Credits: 179
KMC Overated?
Is it just me but people say he a star. I seen Soca monarch and he did good. but besides that. He cant sing for sh%#t! If he work on his vocals he would probaly be one of the very best. I guess some artist only good at one and lack the other. Same thing with Rupee, can sing but lack stage presents. Only a few who has talent in both categories> Ex. Bunji, Machel, Oungnku,.......................
not so happy to be happy
Credits: 187
i really can't get into a heated discussion b/c i only heard one song from him so far this year and i really like it. (high in de air).if ur saying u don't like him b/c he lacks certain skills, then u probably don't like a lot of singers out there. i never really listened to his vocals b/c the beat has me going from start to finish, so who really gives a $hit about his vocals. as long as i can wail up mehself in a dance i cool.
i gone. |
Credits: 2,879
KMC is very talented. He may not have the best voice...but again...why compare styles that are totally different? First people wanna compare Bunji & Edwin...now you are comparing Flames & KMC? Makes no sense. I like his tune this year called Always. Don't worry, he's not "singing" in it.
What Happens In de Party
Credits: 132
I think
I think de man can bust a wicked beat but, he should never sing on a slow song.
Credits: 719
Although singing is not his strongest asset, make no mistake, this man is flowing with talent and will be a major force in the industry for years to come. He has a lot to offer, and has that burning desire to see soca music accepted on the international stage.
kmc can sing and he has some really nice tunes, but he think that he is the best. I over heard him say in an interview that these young boy and them does sing real shit. oh no kmc not every song that u sang is off the chain, now come on
Credits: 44
To answer the bloody question specifically.... HELL YEA he's over rated.
Now that doesn't mean he's void of talent. All it means is that right now he is a hot ticket and so people gehing on like he is a legend or something. Steups. It have men telling me he betta than Iwer G. Boy, it take one hand to countdown KMC absolute smash hits. I need a few limbs for Iwer G's. Now this is not to say by the end of his stint with soca the switch couldn't be flipped. He have nuff talent, but with as many hits as he has been famed for writing, he may need to sing those himself!!! Stranger Gone. |
Credits: 140
Very good post Stranger.
:cool2 |
I just have to shake my head at a few of the responses in this post. Harizon made the comment that KMC cannot SING, but I see how quick some of the responders dismissed the THEME of thread by saying that he is talented.
The question wasn't he doesn't possess talent, the issue is, he cannot sing. Right or wrong, many of the responders were quick to overlook this WEAKNESS by making reference to his, BELIEVED, non-singing talents. Truly interesting.... just an observation. |
not so happy to be happy
Credits: 187
xtremeintl.com
Credits: 11,419
What if someone else looked at who's been better in the past 5 years (since KMC has been out)? Or what if someone looks at better to say who has more overall talent, and decides to add in KMC's producing skills? Or what if someone looks at the "better" qualification to say who IS better right now? (i.e. not who has been better). Anyone could make a case to say that KMC is better taking recent hits, or right now, or production-wise. . . . . But, I would personally like to conclude: who gives a fack. This whole who's better sh!te is so tiring, especially between dissimilar artists. I think Kenny Rogers is wayyyyy better that KMC. And Willie Nelson is better than both steups how fackin idle. |
Credits: 5,601
![]() *dies* |
Musician/Superhero
Credits: 1,085
Re: KMC Overated?
KMC, to me, is suddenly getting a lot of ratings since coming up with a couple hits last year ("Carnival Rag" and "Doh Want To Know"), but frankly to me this year's material is no where close to that standard... (I done know I go get real pong from di ever-present Dotish And Bigmouth Crew on here but fack it) On top of which the meida in trini keeps carrying on about him being this big writer and producer... I wish someone would stop and take at how much SHYTE that boy has sung in the last few years as opposed to the couple hits he came up with in the last year or so... Also - since we on the topic of KMC... I have seen him and his "band" Made In Trinidad several times this carnival and I ent see them mash up nowehere YET. And this supposed to be "the hottest new band ni TnT? Lord have mercy! |
Credits: 2,879
While I like KMC music(though not all)...I was wondering how well his band would do. It takes a lot to be a quality band. I will hold any other comments until after I see them perform when I reach Trinidad.

i gone.
:cool2
steups how fackin idle.