Old 07-29-2004, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 61
Arrow Kevin Lyttle - Problems???

Hey People.....No Negative Vibes Here bout ma boy KEVIN....I guess his folks must be Talibans or something cause he's the NO. 1 BOMB.

AT LEAST He's Proud to be ah Vincy and So am I.......and he's showing the World what WE Caribbean People can do and how far we could get in life. :p

KEEP ON MAKING US ALL PROUD KEVIN.

HOLLA ME IF YO DONT LIKE MA POST :devil

Last edited by babycharm; 08-25-2004 at 11:08 PM.. Reason: Post not recognized enough
Old 07-29-2004, 05:16 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,142
Chart Update

Turn Me On is now #6 on Billboard Hot 100. If I'm not mistaken Gimme De Light (SEAN PAUL) and No Letting Go (WAYNE WONDER) peaked at #7. Of course Get Busy(SEAN PAUL) hit #1

Turn Me On is #2 on the Dance Radio Airplay and Top 40 Tracks
It is also #5 on Top 40 Mainstream and Hot Digital Tracks
Old 07-29-2004, 11:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mommy Dearest

Credits: 188,353
wow thanks for the info.
Old 07-30-2004, 07:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Trini to the Soul

Credits: 453

i like " You Turn Me On" but i was surprised it made it this big. But Why Complain? It's one of us getting somewhere. I see it as hope. I remember stopping to listen to a latino blasting it in her SUV when i should have been crossing the street. Lil bit again ah cry yes. And i understand Kevin was MTV recently when they had some carnival thingy. sorry i missed it.
Nuff Respect to the ones that are making a mark
Just imagine how the place will mash up when ppl like destra and bunji get big so
Old 07-31-2004, 04:33 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 443
kevin Lyttle making us proud

Old 07-31-2004, 05:06 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 3,398
Originally Posted by sexysapphire
i like " You Turn Me On" but i was surprised it made it this big. But Why Complain? It's one of us getting somewhere. I see it as hope. I remember stopping to listen to a latino blasting it in her SUV when i should have been crossing the street. Lil bit again ah cry yes. And i understand Kevin was MTV recently when they had some carnival thingy. sorry i missed it.
Nuff Respect to the ones that are making a mark
Just imagine how the place will mash up when ppl like destra and bunji get big so

Yea, he was on MTV's TRL. I like on he informed ppl about soca...good job on that. Then he perform. It was okay. The flag waving audience had me in tears. I luv my bajan flag. But the funniest part.. He told the VJ he would like to wuk up in LALA. His accent was thick and he was trying to wuk up too.. hehe the VJ looked at him and said 'whatever that mean' .. I was rollin'

Oh! LALA is doing a remix of the sound..

RED EYE - Memorial Weekend

RedEye Village

RISE NY THE DAY FETE

PULSE 48
Old 08-01-2004, 02:08 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 33,052
I Wish Kevin Lyttle More And More Success.
Old 08-01-2004, 03:09 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 537
Exclamation Don't Forget The Others

MR. LYTTLE HAS MADE QUITE A NAME FOR HIMSELF AND HAS DEFINITELY PUT A SPOTLIGHT ON SOCA MUSIC. BUT, LET US GIVE CREDIT WHERE IT FIRST SPRANG UP, MR. LYTTLE IS NOT THE FIRST ARTIST TO HAVE ONE HIT. BUT HE MAY DEFINITELY BE A ONE-HIT WONDER. REMEMBER IN THE EARLY 90'S WHEN MACHEL HAD SOCA BURNING UP THE AIRWAYS AND LAUNCHED SOCA MUSIC VIDEOS ON COMMERICAL TELEVISION. I JUST DO NOT THINK THAT KEVIN HAS LONGEVITY, I THINK HE GOT LUCKY, I MEAN THE SONG IS LIKE 2 YEARS OLD. IT'S JUST THAT HE JUST GOT A REAL PAYCHECK.

I JUST WOULD HOPE THAT THE SOCA ARTIST THAT WILL REALLY DO THE ART FORM SOME JUSTICE, WOULD BE BUNJI OR MAYBE SAUCY BABY.
Old 08-02-2004, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 24
Unhappy

yeah so i know kevin lyttle up there now...real representing for the Caribbean /West Indian ppl....

but i heard... from a friend.....cause i don't have cable that during Kevin's appearance on 106 and park....he sang his tune and that Machel's and Destra's 'Carnival' was played and it real mash up with a big reaction from the audience. However he didn say that it wasn his song or who the artistes who were singing it.

I think thats a lil poor....yes, i know it was a good launch for the song...but give praise where its due nah....

I'm hoping that my fren got it wrong....and Kevin did mention his fellow soca artistes....

so you can correct me if is so..
Old 08-02-2004, 11:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Member

Credits: 1,177,073
Originally Posted by soca_addict
yeah so i know kevin lyttle up there now...real representing for the Caribbean /West Indian ppl....

but i heard... from a friend.....cause i don't have cable that during Kevin's appearance on 106 and park....he sang his tune and that Machel's and Destra's 'Carnival' was played and it real mash up with a big reaction from the audience. However he didn say that it wasn his song or who the artistes who were singing it.

I think thats a lil poor....yes, i know it was a good launch for the song...but give praise where its due nah....

I'm hoping that my fren got it wrong....and Kevin did mention his fellow soca artistes....

You guys kill me.

I will leave it at that.

http://vincypowa.com/

http://vincypowaent.com/

Old 08-02-2004, 11:49 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 454
Question

Originally Posted by COCOAMANGO
MR. LYTTLE HAS MADE QUITE A NAME FOR HIMSELF AND HAS DEFINITELY PUT A SPOTLIGHT ON SOCA MUSIC. BUT, LET US GIVE CREDIT WHERE IT FIRST SPRANG UP, MR. LYTTLE IS NOT THE FIRST ARTIST TO HAVE ONE HIT. BUT HE MAY DEFINITELY BE A ONE-HIT WONDER. REMEMBER IN THE EARLY 90'S WHEN MACHEL HAD SOCA BURNING UP THE AIRWAYS AND LAUNCHED SOCA MUSIC VIDEOS ON COMMERICAL TELEVISION. I JUST DO NOT THINK THAT KEVIN HAS LONGEVITY, I THINK HE GOT LUCKY, I MEAN THE SONG IS LIKE 2 YEARS OLD. IT'S JUST THAT HE JUST GOT A REAL PAYCHECK.

I JUST WOULD HOPE THAT THE SOCA ARTIST THAT WILL REALLY DO THE ART FORM SOME JUSTICE, WOULD BE BUNJI OR MAYBE SAUCY BABY.
When exactly was Machel burning up the commercial airwaves??
Old 08-02-2004, 11:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Member

Credits: 1,177,073
Originally Posted by Scooby
When exactly was Machel burning up the commercial airwaves??
Some people are still in denial.

http://vincypowa.com/

http://vincypowaent.com/

Old 08-02-2004, 11:52 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 454
Originally Posted by soca_addict

It was obvious it was not his song and he didnt try to pass it off as his song. It was hot. But nobody really asked who sang "It's Carnival", so it didnt come up in the interview.
Old 08-04-2004, 09:14 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 61
Arrow Why Are People So Negative!!!

WHAT MORE DO WE REALLY WANT HIM TO DO....SING WITH THE VINCY FLAG STUCK TO THE CAMERA.

AS MUCH AS THEY SAY THAT HIS MUSIC VIDEO SHOULD HAVE BEEN FILMED IN ST. VINCENT......THE BOY WAS LOOKING FOR A WAY OUT AND FILMING HIS VIDEO IN JAMACIA HAS HELPED HIM NOT ONLY TO GET GOOD PROMOTIONS SEEING THAT PEOPLE KNOW MORE ABOUT JAMACIA THAN THEY DO ABOUT ST. VINCENT (e.g.with the help of artiste like beenee man) BUT ALSO TO PROMOTE HIS COUNTRY BECAUSE ONCE PEOPLE KNOW ABOUT SOMETHING BIG THE SMALLER STUFF JUST FITS RIGHT INTO PLACE.

BEFORE ONCE YOU WEREN'T FROM THE CARIBBEAN OR HAD FRIENDS HERE....YOU WOULDN'T HAVE A CLUE AS TO WHERE ST. VINCENT WAS LOCATED ON THE MAP, NOW YOU CAN HEAR PEOPLE SAYING "OH THAT IS WHERE THE LYTTLE BOY FROM"....BIG UP TO THE MAX KEVIN.

I WISH ALL THE OTHER CARIBBEAN ARTISTES LUCK IN GETTING THERE.....IF YOU KNOW WHAT AH MEAN.
Old 08-04-2004, 09:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
I'm in love

Credits: 113,681
Originally Posted by Scooby
It was obvious it was not his song and he didnt try to pass it off as his song. It was hot. But nobody really asked who sang "It's Carnival", so it didnt come up in the interview.
I think u got it right with this explanation...

remember, de poster did say he didn't see it himself...he was simply asking a question based on what he was told...