In commenting on security measures, Salmon said that people could expect the usual safe surroundings as they have become accustomed to in the past.

The chairman noted that a meeting was recently held with the commissioner of police addressing concerns of rising crime, adding that they (the police) too are concerned about the recent upsurge.

He told the SUN that security would be stepped up in and around the grounds to ensure that patrons are safe, and people's vehicles are protected from thieves and vandals.

"Patrols will be stepped up in and around the compounds and we are working on making sure we have all the security measures in place."

Salmon said party lovers can expect the dances to be first rate this year, and is appealing to people to come out and have fun, and not to walk with any weapon, as they will be arrested.

Admission is $20.00 and season tickets are $140.00, a saving of twenty dollars. Season tickets should be available by next week.

Monies raised at the dances are used to assist the club with its community outreach projects.

This includes helping the less fortunate in the society and assisting individuals with medical expenses.

Salmon stressed that in recent times there has been more requests for medical help and said that people appreciate that fact, and that could explain why they (people) support the dances over the years.

"Every cent that is raised from the public goes back to the public. Every thing we do such as fixing the grounds come out of our pockets, otherwise we loose our charter."
Old 07-11-2005, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Paradise!

Credits: 8,030
Cant wait to go lions den with yanktiguan
Old 07-12-2005, 10:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
soca revolutionary

Credits: 2,706
me father is a lion so me never pay fe go a dem dance deh...t bad i will not be there this year...next year for sure if god spear life..im in the place...and hopefully flames will be playing covers of a few of my produced material...good luck to the lions club and their dances...and good luck to all the bands...
Old 07-12-2005, 10:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,080
Originally Posted by stargate
me father is a lion so me never pay fe go a dem dance deh...t bad i will not be there this year...next year for sure if god spear life..im in the place...and hopefully flames will be playing covers of a few of my produced material...good luck to the lions club and their dances...and good luck to all the bands...
steups. yuh seh dat last year.