Old 01-30-2009, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 17,058
LET THERE BE NO MORE SAID ABOUT TnT SOCA..

With just over three more weeks to go it is once again clear why TnT is and will remain the mecca for soca. After this season, it should be quite clear to soca lovers that the mecca stands alone when it comes to the music of this culture. A review of the music put out this year is irrefutable evidence that the trinis remain the heart and soul of this music and this culture. From the impecabble pan tunes from Machel and Destra (tunes that only the most musically talented of this culture can do well)....to the fantastic groovy tunes from people like Kerwin du bois...to the great jouvert music......to the melodious work of KES....just to name a few, there should be no doubt as to where the engine that propels this train is fuel from. Others may come and go...may be hot and cold....but the one constant remains tnt. TnT Massive push up yuh chest!
Old 01-30-2009, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,777
I agree with the groovy tunes and the pan tunes...i always love the midtempo tunes from tnt when its carnival season. As far as the jump n wave tunes, theirs always one or two that stick in my head.

i think the grenada posse hold that title! they have the baddest hard wukking tunes, bajans tooo, let me not get beat up in here today lol
Old 01-30-2009, 12:57 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 35,007
Originally Posted by proudmixed View Post
I agree with the groovy tunes and the pan tunes...i always love the midtempo tunes from tnt when its carnival season. As far as the jump n wave tunes, theirs always one or two that stick in my head.

i think the grenada posse hold that title! they have the baddest hard wukking tunes, bajans tooo, let me not get beat up in here today lol
well, i sure VINCYPOWA would like to tek a swin at u head.
Old 01-30-2009, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 11,859
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
With just over three more weeks to go it is once again clear why TnT is and will remain the mecca for soca. After this season, it should be quite clear to soca lovers that the mecca stands alone when it comes to the music of this culture. A review of the music put out this year is irrefutable evidence that the trinis remain the heart and soul of this music and this culture. From the impecabble pan tunes from Machel and Destra (tunes that only the most musically talented of this culture can do well)....to the fantastic groovy tunes from people like Kerwin du bois...to the great jouvert music......to the melodious work of KES....just to name a few, there should be no doubt as to where the engine that propels this train is fuel from. Others may come and go...may be hot and cold....but the one constant remains tnt. TnT Massive push up yuh chest!

I am convinced you and VP are the same person, or share a common soul. Wunna does sound exactly the same just that he does be repping St. V and you TnT.
Old 01-30-2009, 01:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Credits: 42,483
Originally Posted by proudmixed View Post

It depends on someone preference of hard wukkin tunes..you may consider stabby song a hard wukkin tune.(and i will say that tune is just a good hype song)..and I may consider Denise Belfon "jam it" a hard wukkin tune...

Last edited by Lieutenant; 01-30-2009 at 01:17 PM..
Old 01-30-2009, 01:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Credits: 4,988
Like alyuh really studying what vp and them jack ass dem does say.this thread wasnt needed trinidad is soca and trinidad is/has been and always will be mecca tawk done!
Old 01-30-2009, 02:21 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 11,859
Originally Posted by Predator01 View Post
Like alyuh really studying what vp and them jack ass dem does say.this thread wasnt needed trinidad is soca and trinidad is/has been and always will be mecca tawk done!

I agree, to a point. But it has more to do with the ecconomy in TnT than the artist themselves. Even when Trini artist suck and others are much better, there is more money in TnT so those artist will perform there on bigger sets and because TnT has more people the crowds will also be bigger.
Old 01-30-2009, 02:40 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 17,058
Originally Posted by warrior View Post
I agree, to a point. But it has more to do with the ecconomy in TnT than the artist themselves. Even when Trini artist suck and others are much better, there is more money in TnT so those artist will perform there on bigger sets and because TnT has more people the crowds will also be bigger.
I'm not talking about money or crowds..i'm talking about the yard stick by which all others have to measure themselves against. The standard for the music has always been set in TnT and a review of the better songs for c2k9 underscores the point.
Old 01-30-2009, 02:48 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 35,007
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
I'm not talking about money or crowds..i'm talking about the yard stick by which all others have to measure themselves against. The standard for the music has always been set in TnT and a review of the better songs for c2k9 underscores the point.
true, but give de vincies a chance cause dem tryin to keep up wid de standards. ya know fireman hopper would like to get lil wuk in trinidad.
Old 01-30-2009, 03:01 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 5,883
Originally Posted by bajanfuhlife View Post
true, but give de vincies a chance cause dem tryin to keep up wid de standards. Ya know fireman hopper would like to get lil wuk in trinidad.
who fualt is that if them dont want to market themselves de bajans does do it thats why they does be in trini and people dont even study if they not from trini. Why fire man aint get he act together,lol
Old 01-30-2009, 05:09 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 3,300
soca has grown in popularity because de bajans and de vincies have infused de music with creativity and imagination. in de last 15 or more years, de biggest soca chunes have been produced by bajans and by vincies. by biggest soca chunes, i mean de ones reaching billboard and other international record charts. for a while back in de 1990s, trini producers were complaining about trini artists running to bim at de expense of trini producers.

honestly, trini producers have not advance de music. again, much of de creativity and imagination come frum de bajans and de vincies.
Old 01-30-2009, 05:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 46,523
Originally Posted by winn dixie View Post
soca has grown in popularity because de bajans and de vincies have infused de music with creativity and imagination. in de last 15 or more years, de biggest soca chunes have been produced by bajans and by vincies. by biggest soca chunes, i mean de ones reaching billboard and other international record charts. for a while back in de 1990s, trini producers were complaining about trini artists running to bim at de expense of trini producers.

honestly, trini producers have not advance de music. again, much of de creativity and imagination come frum de bajans and de vincies.
hush yuh ass nah man jeez!
Old 01-30-2009, 06:16 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 945
stupid thread...
Old 01-30-2009, 06:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
a wham 2 dem?

Credits: 75,323
trini music dis year was sub-par, i think if machel aint have a gud season tnt doh have a gud season, dat havin partially 2 do wit de soca mafia, but dere is only a couple chune dat stick in my head, an dey not even gettin de play dey deserve, in de 3 weeks 2 come i rilly hope tnt cud step up 2 de plate, and tek de crown, so for now, its a battle between de lucians and vincies, trinidad not even up dere rite now imo, cud sum1 tell me, honestly how many chunes are AMAZING or even GREAT dis year

BK's chune of de week- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJa2ikkyiTs

alliancefilife.com
Old 01-30-2009, 06:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 46,523
Originally Posted by bouyon king View Post
trini music dis year was sub-par, i think if machel aint have a gud season tnt doh have a gud season, dat havin partially 2 do wit de soca mafia, but dere is only a couple chune dat stick in my head, an dey not even gettin de play dey deserve, in de 3 weeks 2 come i rilly hope tnt cud step up 2 de plate, and tek de crown, so for now, its a battle between de lucians and vincies, trinidad not even up dere rite now imo, cud sum1 tell me, honestly how many chunes are AMAZING or even GREAT dis year
buh wha de assss